Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Ath\u00e9na","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/athena\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/athena\/"}
Share
Share
Spyros Gokakis

Athéna

1997
Presentation of the artwork
The artwork is situated in the centre of Parc Athéna and faces Rue Jean-Talon. It is a standing figure, 231 cm tall, portraying the goddess Athena. She is dressed in a draped robe and an aegis ornamented with serpents. Her right hand is extended in front of her, the palm turned upward. Her traditional Corinthian helmet is tipped back on her head, revealing her face.

Athena is one of the best-known figures in the Greek pantheon. Zeus’s daughter and Apollo’s sister, she was the friend of and advisor to the heroes Achilles, in the Iliad, and Ulysses, in the Odyssey. A warrior figure, she was born fully armed and already adult. Athena was the goddess of war, but also of justice, wisdom, and the arts. She offered her protection to artisans and was the patron of women’s work. In addition to having given her name to the city of Athens, Athena embodies Greek civilization.
Associated events
The statue was presented as a gift to Montréal in March 2000 by the mayor of Athens, on the occasion of the celebration of independence of Greece, to underline the friendship ties that link the two cities.
Spyros Gokakis
Presentation of the artwork
The artwork is situated in the centre of Parc Athéna and faces Rue Jean-Talon. It is a standing figure, 231 cm tall, portraying the goddess Athena. She is dressed in a draped robe and an aegis ornamented with serpents. Her right hand is extended in front of her, the palm turned upward. Her traditional Corinthian helmet is tipped back on her head, revealing her face.

Athena is one of the best-known figures in the Greek pantheon. Zeus’s daughter and Apollo’s sister, she was the friend of and advisor to the heroes Achilles, in the Iliad, and Ulysses, in the Odyssey. A warrior figure, she was born fully armed and already adult. Athena was the goddess of war, but also of justice, wisdom, and the arts. She offered her protection to artisans and was the patron of women’s work. In addition to having given her name to the city of Athens, Athena embodies Greek civilization.
Associated events
The statue was presented as a gift to Montréal in March 2000 by the mayor of Athens, on the occasion of the celebration of independence of Greece, to underline the friendship ties that link the two cities.
Spyros Gokakis
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1997
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
March 1 2000
Technique(s)
Iron cast in the cire perdue method
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
310 x 100 x 100 cm
Manufacturer
  • Fonderie M. Gavala
Athéna
Borough
Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension
Park
Parc Athéna

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Ath\u00e9na","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/athena\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/athena\/"}
Partager
Partager
Spyros Gokakis

Athéna

1997
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L’œuvre est présentée au centre du parc Athéna et fait face à la rue Jean-Talon. Il s'agit d'une statue en pied de 231 cm de hauteur représentant la déesse Athéna. Elle est vêtue d'une robe en drapé et d’une égide ornementée de serpents. Sa main droite est tendue vers l'avant, la paume tournée vers le ciel. Son traditionnel casque corinthien est relevé sur sa tête, dévoilant son visage.

Athéna est l’une des figures les plus connues du panthéon grec. Fille de Zeus, sœur d’Apollon, elle est l’amie et la conseillère des héros Achille, dans l’Iliade, et Ulysse, dans l’Odyssée. Figure guerrière, elle est née tout armée et déjà adulte, Athéna est la déesse des armées, mais également la déesse de la justice, de la sagesse et des arts. Elle offre son protectorat aux artisans et elle patronne les travaux féminins. En plus d’avoir donné son nom à la ville d’Athènes, Athéna incarne la civilisation grecque.
Événements associés
La statue a été offerte aux Montréalais en mars 2000, par le maire d'Athènes, à l'occasion de la fête de l'indépendance de la Grèce, pour souligner les liens d'amitié qui unissent les deux villes.
Spyros Gokakis
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L’œuvre est présentée au centre du parc Athéna et fait face à la rue Jean-Talon. Il s'agit d'une statue en pied de 231 cm de hauteur représentant la déesse Athéna. Elle est vêtue d'une robe en drapé et d’une égide ornementée de serpents. Sa main droite est tendue vers l'avant, la paume tournée vers le ciel. Son traditionnel casque corinthien est relevé sur sa tête, dévoilant son visage.

Athéna est l’une des figures les plus connues du panthéon grec. Fille de Zeus, sœur d’Apollon, elle est l’amie et la conseillère des héros Achille, dans l’Iliade, et Ulysse, dans l’Odyssée. Figure guerrière, elle est née tout armée et déjà adulte, Athéna est la déesse des armées, mais également la déesse de la justice, de la sagesse et des arts. Elle offre son protectorat aux artisans et elle patronne les travaux féminins. En plus d’avoir donné son nom à la ville d’Athènes, Athéna incarne la civilisation grecque.
Événements associés
La statue a été offerte aux Montréalais en mars 2000, par le maire d'Athènes, à l'occasion de la fête de l'indépendance de la Grèce, pour souligner les liens d'amitié qui unissent les deux villes.
Spyros Gokakis
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1997
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 March 2000
Technique(s)
Fonte à la cire perdue
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
310 x 100 x 100 cm
Fabricants
  • Fonderie M. Gavala
Athéna
Arrondissement
Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension
Parc
Parc Athéna