Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | The Passing Song","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/the-passing-song\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/the-passing-song\/"}
Share
Share
Catherine Widgery

The Passing Song

1992
Presentation of the artwork
A dome formed of steel pieces shaped like beaver pelts and organized in a swarm around an open central point is installed in René-Lévesque Park. Twelve masts anchored in the ground surround or support this structure, which is erected on a circle of slabs. On the slabs, maps of waterways used for trade in New France are represented in bas-relief.

The work’s motifs are inspired by history: the animal pelts in the hut evoke the fur trade, whereas the design on the slabs depicts the watercourses used for their transport.

Passing Song is inseparable from the experience that it provokes. It invites the public to take refuge under the dome, which amplifies the sound of the wind passing through it. Confronted with this enhanced sensorial reality, viewers paradoxically enter into contact with culture and history. In fact, “Passing Song” is a Cherokee expression that refers to the wind heard when a spirit leaves a person’s body to take flight in nature. The artwork refers to the invisible trace of this evanescent memory.
Associated events
Passing Song was first displayed at the first Salon international de la sculpture extérieure, an event organized by the Centre des arts contemporains du Québec à Montréal in 1992 for the 350th anniversary of the foundation of Montréal. With the theme “Aux quatre vents” (To the Four Winds), this exhibition of monumental and environmental sculptures brought together 12 artworks, created specially for the occasion, on the promenade of the Old Port of Montréal. At the end of the event, Widgery’s artwork was installed at its permanent site, in René-Lévesque Park in Lachine.
Catherine Widgery
Born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Catherine Widgery graduated from Yale University in 1975. Her sculptures beckon to the senses of viewers because of their integration of light and wind.

Widgery’s public art projects update the relationship between nature and human culture and encourage its integration with the environment. This is the case for Light Storm (2005), produced at the Mesa Arts Centre in Arizona, and Pass Through The Land (2001), in Denver, Colorado.
Awards and honours
  • premier prix pour Tidal Song, TGK 2012 International Competition, 2012
  • membre, Académie Royale des arts du Canada, 2002
  • Merit Award for excellence in design, The Advertising and Design Club of Canada for the, 1998
  • Cum Laude & Special Distinction in Fine Arts, Yale University, 1975
  • Walker Prize, Fine Arts Faculty, Yale University., 1975
Presentation of the artwork
A dome formed of steel pieces shaped like beaver pelts and organized in a swarm around an open central point is installed in René-Lévesque Park. Twelve masts anchored in the ground surround or support this structure, which is erected on a circle of slabs. On the slabs, maps of waterways used for trade in New France are represented in bas-relief.

The work’s motifs are inspired by history: the animal pelts in the hut evoke the fur trade, whereas the design on the slabs depicts the watercourses used for their transport.

Passing Song is inseparable from the experience that it provokes. It invites the public to take refuge under the dome, which amplifies the sound of the wind passing through it. Confronted with this enhanced sensorial reality, viewers paradoxically enter into contact with culture and history. In fact, “Passing Song” is a Cherokee expression that refers to the wind heard when a spirit leaves a person’s body to take flight in nature. The artwork refers to the invisible trace of this evanescent memory.
Associated events
Passing Song was first displayed at the first Salon international de la sculpture extérieure, an event organized by the Centre des arts contemporains du Québec à Montréal in 1992 for the 350th anniversary of the foundation of Montréal. With the theme “Aux quatre vents” (To the Four Winds), this exhibition of monumental and environmental sculptures brought together 12 artworks, created specially for the occasion, on the promenade of the Old Port of Montréal. At the end of the event, Widgery’s artwork was installed at its permanent site, in René-Lévesque Park in Lachine.
Catherine Widgery
Born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Catherine Widgery graduated from Yale University in 1975. Her sculptures beckon to the senses of viewers because of their integration of light and wind.

Widgery’s public art projects update the relationship between nature and human culture and encourage its integration with the environment. This is the case for Light Storm (2005), produced at the Mesa Arts Centre in Arizona, and Pass Through The Land (2001), in Denver, Colorado.
Awards and honours
  • premier prix pour Tidal Song, TGK 2012 International Competition, 2012
  • membre, Académie Royale des arts du Canada, 2002
  • Merit Award for excellence in design, The Advertising and Design Club of Canada for the, 1998
  • Cum Laude & Special Distinction in Fine Arts, Yale University, 1975
  • Walker Prize, Fine Arts Faculty, Yale University., 1975
Detail
Variation of title
Passing Song, The
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Installation
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1992
Mode of acquisition:
Transfer
Accession date
January 1 1992
Materials
Raw steel, concrete
General dimensions
456 x 744 cm
The Passing Song
Borough
Lachine
Park
Parc René-Lévesque

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | The Passing Song","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/the-passing-song\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/the-passing-song\/"}
Partager
Partager
Catherine Widgery

The Passing Song

1992
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Un dôme formé d’un motif de peaux de castor taillées dans l’acier et organisées en essaim autour d’un point central ouvert est installé au parc René-Lévesque. Douze mâts plantés au sol entourent ou supportent cette structure érigée sur des dalles de béton disposées en cercle. Sur ces dalles, des cartes de voies navigables utilisées en Nouvelle-France pour le commerce sont représentées en creux.

Les motifs de l’œuvre sont des témoignages de l’histoire : les peaux d’animaux de la hutte évoquent la traite des fourrures alors que le dessin des dalles rend compte des cours d’eau utilisés pour leur transport.

Par ailleurs, The Passing Song est inséparable de l’expérience qu’elle suscite. Elle invite le public à se réfugier sous cette coupole qui amplifie les bruits liés à la présence du vent et du spectateur. Ce dernier, ainsi confronté à une réalité sensorielle exacerbée, entre paradoxalement en contact avec la culture et l’histoire. En fait, « The Passing Song » est une expression Cherokee qui fait référence au vent que l’on entend lorsqu’un esprit quitte le corps de l’homme pour s’envoler dans la nature. La trace invisible de cette mémoire évanescente est ainsi rappelée par l’œuvre.
Événements associés
L’œuvre The Passing Song a d’abord été exposée au premier Salon international de la sculpture extérieure, un événement organisé par le Centre des arts contemporains du Québec à Montréal, pour le 350e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal, en 1992. Sous le thème « Aux quatre vents », cette exposition de sculptures monumentales et environnementales rassemblait sur la promenade du Vieux-Port de Montréal 12 œuvres créées spécialement pour l’occasion. À la fin de l’événement, l’œuvre de Widgery a été installée à son emplacement permanent, au parc René-Lévesque, à Lachine.
Catherine Widgery
Née à Pittsburg, Pennsylvanie, États-Unis, Catherine Widgery a obtenu son diplôme de l’université Yale en 1975. Depuis, ses sculptures interpellent les sens des spectateurs notamment par leur intégration de la lumière et du vent.

Ses projets d’art public actualisent quant à eux le rapport nature-culture de l’homme et favorise son intégration à l’environnement, comme c’est le cas pour Light Storm (2005), réalisé au centre des arts de Mesa en Arizona, et Pass Through The Land (2001), à Denver au Colorado.
Prix et distinctions
  • premier prix pour Tidal Song, TGK 2012 International Competition, 2012
  • membre, Académie Royale des arts du Canada, 2002
  • Merit Award for excellence in design, The Advertising and Design Club of Canada for the, 1998
  • Cum Laude & Special Distinction in Fine Arts, Yale University, 1975
  • Walker Prize, Fine Arts Faculty, Yale University., 1975
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Un dôme formé d’un motif de peaux de castor taillées dans l’acier et organisées en essaim autour d’un point central ouvert est installé au parc René-Lévesque. Douze mâts plantés au sol entourent ou supportent cette structure érigée sur des dalles de béton disposées en cercle. Sur ces dalles, des cartes de voies navigables utilisées en Nouvelle-France pour le commerce sont représentées en creux.

Les motifs de l’œuvre sont des témoignages de l’histoire : les peaux d’animaux de la hutte évoquent la traite des fourrures alors que le dessin des dalles rend compte des cours d’eau utilisés pour leur transport.

Par ailleurs, The Passing Song est inséparable de l’expérience qu’elle suscite. Elle invite le public à se réfugier sous cette coupole qui amplifie les bruits liés à la présence du vent et du spectateur. Ce dernier, ainsi confronté à une réalité sensorielle exacerbée, entre paradoxalement en contact avec la culture et l’histoire. En fait, « The Passing Song » est une expression Cherokee qui fait référence au vent que l’on entend lorsqu’un esprit quitte le corps de l’homme pour s’envoler dans la nature. La trace invisible de cette mémoire évanescente est ainsi rappelée par l’œuvre.
Événements associés
L’œuvre The Passing Song a d’abord été exposée au premier Salon international de la sculpture extérieure, un événement organisé par le Centre des arts contemporains du Québec à Montréal, pour le 350e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal, en 1992. Sous le thème « Aux quatre vents », cette exposition de sculptures monumentales et environnementales rassemblait sur la promenade du Vieux-Port de Montréal 12 œuvres créées spécialement pour l’occasion. À la fin de l’événement, l’œuvre de Widgery a été installée à son emplacement permanent, au parc René-Lévesque, à Lachine.
Catherine Widgery
Née à Pittsburg, Pennsylvanie, États-Unis, Catherine Widgery a obtenu son diplôme de l’université Yale en 1975. Depuis, ses sculptures interpellent les sens des spectateurs notamment par leur intégration de la lumière et du vent.

Ses projets d’art public actualisent quant à eux le rapport nature-culture de l’homme et favorise son intégration à l’environnement, comme c’est le cas pour Light Storm (2005), réalisé au centre des arts de Mesa en Arizona, et Pass Through The Land (2001), à Denver au Colorado.
Prix et distinctions
  • premier prix pour Tidal Song, TGK 2012 International Competition, 2012
  • membre, Académie Royale des arts du Canada, 2002
  • Merit Award for excellence in design, The Advertising and Design Club of Canada for the, 1998
  • Cum Laude & Special Distinction in Fine Arts, Yale University, 1975
  • Walker Prize, Fine Arts Faculty, Yale University., 1975
Détails
Variation du titre
Passing Song, The
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Installation
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1992
Mode d'acquisition
Transfert
Date d'accession
1 January 1992
Matériaux
Acier brut, béton
Dimensions générales
456 x 744 cm
The Passing Song
Arrondissement
Lachine
Parc
Parc René-Lévesque