Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2018

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | La mort de Dante","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/la-mort-de-dante\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/la-mort-de-dante\/"}
Share
Share
Carlo Balboni

La mort de Dante

1921
Presentation of the artwork
Situated in the eponymous park in the heart of Little Italy, this waist-up bust with arms sitting on a tall pedestal, portrays Dante dressed in the style of ancient Rome. He is surrounded by his literary works: he holds La Commedia to his breast, and other books are arranged in piles on small columns on the sides of the pedestal and topped with laurels. The top of the main column is decorated with various ornamentations and its core presents a laurel branch.

Although the importance of Dante’s literary oeuvre is never in doubt in the composition of this monument, it is the cultural heritage of an entire country and Italian Montréalers’ sense of belonging to their original culture that are on display. At the time of the inauguration, the president of the committee for the artwork, Cesare Consiglio, summarized the dominant symbolism of the monument to the assembled crowd: “We shall always ardently love our mother country, and you who have fought ... cannot criticize this noble sentiment.” 1


1. Pierre-Georges Roy, “Le buste de Dante Alighieri,” in Les monuments commémoratifs, vol. 2 (Québec City: L. A. Proulx, 1923), p. 337 (our translation).
Associated events
The artwork pays tribute to Durante degli Alighieri, known as Dante, a medieval Florentine poet. Dante wrote La Commedia (The Divine Comedy), a masterpiece of world literature that combines realism and metaphysics in an epic story. He was also a theoretician of popular language and is considered the father of modern Italian. Presented to the Ville de Montréal by the Italian community on the occasion of the 600th anniversary of Dante’s death, this bust underlines the importance of the Italian cultural heritage in Montréal.
Carlo Balboni
A Montréal sculptor born in Italy, Carlo Balboni (1860–1947) studied sculpture in Italy before moving to Montreal, where he began to have exhibitions at the Art Gallery Association of Montreal in 1909. He worked on the T. Carli house and produced a number of busts, including ones of Benito Mussolini and John Cabot.
Presentation of the artwork
Situated in the eponymous park in the heart of Little Italy, this waist-up bust with arms sitting on a tall pedestal, portrays Dante dressed in the style of ancient Rome. He is surrounded by his literary works: he holds La Commedia to his breast, and other books are arranged in piles on small columns on the sides of the pedestal and topped with laurels. The top of the main column is decorated with various ornamentations and its core presents a laurel branch.

Although the importance of Dante’s literary oeuvre is never in doubt in the composition of this monument, it is the cultural heritage of an entire country and Italian Montréalers’ sense of belonging to their original culture that are on display. At the time of the inauguration, the president of the committee for the artwork, Cesare Consiglio, summarized the dominant symbolism of the monument to the assembled crowd: “We shall always ardently love our mother country, and you who have fought ... cannot criticize this noble sentiment.” 1


1. Pierre-Georges Roy, “Le buste de Dante Alighieri,” in Les monuments commémoratifs, vol. 2 (Québec City: L. A. Proulx, 1923), p. 337 (our translation).
Associated events
The artwork pays tribute to Durante degli Alighieri, known as Dante, a medieval Florentine poet. Dante wrote La Commedia (The Divine Comedy), a masterpiece of world literature that combines realism and metaphysics in an epic story. He was also a theoretician of popular language and is considered the father of modern Italian. Presented to the Ville de Montréal by the Italian community on the occasion of the 600th anniversary of Dante’s death, this bust underlines the importance of the Italian cultural heritage in Montréal.
Carlo Balboni
A Montréal sculptor born in Italy, Carlo Balboni (1860–1947) studied sculpture in Italy before moving to Montreal, where he began to have exhibitions at the Art Gallery Association of Montreal in 1909. He worked on the T. Carli house and produced a number of busts, including ones of Benito Mussolini and John Cabot.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1921
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 1 1921
Technique(s)
Cast
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
390 x 250 x 210 cm
La mort de Dante
Borough
Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie
Park
Parc Dante

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | La mort de Dante","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/la-mort-de-dante\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/la-mort-de-dante\/"}
Partager
Partager
Carlo Balboni

La mort de Dante

1921
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Érigé dans le parc du même nom au cœur de la Petite Italie, ce buste mi-corps avec bras reposant sur un scabellon représente Dante vêtu à l’antique. L’auteur italien est entouré de ses œuvres littéraires : La Commedia d’abord, qu’il tient contre lui, et puis d’autres de ses ouvrages disposés de part et d’autre du piédestal sur des colonnettes sous forme de piles surmontés d’un laurier. La colonne principale est décorée quant à elle en son faîte d’ornementations diverses et présente en son cœur un rameau de laurier.

Si l’importance de l’œuvre littéraire du poète ne fait aucun doute dans la composition de ce monument, c’est l’héritage culturel de tout un pays et le sentiment d’appartenance des Italo-Montréalais à leur culture d’origine qu’il faut avant tout percevoir. Au moment de l’inauguration, le président du comité de l’œuvre, Cesare Consiglio, s’adressant à la foule, résumait cette symbolique dominante de l’œuvre : « Nous aimons toujours ardemment notre mère patrie, et vous qui avez combattu […] ne pouvez blâmer ce noble sentiment.1 »


1.Pierre-Georges Roy, « Le buste de Dante Alighieri », Les monuments commémoratifs, vol. 2, Québec, L. A. Proulx, 1923, p. 337.
Événements associés
L’œuvre rend hommage à Durante degli Alighieri dit Dante, un poète florentin du Moyen Âge. Dante est l’auteur de La Commedia ou La Divine Comédie, un chef-d’œuvre de la littérature mondiale alliant réalisme et métaphysique dans un récit épique. Il est également théoricien de la langue vulgaire et est considéré comme le père de l’italien moderne. Offert à la Ville de Montréal par la communauté italienne à l’occasion du 600e anniversaire de la mort du poète, ce buste souligne l’importance de l’héritage de cette culture à Montréal.
Carlo Balboni
Sculpteur montréalais d’origine italienne, Carlo Balboni (1860-1947) étudie la sculpture en Italie avant de se rendre à Montréal où il expose, dès 1909, à l’Art Gallery Association of Montreal. Il travaille auprès de la maison T. Carli et réalise plusieurs bustes dont ceux de Benito Mussolini et de Giovanni Caboto.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Érigé dans le parc du même nom au cœur de la Petite Italie, ce buste mi-corps avec bras reposant sur un scabellon représente Dante vêtu à l’antique. L’auteur italien est entouré de ses œuvres littéraires : La Commedia d’abord, qu’il tient contre lui, et puis d’autres de ses ouvrages disposés de part et d’autre du piédestal sur des colonnettes sous forme de piles surmontés d’un laurier. La colonne principale est décorée quant à elle en son faîte d’ornementations diverses et présente en son cœur un rameau de laurier.

Si l’importance de l’œuvre littéraire du poète ne fait aucun doute dans la composition de ce monument, c’est l’héritage culturel de tout un pays et le sentiment d’appartenance des Italo-Montréalais à leur culture d’origine qu’il faut avant tout percevoir. Au moment de l’inauguration, le président du comité de l’œuvre, Cesare Consiglio, s’adressant à la foule, résumait cette symbolique dominante de l’œuvre : « Nous aimons toujours ardemment notre mère patrie, et vous qui avez combattu […] ne pouvez blâmer ce noble sentiment.1 »


1.Pierre-Georges Roy, « Le buste de Dante Alighieri », Les monuments commémoratifs, vol. 2, Québec, L. A. Proulx, 1923, p. 337.
Événements associés
L’œuvre rend hommage à Durante degli Alighieri dit Dante, un poète florentin du Moyen Âge. Dante est l’auteur de La Commedia ou La Divine Comédie, un chef-d’œuvre de la littérature mondiale alliant réalisme et métaphysique dans un récit épique. Il est également théoricien de la langue vulgaire et est considéré comme le père de l’italien moderne. Offert à la Ville de Montréal par la communauté italienne à l’occasion du 600e anniversaire de la mort du poète, ce buste souligne l’importance de l’héritage de cette culture à Montréal.
Carlo Balboni
Sculpteur montréalais d’origine italienne, Carlo Balboni (1860-1947) étudie la sculpture en Italie avant de se rendre à Montréal où il expose, dès 1909, à l’Art Gallery Association of Montreal. Il travaille auprès de la maison T. Carli et réalise plusieurs bustes dont ceux de Benito Mussolini et de Giovanni Caboto.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1921
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 janvier 1921
Technique(s)
Coulé
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
390 x 250 x 210 cm
La mort de Dante
Arrondissement
Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie
Parc
Parc Dante