Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Kate & Nora","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/kate-nora\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/kate-nora\/"}
Share
Share
Robert Wilson

Kate & Nora

2013
Presentation of the artwork
Kate & Nora takes up the motif of the confidant in a previous work by Robert Wilson, Bessie Smith Breakfast Chair, an armchair that is big enough for two people to sit side by side facing different directions. The artwork is described as two symmetrical white chairs, linked by a single seat. Its shape is characterized by the rectangular figures defined by right angles and by the alternation of positive and negative spaces.
Associated events
Kate McGarrigle (1946–2010) was a folksinger in English and French with her sister Anna for more than four decades. To commemorate her, in December 2012 Robert Wilson, Rufus and Martha Wainwright, and the Fonds Kate McGarrigle of the Fondation du CUSM submitted a proposal for the donation of an artwork to the Ville de Montréal to be situated in the square that now bears her name. As its title suggests, the artwork is a tribute to author–songwriter–performer Kate McGarrigle, who lived in the borough. Nora, the other female character in the sculpture’s title, is Kate’s alter ego, who followed her since childhood and embodied her wiser side. Kate McGarrigle is also commemorated by the place name of the square where the artwork is installed. A mosaic floral motif made of mosaic is inlaid in the ground around the work, integrating it with the landscape like a carpet that enhances a domestic space.
Robert Wilson
Multidisciplinary artist Robert Wilson has been known internationally since the 1960s for his set designs and directing as much as for his paintings and sculptures. Among his remarkable achievements are the direction of Philip Glass’s opera Einstein on the Beach (1976), which gained him worldwide fame. In 1993, he received the Lion d’or for sculpture at the Venice Biennale. Retrospectives of his work have been presented at Centre Georges-Pompidou and the Boston Museum of Fine Arts.

Wilson is recognized for his work in furniture, both sculptural and scenographic in nature.
Awards and honours
  • Doctorat honorifique de l'Université de Toronto, 2005
  • Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres (France), 2003
  • National Design Award, Smithsonian Institution, National Design Museum, 2000
  • Lion en d'or en sculpture, biennale de Venise, 1993
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Installation
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
2013
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
August 20 2013
Materials
Stainless steel
General dimensions
100 x 90 x 45 cm
Manufacturer
  • Dumontier, Louis / Infravert
Kate & Nora
Borough
Outremont
Park
Place Kate-McGarrigle

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Kate & Nora","thisUrl":"http:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/kate-nora\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null}
Partager
Partager
Robert Wilson

Kate & Nora

2013
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L’œuvre Kate & Nora reprend le motif du confident d’une œuvre antérieure de Robert Wilson, intitulée Bessie Smith Breakfast Chair, fauteuil qui permet à deux personnes de s’asseoir côte à côte, en sens opposé. L’œuvre se décrit comme deux chaises blanches symétriques, liées par la même assise. Sa forme se caractérise par des figures rectangulaires définies par des angles droits, ainsi que par l’alternance de vides et de pleins.
Événements associés
Kate McGarrigle (1946-2010) chante le folk en français et en anglais, en duo avec sa sœur Anna, pendant plus de quatre décennies. Pour la commémorer, Robert Wilson, Rufus et Martha Wainwright ainsi que le Fonds Kate McGarrigle de la Fondation du CUSM ont déposé, en décembre 2012, une proposition de donation d’une œuvre d’art à la Ville de Montréal, à la place qui porte maintenant son nom. Comme le suggère son titre, l’œuvre est un hommage à l’auteure-compositrice-interprète Kate McGarrigle, qui a résidé dans le quartier. Nora, l’autre personnage féminin évoqué, est l’alter ego de Kate qui l’a suivie depuis l’enfance et qui incarnait son côté plus sage. Par ailleurs, Kate McGarrigle est également commémorée par le toponyme de la place où l’œuvre est installée. Un motif floral, créé en mosaïque au sol, intègre l’œuvre à l’aménagement, à la manière des tapis qui agrémentent les espaces domestiques.
Robert Wilson
Artiste pluridisciplinaire, Robert Wilson est reconnu internationalement depuis les années 1960 tant pour ses scénographies et ses mises en scène que pour son travail en peinture et en sculpture. Parmi ses réalisations remarquables, on compte la mise en scène de l’opéra Einstein on the Beach (1976) de Philip Glass, qui le consacre mondialement. En 1993, il reçoit le Lion d’or en sculpture de la Biennale de Venise. Des rétrospectives de son travail ont été présentées au centre Georges-Pompidou et au Boston Museum of Fine Arts.

Wilson est reconnu pour son travail sur le mobilier, dont la finalité peut être sculpturale ou scénographique.
Prix et distinctions
  • Doctorat honorifique de l'Université de Toronto, 2005
  • Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres (France), 2003
  • National Design Award, Smithsonian Institution, National Design Museum, 2000
  • Lion en d'or en sculpture, biennale de Venise, 1993
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Installation
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
2013
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
20 août 2013
Matériaux
Acier inoxydable
Dimensions générales
100 x 90 x 45 cm
Fabricants
  • Dumontier, Louis / Infravert
Kate & Nora
Arrondissement
Outremont
Parc
Place Kate-McGarrigle