Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Christophe Colomb","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-christophe-colomb\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-christophe-colomb\/"}
Share
Share
Armand De Palma

Monument à Christophe Colomb

1976
Presentation of the artwork
Installed in the southern part of Parc de Turin – named after the Italian city – in the heart of Montréal’s Little Italy, this monument is the result of a collaboration between the Centre Amerigo Vespucci, an organization affiliated with the Fédération italo-canadienne du Québec, the Knights of Columbus, and the Ville de Montréal. It pays tribute to Christopher Columbus, the famous navigator best known as the “discoverer of the Americas.” Although he was exploring on behalf of the Catholic Monarchs of Spain, Isabella of Castile and Ferdinand of Aragon, and died in Valladolid, Columbus was born in Genoa, Italy. In fact, the Italian community hoped, with this bronze bust, to highlight Columbus’s birthplace and revive his memory. Although produced in the mid-1970s, the bust takes up the classic tradition, with a polished finish and a generally immaculate, refined look. The sculptor, Armand de Palma, designed his artwork life size in order to create an intimate ambience around it.
Associated events
Christopher Columbus was born in 1451 in Genoa, Italy. His plan to travel to India was rejected, in succession, by the kings of Portugal, France, and England. On 7 April 1492, the Catholic Monarchs of Spain, having rejected the proposal once, finally signed in Santa Fe the accords enabling Columbus to finance his expedition. On 12 October 1492, certain that he had discovered a new continent, Columbus, at the helm of his ship the Santa Maria and accompanied by two other caravels, the Niña and the Pinta, landed in the Bahamas. This was the first of four voyages that Columbus made to the Americas in the employ of the Spanish royal couple. Weakened by gout (a form of arthritis), and surrounded by his family, Columbus died on 20 May 1506 in Valladolid, Spain.
Armand De Palma
Armand de Palma is a Montréal sculptor who has produced, among other works, several busts of public figures in Québec politics, including marble busts of René Lévesque and Jean Drapeau. He has participated in two annual Conseil de la sculpture du Québec exhibitions: Confrontation 83 and Confrontation 85. The monument to Christopher Columbus is his most important work of public art.
Presentation of the artwork
Installed in the southern part of Parc de Turin – named after the Italian city – in the heart of Montréal’s Little Italy, this monument is the result of a collaboration between the Centre Amerigo Vespucci, an organization affiliated with the Fédération italo-canadienne du Québec, the Knights of Columbus, and the Ville de Montréal. It pays tribute to Christopher Columbus, the famous navigator best known as the “discoverer of the Americas.” Although he was exploring on behalf of the Catholic Monarchs of Spain, Isabella of Castile and Ferdinand of Aragon, and died in Valladolid, Columbus was born in Genoa, Italy. In fact, the Italian community hoped, with this bronze bust, to highlight Columbus’s birthplace and revive his memory. Although produced in the mid-1970s, the bust takes up the classic tradition, with a polished finish and a generally immaculate, refined look. The sculptor, Armand de Palma, designed his artwork life size in order to create an intimate ambience around it.
Associated events
Christopher Columbus was born in 1451 in Genoa, Italy. His plan to travel to India was rejected, in succession, by the kings of Portugal, France, and England. On 7 April 1492, the Catholic Monarchs of Spain, having rejected the proposal once, finally signed in Santa Fe the accords enabling Columbus to finance his expedition. On 12 October 1492, certain that he had discovered a new continent, Columbus, at the helm of his ship the Santa Maria and accompanied by two other caravels, the Niña and the Pinta, landed in the Bahamas. This was the first of four voyages that Columbus made to the Americas in the employ of the Spanish royal couple. Weakened by gout (a form of arthritis), and surrounded by his family, Columbus died on 20 May 1506 in Valladolid, Spain.
Armand De Palma
Armand de Palma is a Montréal sculptor who has produced, among other works, several busts of public figures in Québec politics, including marble busts of René Lévesque and Jean Drapeau. He has participated in two annual Conseil de la sculpture du Québec exhibitions: Confrontation 83 and Confrontation 85. The monument to Christopher Columbus is his most important work of public art.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1976
Mode of acquisition:
Purchase
Accession date
January 1 1976
Technique(s)
Cast bronze
Materials
Bronze; granite; concrete
General dimensions
272 x 116 x 94 cm
Monument à Christophe Colomb
Borough
Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension
Park
Parc de Turin

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Christophe Colomb","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-christophe-colomb\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-christophe-colomb\/"}
Partager
Partager
Armand De Palma

Monument à Christophe Colomb

1976
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Installé au sud du parc de Turin, du nom d’une ville d’Italie, en plein cœur du quartier italien de Montréal, ce monument constitue l’aboutissement de la collaboration entre le centre Amerigo Vespucci, organisme affilié à la Fédération italo-canadienne du Québec, les Chevaliers de Colomb et la Ville de Montréal. Il rend hommage à Christophe Colomb, célèbre navigateur, plus connu comme « le découvreur de l’Amérique ». Bien qu’il ait navigué pour le compte des Rois catholiques d’Espagne, Isabelle de Castille et Ferdinand d’Aragon, et qu’il soit mort à Valladolid, Colomb est né à Gênes, en Italie. Précisément, la communauté italienne cherche par ce buste en bronze à mettre en valeur les origines du navigateur ainsi qu’à réhabiliter sa mémoire. Le buste, qui malgré sa réalisation au milieu des années 1970 renoue avec la tradition classique, présente un aspect fini et une facture générale soignée et délicate. Le sculpteur Armand de Palma a conçu son œuvre de grandeur nature, afin de créer une ambiance intimiste autour de celle-ci.
Événements associés
Christophe Colomb naît en 1451, à Gènes, en Italie. Son projet de voyage aux Indes est successivement rejeté par les rois du Portugal, de la France et de l’Angleterre. Le 7 avril 1492, les Rois catholiques d’Espagne, après avoir refusé la proposition une fois, signent enfin à Santa Fe les accords qui permettent à Colomb de financer son expédition. Le 12 octobre 1492, sans se douter qu’il avait atteint un nouveau continent, le navigateur génois accoste aux Bahamas, à bord de son embarcation la Santa Maria et accompagné de deux autres caravelles : la Niña et la Pinta. Ce sera le premier de quatre voyages qu’il entreprendra en Amérique au service du couple royal espagnol. Colomb, très affaibli par la goutte (forme d’arthrite), mais entouré de sa famille, décède le 20 mai 1506 à Valladolid, en Espagne.
Armand De Palma
Armand de Palma est un sculpteur montréalais qui a réalisé, entre autres, quelques bustes de personnalités de la vie publique québécoise tels ceux en marbre de René Lévesque et de Jean Drapeau. Il a notamment participé à deux expositions annuelles du Conseil de la sculpture du Québec : Confrontation 83 et Confrontation 85. Le monument à Christophe Colomb constitue son œuvre la plus importante en art public.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Installé au sud du parc de Turin, du nom d’une ville d’Italie, en plein cœur du quartier italien de Montréal, ce monument constitue l’aboutissement de la collaboration entre le centre Amerigo Vespucci, organisme affilié à la Fédération italo-canadienne du Québec, les Chevaliers de Colomb et la Ville de Montréal. Il rend hommage à Christophe Colomb, célèbre navigateur, plus connu comme « le découvreur de l’Amérique ». Bien qu’il ait navigué pour le compte des Rois catholiques d’Espagne, Isabelle de Castille et Ferdinand d’Aragon, et qu’il soit mort à Valladolid, Colomb est né à Gênes, en Italie. Précisément, la communauté italienne cherche par ce buste en bronze à mettre en valeur les origines du navigateur ainsi qu’à réhabiliter sa mémoire. Le buste, qui malgré sa réalisation au milieu des années 1970 renoue avec la tradition classique, présente un aspect fini et une facture générale soignée et délicate. Le sculpteur Armand de Palma a conçu son œuvre de grandeur nature, afin de créer une ambiance intimiste autour de celle-ci.
Événements associés
Christophe Colomb naît en 1451, à Gènes, en Italie. Son projet de voyage aux Indes est successivement rejeté par les rois du Portugal, de la France et de l’Angleterre. Le 7 avril 1492, les Rois catholiques d’Espagne, après avoir refusé la proposition une fois, signent enfin à Santa Fe les accords qui permettent à Colomb de financer son expédition. Le 12 octobre 1492, sans se douter qu’il avait atteint un nouveau continent, le navigateur génois accoste aux Bahamas, à bord de son embarcation la Santa Maria et accompagné de deux autres caravelles : la Niña et la Pinta. Ce sera le premier de quatre voyages qu’il entreprendra en Amérique au service du couple royal espagnol. Colomb, très affaibli par la goutte (forme d’arthrite), mais entouré de sa famille, décède le 20 mai 1506 à Valladolid, en Espagne.
Armand De Palma
Armand de Palma est un sculpteur montréalais qui a réalisé, entre autres, quelques bustes de personnalités de la vie publique québécoise tels ceux en marbre de René Lévesque et de Jean Drapeau. Il a notamment participé à deux expositions annuelles du Conseil de la sculpture du Québec : Confrontation 83 et Confrontation 85. Le monument à Christophe Colomb constitue son œuvre la plus importante en art public.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1976
Mode d'acquisition
Achat
Date d'accession
1 janvier 1976
Technique(s)
Bronze coulé
Matériaux
Bronze; granit; béton
Dimensions générales
272 x 116 x 94 cm
Monument à Christophe Colomb
Arrondissement
Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension
Parc
Parc de Turin