Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | China Wall","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/china-wall\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/china-wall\/"}
Share
Share
Jean-Marie Delavalle

China Wall

1988
Presentation of the artwork
Presented in Parc René-Lévesque, China Wall is a pyramidal sculpture with a rectangular base and a truncated peak. It is made of Corten steel.

The massive volume stands out in the landscape and blocks the gaze. The rusty colour of the surface is closely linked to the shape; by affecting our perception, the colour of the metal acts in concert with the volume. Combined with the materiality and presence of the object, the colour determines the artwork’s impact in the environment as well as the proportions, weight, and inclines of the planes and dimensions of the artwork.

The title, China Wall, refers not, as one may think, to the Great Wall of China, but to the name of the Montréal borough in which the artwork is situated. In the seventeenth century, the lands of Cavelier de La Salle were mockingly nicknamed Lachine (La Chine, or China), as the explorer had set out to find a passage to China.
Associated events
Produced for the “Un Lieu” sculpture symposium in Lachine in 1988, the artwork was then bequeathed to the Ville de Lachine by the Centre des arts contemporains du Québec à Montréal.
Jean-Marie Delavalle
Jean-Marie Delavalle, born in Clermont-Ferrand, France, arrived in Québec when he was 10 years old. He studied sculpture and painting at the École des beaux-arts de Montréal from 1961 to 1965. In 1973, his work was presented in the group exhibition Boucherville, Montréal, Toronto, London, at the National Gallery of Canada, bringing him great visibility. His works are in numerous public and private collections, including those of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Montréal Museum of Fine Art, and the National Gallery of Canada.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1988
Mode of acquisition:
Transfer
Accession date
January 1 2002
Technique(s)
Welded
Materials
Corten steel
General dimensions
225 x 177 x 489 cm
China Wall
Borough
Lachine
Park
Parc René-Lévesque

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | China Wall","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/china-wall\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/china-wall\/"}
Partager
Partager
Jean-Marie Delavalle

China Wall

1988
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Présentée au parc René-Lévesque, China Wall est une sculpture pyramidale à base rectangulaire dont le sommet est tronqué. Elle est réalisée en acier corten.

Massif, le volume s’impose dans le paysage et bloque le regard. La couleur de la surface, qui évoque la rouille, est intimement liée à la forme. Ainsi, la couleur du métal agit-elle sur notre perception, en concordance avec le volume. Elle concourt à la matérialité et à la présence de l'objet, elle détermine son impact dans l'environnement tout comme les proportions, le poids, l'inclinaison des plans et les dimensions de l'œuvre.

Le titre, China Wall, réfère non pas, comme on pourrait le croire, à la Grande Muraille de Chine, mais au nom de l’arrondissement montréalais qui accueille l’œuvre. En effet, c’est au XVIIe siècle qu'on aurait donné, par moquerie, le nom de Lachine aux terres de Cavelier de La Salle. Cet explorateur avait l'ambition de trouver le passage vers la Chine.
Événements associés
Réalisée à l’occasion du symposium de sculpture « Un lieu » à Lachine en 1988, l’œuvre est par la suite léguée à la Ville de Lachine par le Centre des arts contemporains du Québec à Montréal.
Jean-Marie Delavalle
Né à Clermont-Ferrand en France, Jean-Marie Delavalle arrive au Québec âgé de 10 ans. Il étudie la sculpture et la peinture à l’École des beaux-arts de Montréal de 1961 à 1965. En 1973, son travail est présenté à l’exposition de groupe Boucherville, Montréal, Toronto, London, au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, ce qui lui apporte une importante reconnaissance. Ses œuvres font partie de nombreuses collections publiques et privées, notamment celles du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1988
Mode d'acquisition
Transfert
Date d'accession
1 janvier 2002
Technique(s)
Soudé
Matériaux
Acier corten
Dimensions générales
225 x 177 x 489 cm
China Wall
Arrondissement
Lachine
Parc
Parc René-Lévesque