Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Le banc des amoureux","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/le-banc-des-amoureux\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/le-banc-des-amoureux\/"}
Share
Share
Léa Vivot

Le banc des amoureux

1976
Presentation of the artwork
This bronze sculpture presents three figures sitting on a bench. A nude couple seem to be absorbed in the intimacy naturally created around them, whereas a third figure, dressed in a skirt and averting her gaze, projects boredom and solitude. On the bench, in graffiti, are sentences about love by famous people, such as Menachem Begin, Indira Gandhi, and Mother Teresa: “Se souvenir chaque jour que nous sommes tous frères,” “Love is the rhythm of life,” “Amor con la passion para siempre,” and so on.

These larger-than-life figures are portrayed in a classic style that contrasts with the sculpture’s rather provocative theme. Sitting atop a small hill in front of the water lily pond in the perennials garden, the sculpture has aroused various reactions, ranging from sympathy to surprise. The erotic – some have said obscene – scene of the couple is imbued with a freedom, naiveté, and joie de vivre that is, in a way, shattered by the third figure symbolizing rejection and isolation.

In her first sculpture presented in North America, Vivot began her exploration of the theme of family that was to be predominant in her art production. Indeed, one could determine retrospectively that Le banc des amoureux represents the first step – that of love and seduction – in the formation of the family that Vivot’s sculptures portrayed.
Associated events
Le banc des amoureux was first briefly on display in Toronto in 1979, before being installed in front of the Montréal Museum of Fine Art. When businessman Abraham Hirschfeld purchased the artwork in 1985 for the lobby of a hotel, he commissioned a bronze reproduction as a gift to the Ville de Montréal and Montréalers. In this way, Hirschfeld was showing his gratitude to the city that was his first home in North America in the early 1950s. The sculpture was moved to its permanent site, the Botanical Garden, in September 1987.
Léa Vivot
Lea Vivot, who lives in Ontario, was born in Czechoslovakia. She studied at the Ontario College of Art in Toronto, the Academia di Brera in Milan, and the Art Students League of New York. Her sculptures, most of them figurative bronzes, offer a reflection on family and human relations. Two of her most important works of public art are on display in Toronto: Endless Bench is at the Hospital for Sick Children, and Joy of Life is in front of St. Joseph’s Health Centre.
Detail
Variation of title
Lover's Bench
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1976
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 16 1987
Technique(s)
Cast
Materials
Bronze
General dimensions
184 x 240 x 150 cm
Manufacturer
  • Artcast Foundry
Le banc des amoureux
Borough
Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie
Building
Jardin botanique
Park
Jardin botanique
Civic address
4101, rue Sherbrooke Est, Montréal, Québec, H1X 2B2

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Le banc des amoureux","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/le-banc-des-amoureux\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/le-banc-des-amoureux\/"}
Partager
Partager
Léa Vivot

Le banc des amoureux

1976
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Cette œuvre présente trois personnages de bronze assis sur un banc. Un couple nu semble absorbé dans l’intimité naturellement créée autour d’eux, alors qu’un personnage vêtu d’une jupe, détournant le regard, projette l’ennui et la solitude. Le banc affiche sous forme de graffitis des phrases sur l’amour de personnages célèbres comme Menahem Begin, Indira Gandhi et Mère Teresa : « Se souvenir chaque jour que nous sommes tous frères », « Love is the rhythm of life », « Amor con la passion para siempre », etc.

Ces personnages, plus grands que nature, sont représentés dans une facture stylistique classique qui contraste avec son thème quelque peu provocateur. Juchée sur un petit promontoire devant le bassin de nénuphars dans le jardin des plantes vivaces, cette sculpture suscite diverses réactions allant de la sympathie à l’étonnement. La scène puérile – certains ont dit obscène – du couple est empreinte d’une liberté, d’une naïveté et d’une joie de vivre qui est en quelque sorte bouleversée par le troisième personnage symbolisant le rejet et l’isolement.

Dans sa première sculpture présentée en Amérique de Nord, l’artiste amorce l’exploration du thème de la famille qui sera prédominant dans sa production artistique. En effet, on peut statuer à rebours que Le banc des amoureux représente la première étape, celle de l’amour et de la séduction, dans la formation de cette famille que formeront les statues de Vivot.
Événements associés
Le banc des amoureux est d’abord brièvement exposé à Toronto, en 1979, avant d’être installé devant le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal. Lorsque l’homme d’affaires Abraham Hirschfeld achète l’œuvre en 1985, pour orner le hall d’entrée d’un hôtel, il commissionne une reproduction du bronze afin de l’offrir en cadeau à la Ville de Montréal et aux Montréalais. L’homme remercie de cette façon la ville qui l’a accueilli sur le continent américain au début des années 1950. La sculpture a trouvé son emplacement permanent, le Jardin botanique, en septembre 1987.
Léa Vivot
L’artiste ontarienne d’origine tchécoslovaque a poursuivi des études au Ontario College of Art de Toronto, à l’Academia di Brera de Milan et à l’Art Students League de New York. Son travail sculptural, composé essentiellement de bronzes figuratifs, propose une réflexion sur la famille et les relations humaines. Deux de ses plus importantes œuvres d’art public sont visibles à Toronto : Endless Bench se trouve au Hospital for Sick Children alors que Joy of Life est érigée devant le St. Joseph’s Health Centre.
Détails
Variation du titre
Lover's Bench
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1976
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
16 janvier 1987
Technique(s)
Coulé
Matériaux
Bronze
Dimensions générales
184 x 240 x 150 cm
Fabricants
  • Artcast Foundry
Le banc des amoureux
Arrondissement
Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie
Bâtiment
Jardin botanique
Parc
Jardin botanique
Adresse civique
4101, rue Sherbrooke Est, Montréal, Québec, H1X 2B2