Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Hommage \u00e0 Ren\u00e9 L\u00e9vesque","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/hommage-a-rene-levesque\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/hommage-a-rene-levesque\/"}
Share
Share
Robert Roussil

Hommage à René Lévesque

1988
Presentation of the artwork
This artwork was commissioned from sculptor Robert Roussil by the Ville de Lachine, to commemorate René Lévesque’s political career. Installed in the park bearing the name of the former premier of Québec, the sculpture is a grouping of nine cylindrical concrete columns mounted on pedestals – one for each of the nine years that Lévesque spent at the head of the Québec government. The columns are topped with undulating shapes that simulate flames and symbolize beacons, symbols of ascension and affirmation. The columns have an integrated lighting system, and they stand out against the sky like chimneys spitting flames. This tribute artwork draws from Roussil’s formal repertoire; the undulating shapes resemble the slender points on the artwork La Grande Fonte (1973) and those in a grouping created for the Ville de Saint-Laurent in 1990. Working here in concrete, Roussil is able to create the same vibrancy that he had previously achieved with his artworks made of wood.
Associated events
René Lévesque was born on 24 August 1922 in Campbellton, New Brunswick. A war correspondent for the American army and a radio and television host, Lévesque decided to enter politics in 1960, when he was elected to the National Assembly of Québec for Liberal Party of Québec. He founded the Parti québécois in 1968 and was premier of Québec for nine years, from 1976 to 1985. In power, he adopted a number of reforms, notably concerning the funding of political parties and automobile insurance. Throughout his life, Lévesque was a tireless promoter of Québec independence. He died in Montréal on 1 November 1987.
Robert Roussil
A former member of the military, Robert Roussil (Montréal 1925–Tourettes-sur-Loup 2013) received his artistic education at the school of decorative arts and design at the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts (1945–46). His wood sculptures – habitable spheres and monumental modular structures – challenged, sometimes controversially, the function of public and private spaces.

Roussil participated in symposiums in Yugoslavia, Montréal, and Grenoble and produced numerous large-scale public art projects in Québec and abroad, including a sculpture park on the roof of a wastewater treatment plant in Saint-Laurent-du-Var, France.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1988
Mode of acquisition:
Transfer
Accession date
January 1 2002
Technique(s)
Moulded cement
Materials
Cement; stainless steel; glass, light
General dimensions
518 x 1829 x 457 cm
Hommage à René Lévesque
Borough
Lachine
Park
Parc René-Lévesque

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Hommage \u00e0 Ren\u00e9 L\u00e9vesque","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/hommage-a-rene-levesque\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/hommage-a-rene-levesque\/"}
Partager
Partager
Robert Roussil

Hommage à René Lévesque

1988
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Cette œuvre a été commandée au sculpteur Robert Roussil par la Ville de Lachine, dans le but de commémorer la carrière politique de René Lévesque. Installée au parc portant le nom de cet ancien premier ministre du Québec, elle regroupe neuf colonnes cylindriques en béton, montées sur des socles, qui témoignent des neuf années de l’homme politique à la tête du gouvernement québécois. Conçues pour être illuminées, ces colonnes sillonnent le ciel comme des cheminées crachant chacune une flamme. Ces flammes simulent des phares, symboles d’ascension et d’affirmation. Cette œuvre-hommage puise dans le répertoire formel fréquemment utilisé par Roussil. En effet, chaque colonne est couronnée d’un anneau de béton simulant des flammes ondulantes semblables aux pointes effilées de l’œuvre La Grande Fonte (1973) et à celles d’un ensemble créé pour la Ville de Saint-Laurent en 1990. Roussil parvient, avec du béton, à la même vibration qu’il avait réussie avec ses œuvres antérieures en bois.
Événements associés
René Lévesque naît le 24 août 1922 à Campbellton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Correspondant de guerre pour l'armée américaine et animateur de radio et de télévision, Lévesque décide de se lancer en politique en 1960, année où il est élu député à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, sous la bannière du Parti libéral du Québec. Il fonde le Parti québécois en 1968 et exerce les fonctions de premier ministre du Québec neuf années durant, soit de 1976 à 1985. Au pouvoir, il adopte plusieurs réformes, notamment, celles concernant le financement des partis politiques et l’assurance automobile. Lévesque sera, tout au long de sa vie, un ardent promoteur de l’indépendance du Québec. Il meurt à Montréal le 1er novembre 1987.
Robert Roussil
Ancien militaire, Robert Roussil (Montréal 1925 – Tourettes-sur-Loup 2013) reçoit sa formation artistique à l’école d’arts décoratifs et de design du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (1945-1946). Depuis, ses sculptures de bois, sphères habitables et structures monumentales à conception modulaire remettent en question, parfois de manière controversée, la fonction des espaces publics et privés.

Roussil a participé à plusieurs symposiums en Yougoslavie, à Montréal et à Grenoble et a réalisé de nombreux projets d’art public d’envergure au Québec et à l’étranger, dont l’aménagement d’un parc de sculptures sur le toit d'une usine d'épuration des eaux usées à Saint-Laurent-du-Var, France.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1988
Mode d'acquisition
Transfert
Date d'accession
1 janvier 2002
Technique(s)
Ciment moulé
Matériaux
Ciment; acier inoxydable; verre
Dimensions générales
518 x 1829 x 457 cm
Hommage à René Lévesque
Arrondissement
Lachine
Parc
Parc René-Lévesque