Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Non titr\u00e9 (Fontaine; Les ch\u00e9rubins)","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/non-titre-fontaine-les-cherubins\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/non-titre-fontaine-les-cherubins\/"}
Share
Share
Mathurin Moreau

Non titré (Fontaine; Les chérubins)

1927
Presentation of the artwork
In the centre of the pool in Parc Outremont is a fountain made of iron founding portraying two cherubs draped in sinuously falling pieces of cloth. The central column of the fountain, around which the cherubs are placed, is decorated with plant motifs, whereas the pedestal supporting the sculpture is plain.

The fountain was cast at the Val d’Osne art foundry in Paris, the largest art foundry in France at the time. A number of Mathurin Moreau’s artworks were produced there, as Moreau was a shareholder in the company.
Associated events
The fountain was acquired by the mayor of Outremont, Joseph Beaubien, around 1927, then installed in the pool in Parc Outremont in the late 1950s.
Mathurin Moreau
Mathurin Moreau was born in Dijon in 1822 and died in Paris in 1912. The son of sculptor Jean-Baptiste Moreau, he was first exposed to sculpture in his father’s studio, then continued his studies at the École des beaux-arts de Paris. He created hundreds of models of decorative objects such as candelabras and funerary monuments for the Val d’Osne art foundry. He designed the model that was used to produce the Tourny fountain, one of the two copies of which stands in front of the National Assembly building in Québec City.
Awards and honours
  • Second prix de Rome, 1842
Presentation of the artwork
In the centre of the pool in Parc Outremont is a fountain made of iron founding portraying two cherubs draped in sinuously falling pieces of cloth. The central column of the fountain, around which the cherubs are placed, is decorated with plant motifs, whereas the pedestal supporting the sculpture is plain.

The fountain was cast at the Val d’Osne art foundry in Paris, the largest art foundry in France at the time. A number of Mathurin Moreau’s artworks were produced there, as Moreau was a shareholder in the company.
Associated events
The fountain was acquired by the mayor of Outremont, Joseph Beaubien, around 1927, then installed in the pool in Parc Outremont in the late 1950s.
Mathurin Moreau
Mathurin Moreau was born in Dijon in 1822 and died in Paris in 1912. The son of sculptor Jean-Baptiste Moreau, he was first exposed to sculpture in his father’s studio, then continued his studies at the École des beaux-arts de Paris. He created hundreds of models of decorative objects such as candelabras and funerary monuments for the Val d’Osne art foundry. He designed the model that was used to produce the Tourny fountain, one of the two copies of which stands in front of the National Assembly building in Québec City.
Awards and honours
  • Second prix de Rome, 1842
Detail
Variation of title
Fontaine; Les chérubins
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1927
Mode of acquisition:
Transfer
Accession date
January 1 2002
Technique(s)
Casting
Materials
Iron founding
Manufacturer
  • Fonderie d'art du Val d'Osne
Non titré (Fontaine; Les chérubins)
Borough
Outremont
Park
Parc Outremont

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Non titr\u00e9 (Fontaine; Les ch\u00e9rubins)","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/non-titre-fontaine-les-cherubins\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/non-titre-fontaine-les-cherubins\/"}
Partager
Partager
Mathurin Moreau

Non titré (Fontaine; Les chérubins)

1927
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Au centre du bassin du parc Outremont se tient une fontaine en fonte de fer représentant deux chérubins couverts d’un drapé à la ligne sinueuse. La partie centrale de la fontaine, que les chérubins entourent, est décorée de motifs végétaux, tandis que le piédestal de la sculpture est de facture sobre.

La fontaine a été coulée à la fonderie d’art du Val d’Osne de Paris, la plus importante fonderie d’art en France à cette époque. Plusieurs œuvres de Mathurin Moreau ont été produites là-bas puisque ce dernier était actionnaire de l’entreprise.
Événements associés
La fontaine a été acquise par le maire d’Outremont, Joseph Beaubien, vers 1927, puis installée dans le bassin du parc Outremont à la fin des années 1950.
Mathurin Moreau
Mathurin Moreau naît à Dijon en 1822 et décède à Paris en 1912. Fils du sculpteur Jean-Baptiste Moreau, il s’initie d’abord à la sculpture dans l’atelier de son père, puis poursuit des études à l’École des beaux-arts de Paris. Pour la fonderie d’art du Val d’Osne, il crée des centaines de modèles d’objets décoratifs, tels que des candélabres et des monuments funéraires. Il est notamment le concepteur du modèle qui a servi à la réalisation de la fontaine de Tourny, dont l’un des deux exemplaires est situé à Québec, en face de l’hôtel du Parlement.
Prix et distinctions
  • Second prix de Rome, 1842
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Au centre du bassin du parc Outremont se tient une fontaine en fonte de fer représentant deux chérubins couverts d’un drapé à la ligne sinueuse. La partie centrale de la fontaine, que les chérubins entourent, est décorée de motifs végétaux, tandis que le piédestal de la sculpture est de facture sobre.

La fontaine a été coulée à la fonderie d’art du Val d’Osne de Paris, la plus importante fonderie d’art en France à cette époque. Plusieurs œuvres de Mathurin Moreau ont été produites là-bas puisque ce dernier était actionnaire de l’entreprise.
Événements associés
La fontaine a été acquise par le maire d’Outremont, Joseph Beaubien, vers 1927, puis installée dans le bassin du parc Outremont à la fin des années 1950.
Mathurin Moreau
Mathurin Moreau naît à Dijon en 1822 et décède à Paris en 1912. Fils du sculpteur Jean-Baptiste Moreau, il s’initie d’abord à la sculpture dans l’atelier de son père, puis poursuit des études à l’École des beaux-arts de Paris. Pour la fonderie d’art du Val d’Osne, il crée des centaines de modèles d’objets décoratifs, tels que des candélabres et des monuments funéraires. Il est notamment le concepteur du modèle qui a servi à la réalisation de la fontaine de Tourny, dont l’un des deux exemplaires est situé à Québec, en face de l’hôtel du Parlement.
Prix et distinctions
  • Second prix de Rome, 1842
Détails
Variation du titre
Fontaine; Les chérubins
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1927
Mode d'acquisition
Transfert
Date d'accession
1 janvier 2002
Technique(s)
Coulée
Matériaux
Fonte
Fabricants
  • Fonderie d'art du Val d'Osne
Non titré (Fontaine; Les chérubins)
Arrondissement
Outremont
Parc
Parc Outremont