Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2018

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Parades Parures","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/parades-parures\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/parades-parures\/"}
Share
Share
Guy Bourassa

Parades Parures

1999
Presentation of the artwork
The artwork is composed of 14 boxes attached to the wall in two groups: one of ten boxes and one of four. The larger group is presented on the ground floor of the library, and the smaller group is in the basement, near the entrance to the children’s section. Each box, square in shape, has a wood frame. At the bottom is a piece of stretched coloured fabric on which is an aluminum plate into which a silhouette is cut out. A glass plate protects the grouping.

Each box presents the portrait of a fictional character, and together the boxes make a group portrait. The fabrics act as landscapes. They place the characters in an organic environment, but also place the landscape within the characters, as the cut-outs form negative images.

“The issue in my practice is the representation of the other – or, rather, the projection of the other in a hollow. The artworks are presented a little like ‘portraits in absence,’ in which the formal constructions take up the space of the wall or the floor.”
– Guy Bourassa
Associated events
The artwork was created on the occasion of construction of the Bibliothèque de Rivière-des-Prairies.
Guy Bourassa
Guy Bourassa lives and works in Montréal. His works have been in a number of solo exhibitions as well as group exhibitions, including the Canadian Biennial of Contemporary Art at the National Gallery of Canada in 1989, and Anni noventa at the Galleria d’Arte Moderna in Bologna, Italy, in 1991. In addition, his works are in the Art Bank of the Canada Council for the Arts, the collection of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, and many private collections.
Detail
Variation of title
Parades-parures
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Mixed Media
Collection name
Integration with architecture
Date completed
1999
Mode of acquisition:
Public commission from the Ville de Montréal (competition by invitation)
Accession date
January 1 1999
Materials
Fabric; aluminum; steel; wood; glass
General dimensions
574 x 81 x 10 cm
Manufacturer
  • Art Mûr
  • Anodisation Verdun Inc.
  • DELAC Inc.
  • Les Ateliers Lucifer
  • Metopoxy Inc.
  • Gagnon, Natali
Parades Parures
Borough
Rivière-des-Prairies–Pointe-aux-Trembles
Building
Bibliothèque Rivière-des-Prairies
Civic address
9001, boulevard Perras, Montréal, Québec H1E 3J7

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Parades Parures","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/parades-parures\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/parades-parures\/"}
Partager
Partager
Guy Bourassa

Parades Parures

1999
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L’œuvre est composée de 14 boîtiers accrochés au mur en deux groupes, un de dix et un de quatre. Le plus grand groupe est présenté au rez-de-chaussée de la bibliothèque, tandis que le plus petit groupe est exposé au sous-sol, près de l’entrée de la section des enfants. De forme carrée, chaque boîtier a un cadre en bois. Au fond est tendu un tissu coloré sur lequel se superpose une plaque d’aluminium où est découpée en négatif une silhouette. Une plaque de verre protège l’ensemble.

Chaque boîtier présente le portrait d’un personnage fictif, mais le regroupement des boîtiers en fait un portrait de groupe. Les tissus agissent comme des paysages. Ils inscrivent les personnages dans un environnement organique, mais inscrivent même le paysage à l’intérieur des personnages, puisque les découpes sont réalisées en négatif.

« L’enjeu de ma pratique est la représentation de l’autre ou plutôt sa projection en creux. Les œuvres se présentent un peu comme des “portraits en absence”, où les constructions formelles prennent l’espace du mur, du sol. »
– Guy Bourassa
Événements associés
L’œuvre a été réalisée à l’occasion de la construction de la bibliothèque de Rivière-des-Prairies.
Guy Bourassa
Guy Bourassa vit et travaille à Montréal. Il a à son actif plusieurs expositions individuelles et collectives, dont une participation à la Biennale canadienne d’art contemporain du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, en 1989, et une autre à l’exposition Anni noventa de la Galleria d’Arte Morderna de Bologne (Italie), en 1991. Ses œuvres font partie de la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des arts du Canada, de la collection du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal et de plusieurs collections privées.
Détails
Variation du titre
Parades-parures
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Techniques mixtes
Nom de la collection
Intégration à l'architecture
Date de fin de production
1999
Mode d'acquisition
Commande publique de la Ville de Montréal (Concours sur invitation)
Date d'accession
1 janvier 1999
Matériaux
Tissu; aluminium; acier; bois; verre
Dimensions générales
574 x 81 x 10 cm
Fabricants
  • Art Mûr
  • Anodisation Verdun Inc.
  • DELAC Inc.
  • Les Ateliers Lucifer
  • Metopoxy Inc.
  • Gagnon, Natali
Parades Parures
Arrondissement
Rivière-des-Prairies–Pointe-aux-Trembles
Bâtiment
Bibliothèque Rivière-des-Prairies
Adresse civique
9001, boulevard Perras, Montréal, Québec H1E 3J7