Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Give Peace a Chance","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/give-peace-a-chance\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/give-peace-a-chance\/"}
Share
Share
Linda Covit, Marie-Claude Séguin, Cardinal Hardy et associés

Give Peace a Chance

2009
Presentation of the artwork
The art intervention was produced when the Rue Peel entrance to Mount Royal Park was refurbished. It marked the 40th anniversary of John Lennon and Yoko Ono’s bed-in in Montréal, during which the song “Give Peace a Chance” was recorded. The artwork borders one of the curves in the path leading to Olmsted Road. On the path side, it is defined by two rocks symbolizing the mountain; on the east, by vegetation. In an arch on the ground are 180 rectangular limestone flagstones, on 40 of which are engraved the sentence “Give peace a chance” in 40 languages.

The artwork, produced jointly by the artist Linda Covit and the landscape architect Marie-Claude Séguin of Cardinal Hardy et associés, is a symbol of peace and a reflection of the social diversity that has been built in Montréal over the centuries. The installation integrates engraved elements and plant components that create a space inviting reflection, in harmony with the vision of Frederick Law Olmsted (1822–1903), the landscape architect who designed Mount Royal Park.

The 40 languages are Algonquin, Arab, Armenian, Bengali, Creole, Croat, Danish, Dutch, English, English Braille, French, French Braille, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Huron-Wendat, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Malagasy, Mandarin, Mohawk, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Spanish, Swahili, Tamil Tagalog, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.
Associated events
Singer John Lennon and his wife, Yoko Ono, checked in to the Queen Elizabeth Hotel in Montreal on 26 May 1969. Having held a “bed-in for peace” in Amsterdam in March, they held a second one in the hotel’s suite 1742, which lasted eight days. On 1 June, 40 people joined the couple to record the song “Give Peace a Chance.” This invitation to the world was issued in the context of the Vietnam war (1954–75).
Linda Covit
Since 1975, Linda Covit has created numerous art interventions presented in Canada and abroad. Her artworks address issues of nature, the environment, and peace. Water Garden, integrated with the Water Centre building in Calgary, and Shangri La Stripe Room, at the Shangri La Botanical Gardens and Nature Center in Orange, Texas, are among her most recent creations.
Awards and honours
  • Prix d’Hydro-Québec, Florexpo, 1988
  • Jardins québécois, pour sa sculpture Un ailleurs lointain., 1988
  • Prix aménagement, Les Arts et la Ville et Télé-Québec, pour Give Peace a Chance, 2012
Marie-Claude Séguin
The landscape architect Marie-Claude Séguin is interested in the integration of public spaces in natural environments, particularly the highlighting of landscape characteristics in a partially urbanized natural context. Over the last 20 years, she has completed projects for Place d’Armes, Place Norman-Bethune, Dorchester Square, and Place D’Youville. She has received numerous awards for her work over the course of her career.
Cardinal Hardy et associés
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Installation
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
2009
Mode of acquisition:
Public commission from the Ville de Montréal
Technique(s)
Carved stone
Materials
Limestone; indigenous plants
General dimensions
2300 x 640 cm
Manufacturer
  • ARCO (1980) CIE Ltée
  • Transformation Éclipse Inc.
Give Peace a Chance
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc du Mont-Royal
Awards or honours for the artwork
2011

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Give Peace a Chance","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/give-peace-a-chance\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/give-peace-a-chance\/"}
Partager
Partager
Linda Covit, Marie-Claude Séguin, Cardinal Hardy et associés

Give Peace a Chance

2009
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L’intervention artistique est réalisée dans le cadre des travaux de réaménagement du secteur de l’entrée Peel du parc du Mont-Royal. Elle commémore le 40e anniversaire du bed-in de John Lennon et Yoko Ono à Montréal, au cours duquel la chanson Give Peace a Chance est enregistrée. Cet aménagement borde une des courbes du sentier menant au chemin Olmsted. Son pourtour est délimité, du côté du sentier, par deux roches symbolisant la montagne et elle est ceinturée, à l’est, par des végétaux. Au sol sont déposées en arc quelques 180 dalles de calcaire rectangulaires et, sur quarante d’entre elles, la phrase Give Peace a Chance est déclinée en 40 langues.

Résultat du travail conjoint de l’artiste Linda Covit et de l’architecte paysagiste Marie-Claude Séguin du groupe Cardinal Hardy et associés, l’œuvre est un symbole de paix et se fait le reflet de la diversité sociale qui s’est construite à Montréal au cours des siècles. L’ensemble intègre éléments gravés et composantes végétales qui créent un espace invitant à la réflexion en accord avec la vision de Frederick Law Olmsted (1822-1903), l’architecte paysagiste du parc du Mont-Royal.

Les quarante langues sont : algonquin, allemand, anglais, arabe, arménien, bengali, braille anglais, braille français, coréen, créole, croate, danois, espagnole, français, grecque, hébreu, hindi, hongrois, huron-wendat, italien, japonais, khmer, malgache, mandarin, mohawk, néerlandais, urdu, perse, polonais, portugais, punjabi, roumain, russe, serbe, swahili, tagalog tamoul, turque, ukrainien, vietnamienne, yiddish.
Événements associés
Le chanteur John Lennon et son épouse Yoko Ono s’installent à l’hôtel Reine Elizabeth de Montréal, le 26 mai 1969. Après avoir tenu un bed-in pour la paix à Amsterdam, en mars, ils en tiennent un second dans la suite 1742 qui durera huit jours. Le 1er juin, une quarantaine de personnalités se joignent au couple pour enregistrer la chanson « Give Peace a Chance ». Cette invitation universelle à donner une chance à la paix s’inscrit alors dans le contexte de la guerre du Viêt Nam (1954-1975).
Linda Covit
Depuis 1975, Linda Covit crée de nombreuses interventions artistiques qui ont été présentées à Montréal, au Québec et à l’étranger. Ses œuvres abordent les questions de la nature, de l’environnement et de la paix. Les œuvres Water Garden, à l’édifice du Water Centre de la ville de Calgary, et Shangri La Stripe Room, au Shangri La Botanical Gardens and Nature Center à Orange, au Texas, figurent parmi ses plus récentes réalisations.
Prix et distinctions
  • Prix d’Hydro-Québec, Florexpo, 1988
  • Jardins québécois, pour sa sculpture Un ailleurs lointain., 1988
  • Prix aménagement, Les Arts et la Ville et Télé-Québec, pour Give Peace a Chance, 2012
Marie-Claude Séguin
L’architecte paysagiste Marie-Claude Séguin s’intéresse à l’intégration des espaces publics en milieu naturel et plus particulièrement à la mise en valeur des caractéristiques paysagères dans un contexte naturel partiellement urbanisé. Au cours des vingt dernières années, elle a réalisé des projets pour la place d’Armes, la place Norman-Bethune, le square Dorchester et la place d’Youville. Son travail a été récompensé par de nombreux prix d’excellence au cours de sa carrière.
Cardinal Hardy et associés
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Installation
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
2009
Mode d'acquisition
Commande publique de la Ville de Montréal
Technique(s)
Pierre taillée
Matériaux
Calcaire; plantes indigènes
Dimensions générales
2300 x 640 cm
Fabricants
  • ARCO (1980) CIE Ltée
  • Transformation Éclipse Inc.
Give Peace a Chance
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc du Mont-Royal
Prix ou distinction de l'oeuvre
2011