Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Le lion de Belfort","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/le-lion-de-belfort\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/le-lion-de-belfort\/"}
Share
Share
George William Hill

Le lion de Belfort

1897
Presentation of the artwork
This pink-granite fountain-monument is composed of a pedestal, with a lion lying on top of it. On the pedestal are engraved escutcheons celebrating events, inventions, and individuals who marked the reign of Queen Victoria: the first world’s fair, the telephone, the electric light bulb, Dickens, Darwin, and so on. A drinking fountain is also imbedded in the pedestal; the current fountain was reconstructed in 2009 on the model of the original fountain.

The lion symbolizes British strength and protection. This is a copy, at a scale of about 1:10, of the French sculptor August Bartholdi’s Lion de Belfort. The original artwork overlooks the Belfort citadel and measures 22 m in length and 11 m in height. Produced between 1875 and 1880, it is carved from the site’s red sandstone. The Montréal lion was George William Hill’s first public commission. The pedestal was designed by the architect Robert Findlay.
Associated events
Donated to the Ville de Montréal by the Sun Life Insurance Company on the occasion of Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee, the artwork was initially installed in Dorchester Square, near Boulevard René-Lévesque (then Dorchester Boulevard). In 1953, it had to make way for the Monument to Sir Wilfrid Laurier and was moved to within Dorchester Square, facing the Sun Life building on Rue Metcalfe. Queen Victoria’s reign lasted almost 63 years and remains the longest in the history of the United Kingdom. It was marked by great expansion of the British Empire and the industrial revolution. The period of her reign is also called the Victorian era.
George William Hill
George William Hill was born in Shipton, Eastern Townships, in 1862. He learned to carve marble in his father’s company, after he graduated from college. Between 1889 and 1894, he left Québec to study sculpting at the École nationale des beaux-arts and Académie Julian in Paris. When he returned to Montréal, he opened a studio and worked with the architect Robert Findlay and brothers Edward and William S. Maxwell. Known for his public monuments and war memorials, he is now considered one of the most important Canadian sculptors of the early twentieth century. The National Gallery of Canada, the Musée du Québec, and the Montréal Museum of Fine Art have artworks by him in their collections.
Presentation of the artwork
This pink-granite fountain-monument is composed of a pedestal, with a lion lying on top of it. On the pedestal are engraved escutcheons celebrating events, inventions, and individuals who marked the reign of Queen Victoria: the first world’s fair, the telephone, the electric light bulb, Dickens, Darwin, and so on. A drinking fountain is also imbedded in the pedestal; the current fountain was reconstructed in 2009 on the model of the original fountain.

The lion symbolizes British strength and protection. This is a copy, at a scale of about 1:10, of the French sculptor August Bartholdi’s Lion de Belfort. The original artwork overlooks the Belfort citadel and measures 22 m in length and 11 m in height. Produced between 1875 and 1880, it is carved from the site’s red sandstone. The Montréal lion was George William Hill’s first public commission. The pedestal was designed by the architect Robert Findlay.
Associated events
Donated to the Ville de Montréal by the Sun Life Insurance Company on the occasion of Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee, the artwork was initially installed in Dorchester Square, near Boulevard René-Lévesque (then Dorchester Boulevard). In 1953, it had to make way for the Monument to Sir Wilfrid Laurier and was moved to within Dorchester Square, facing the Sun Life building on Rue Metcalfe. Queen Victoria’s reign lasted almost 63 years and remains the longest in the history of the United Kingdom. It was marked by great expansion of the British Empire and the industrial revolution. The period of her reign is also called the Victorian era.
George William Hill
George William Hill was born in Shipton, Eastern Townships, in 1862. He learned to carve marble in his father’s company, after he graduated from college. Between 1889 and 1894, he left Québec to study sculpting at the École nationale des beaux-arts and Académie Julian in Paris. When he returned to Montréal, he opened a studio and worked with the architect Robert Findlay and brothers Edward and William S. Maxwell. Known for his public monuments and war memorials, he is now considered one of the most important Canadian sculptors of the early twentieth century. The National Gallery of Canada, the Musée du Québec, and the Montréal Museum of Fine Art have artworks by him in their collections.
Detail
Variation of title
La Fontaine de la Sun Life Assurance Company
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1897
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 1 1897
Technique(s)
Sculpted (granite); cast (bronze)
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
504 x 232 x 421 cm
Le lion de Belfort
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Square Dorchester

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Le lion de Belfort","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/le-lion-de-belfort\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/le-lion-de-belfort\/"}
Partager
Partager
George William Hill

Le lion de Belfort

1897
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Il s’agit d’un monument-fontaine en granit rosé composé d’un piédestal et d’un lion allongé à son sommet. Sur le piédestal se trouvent des écussons gravés célébrant des événements, des inventions et des individus qui ont marqué le règne de la reine Victoria : la première exposition universelle, le téléphone, la lumière électrique, Dickens, Darwin, etc. Une fontaine à boire est également encastrée dans le piédestal; la fontaine actuelle a été reconstituée en 2009 sur le modèle de la fontaine d’origine.

Le lion symbolise la force et le protectorat britannique. Il s’agit d’une copie, à l’échelle d’environ 1/10, du Lion de Belfort du sculpteur français Auguste Bartholdi. L'œuvre originale surplombe la citadelle de Belfort et mesure 22 m de long et 11 m de haut. Réalisée entre 1875 et 1880, elle est taillée à même le rocher de grès rouge du site. Le lion de Montréal constitue la première commande publique de George William Hill. Le piédestal a été dessiné par l’architecte Robert Findlay.
Événements associés
Offerte à la Ville de Montréal par la Sun Life Insurance Company à l’occasion du jubilé de diamant de la reine Victoria, l’œuvre est initialement installée au square Dorchester, près du boulevard René-Lévesque. En 1953, elle doit cependant faire place au Monument à Sir Wilfrid Laurier et est déplacée à l’intérieur du square Dorchester, en face de l’édifice Sun Life, en bordure de la rue Metcalfe. Le règne de la reine Victoria dura près de 63 ans et demeure le plus long de l’histoire du Royaume-Uni. Il fut marqué par une grande expansion de l’Empire britannique et la révolution industrielle. Ce règne est aussi appelé « ère victorienne ».
George William Hill
George William Hill est né à Shipton dans les Cantons-de-l’Est, en 1862. Il apprend à tailler le marbre à sa sortie du collège, au sein de l’entreprise de son père. Entre 1889 et 1894, il quitte le Québec pour étudier la sculpture à Paris, à l’École nationale des beaux-arts et à l’académie Julian. De retour à Montréal, il ouvre un atelier et collabore avec l’architecte Robert Findlay et les frères Edward et William S. Maxwell. Reconnu pour ses monuments publics et ses mémoriaux de guerre, il est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’un des sculpteurs canadiens les plus importants du tournant du XXe siècle. Le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, le Musée du Québec et le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal conservent de ses œuvres.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Il s’agit d’un monument-fontaine en granit rosé composé d’un piédestal et d’un lion allongé à son sommet. Sur le piédestal se trouvent des écussons gravés célébrant des événements, des inventions et des individus qui ont marqué le règne de la reine Victoria : la première exposition universelle, le téléphone, la lumière électrique, Dickens, Darwin, etc. Une fontaine à boire est également encastrée dans le piédestal; la fontaine actuelle a été reconstituée en 2009 sur le modèle de la fontaine d’origine.

Le lion symbolise la force et le protectorat britannique. Il s’agit d’une copie, à l’échelle d’environ 1/10, du Lion de Belfort du sculpteur français Auguste Bartholdi. L'œuvre originale surplombe la citadelle de Belfort et mesure 22 m de long et 11 m de haut. Réalisée entre 1875 et 1880, elle est taillée à même le rocher de grès rouge du site. Le lion de Montréal constitue la première commande publique de George William Hill. Le piédestal a été dessiné par l’architecte Robert Findlay.
Événements associés
Offerte à la Ville de Montréal par la Sun Life Insurance Company à l’occasion du jubilé de diamant de la reine Victoria, l’œuvre est initialement installée au square Dorchester, près du boulevard René-Lévesque. En 1953, elle doit cependant faire place au Monument à Sir Wilfrid Laurier et est déplacée à l’intérieur du square Dorchester, en face de l’édifice Sun Life, en bordure de la rue Metcalfe. Le règne de la reine Victoria dura près de 63 ans et demeure le plus long de l’histoire du Royaume-Uni. Il fut marqué par une grande expansion de l’Empire britannique et la révolution industrielle. Ce règne est aussi appelé « ère victorienne ».
George William Hill
George William Hill est né à Shipton dans les Cantons-de-l’Est, en 1862. Il apprend à tailler le marbre à sa sortie du collège, au sein de l’entreprise de son père. Entre 1889 et 1894, il quitte le Québec pour étudier la sculpture à Paris, à l’École nationale des beaux-arts et à l’académie Julian. De retour à Montréal, il ouvre un atelier et collabore avec l’architecte Robert Findlay et les frères Edward et William S. Maxwell. Reconnu pour ses monuments publics et ses mémoriaux de guerre, il est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’un des sculpteurs canadiens les plus importants du tournant du XXe siècle. Le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, le Musée du Québec et le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal conservent de ses œuvres.
Détails
Variation du titre
La Fontaine de la Sun Life Assurance Company
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1897
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 January 1897
Technique(s)
Sculpté (granite); coulé (bronze)
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
504 x 232 x 421 cm
Le lion de Belfort
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Square Dorchester