Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Trois disques","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/trois-disques\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/trois-disques\/"}
Share
Share
Alexander Calder

Trois disques

1967
Presentation of the artwork
Alexander Calder’s sculpture Trois disques is composed of five arches made of unpolished stainless steel. The overlapping arches stand on six slender posts whose tops are adorned with two points and three disks. With its abstract form, the arachnoid structure – asymmetrical but balanced – creates plays of shadow and light that evoke dance movements.

The sculpture symbolizes human progress and power. Its site – it was moved in 1991 to the belvedere in Parc Jean-Drapeau on Île Sainte-Hélène build to receive it, 300 metres from its original site – allows the public to circulate around the work and view it from different angles, from near and far. Over the years, it has become an important landmark in the Montréal landscape.

Although a number of cities have purchased a Calder stabile, the one in Montréal is unique. At a height of 22 metres, it is the second-largest stabile (after the one in Mexico City, which is 24 metres in height). At the request of the International Nickel Company of Canada, it is not painted, which also makes it the only example of an unpainted stabile. Therefore, Trois disques shows off the raw material, the elements of assembly, and the traces of its fabrication in a frankly industrial aesthetic. In short, human labour and genius are illustrated in Calder’s imposing sculpture.
Associated events
Commissioned from Alexander Calder by the International Nickel Company of Canada for the eponymous square at the Montréal World Fair held in 1967, the artwork was officially presented to Montréalers when the fair ended. Inspired by the “Man and His World” theme of Expo 67, its title and monumentality made it one of the distinctive symbols of the event.
Alexander Calder
Alexander Calder, born in 1898 in Lawnton, Pennsylvania, came from a family of artists: his father, Alexander Stirling Calder, and his grandfather, Alexander Milne Calder, were sculptors, and his mother, Nanette Lederer Calder, was a painter. He trained as an artist (Art Students League of New York, 1923–25) and engineer (Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, New Jersey, 1915–19). Considered one of the foremost sculptors of the twentieth century, a “merry engineer, troublesome architect, and sculptor of the times,” according to Jacques Prévert, Calder left his mark in the public space with his “mobiles” and “stabiles.” The latter word, invented by Jean Arp, defines Calder’s monumental artworks composed of simple shapes anchored to the ground, which are found, among other places, in Berlin, Chicago, Jerusalem, Paris, Mexico City, and Seattle. Alexander Calder died in New York in 1976.
Awards and honours
  • Presidential Medal of Freedom, The United States, 1977
  • Bicentennial Artist award, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, 1976
  • Peace Medal award, Nations Unies , 1975
  • Grand prix national des arts et lettres, ministre de la culture, France , 1975
  • Médaille d’or en sculpture, Academy of Arts and Letters, New York, 1971
  • Honorary Doctor of Engineering degree by Stevens Institute of Technology, 1969
  • Légion d'honneur, France, 1968
  • Honorary Doctor of Art degree, Harvard University, 1966
  • Grand prix de sculpture de Brandeis University, 1962
  • American Institute of Architects' medal , 1961
  • Médaille d’or, Architectural League of New York award, 1960
  • Premier prix, Carnegie International Exhibition, 1958
  • Outstanding Citizen award, City of Philadelphia , 1955
  • Prix international de sculpture, Biennale de Venise, 1952
  • Premier prix, Rohm and Haas Plexiglass Sculpture Competition, World's Fair Hall of Industrial Science, 1939
Detail
Variation of title
Man, Three Disks; L'Homme; Man; The Man
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1967
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
October 30 1967
Technique(s)
Cut out; assembled; screwed; welded
Materials
Stainless steel
General dimensions
2130 x 2200 x 1625 cm
Manufacturer
  • Établissements Biémont
Trois disques
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Sainte-Hélène

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Trois disques","thisUrl":"http:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/trois-disques\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null}
Partager
Partager
Alexander Calder

Trois disques

1967
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L’œuvre Trois disques d’Alexander Calder est une sculpture en acier inoxydable non poli composée de cinq arches qui se chevauchent et s’appuient sur six jambages effilés dont la cime est ornée de deux pointes et de trois disques. Par sa forme abstraite, la structure arachnéenne, asymétrique, mais équilibrée, crée des jeux d’ombres et de lumières qui évoquent des mouvements dansés.

La sculpture symbolise le progrès et la puissance humaine. Son emplacement – l’œuvre a été déménagée en 1991 sur le belvédère de l’île Sainte-Hélène du parc Jean-Drapeau aménagé pour la recevoir, à 300 mètres de son emplacement initial – permet au public de circuler autour de l’œuvre et de l’admirer sous différents angles, de près ou de loin. Elle est devenue au fil des ans un repère visuel important dans le paysage montréalais.

Si plusieurs villes ont fait l’acquisition d’un « stabile », celui de Montréal possède une facture unique. D’une hauteur de 22 mètres, il est le deuxième stabile le plus imposant (après celui de Mexico qui fait 24 mètres). À la demande de l’International Nickel du Canada, il n’a pas été peint, ce qui en fait de surcroît le seul exemple de stabile non peint. Trois disques laisse voir de cette façon le matériau brut, les éléments d’assemblage et les traces de sa fabrication dans une esthétique franchement industrielle. En somme, c’est le travail de l’homme et son génie qu’illustre l’imposante sculpture de Calder.
Événements associés
Commandée à Alexander Calder par l’International Nickel du Canada pour la place du même nom à l’Exposition universelle de Montréal tenue en 1967, l’œuvre est remise officiellement aux Montréalais à la clôture. Inspirée du thème de l’Expo « Terre des Hommes », son titre et sa monumentalité la désignent alors comme un des symboles distinctifs de l’événement.
Alexander Calder
Né en 1898 à Lawnton en Pennsylvanie, Alexander Calder est issu d’une famille d’artistes : son père, Alexander Stirling Calder, et son grand-père, Alexander Milne Calder, étaient sculpteurs, tandis que sa mère, Nanette Lederer Calder, était peintre. Il possède une formation d’artiste (Art Students League of New York, 1923-1925) et d’ingénieur (Steven’s Institute of Technology, Hoboken, New Jersey, 1915-1919). Considéré comme l’un des sculpteurs les plus marquants du XXe siècle, « ingénieur hilare, architecte inquiétant et sculpteur du temps », selon Jacques Prévert, l’artiste américain a laissé sa marque dans l’espace public notamment grâce à ses « mobiles » et ses « stabiles ». Ce dernier mot, inventé par Jean Arp, désigne ses œuvres monumentales composées de formes simples fixées au sol. On les retrouve, entre autres, à Berlin, Chicago, Jérusalem, Paris, Mexico et Seattle. Alexander Calder meurt à New York en 1976.
Prix et distinctions
  • Presidential Medal of Freedom, The United States, 1977
  • Bicentennial Artist award, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, 1976
  • Peace Medal award, Nations Unies , 1975
  • Grand prix national des arts et lettres, ministre de la culture, France , 1975
  • Médaille d’or en sculpture, Academy of Arts and Letters, New York, 1971
  • Honorary Doctor of Engineering degree by Stevens Institute of Technology, 1969
  • Légion d'honneur, France, 1968
  • Honorary Doctor of Art degree, Harvard University, 1966
  • Grand prix de sculpture de Brandeis University, 1962
  • American Institute of Architects' medal , 1961
  • Médaille d’or, Architectural League of New York award, 1960
  • Premier prix, Carnegie International Exhibition, 1958
  • Outstanding Citizen award, City of Philadelphia , 1955
  • Prix international de sculpture, Biennale de Venise, 1952
  • Premier prix, Rohm and Haas Plexiglass Sculpture Competition, World's Fair Hall of Industrial Science, 1939
Détails
Variation du titre
Man, Three Disks; L'Homme; Man; The Man
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1967
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
30 octobre 1967
Technique(s)
Découpé; assemblé; boulonné; soudé
Matériaux
Acier inoxydable
Dimensions générales
2130 x 2200 x 1625 cm
Fabricants
  • Établissements Biémont
Trois disques
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Sainte-Hélène