Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Wind Boat","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/wind-boat\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/wind-boat\/"}
Share
Share
Catherine Widgery

Wind Boat

1990
Presentation of the artwork
Beside the promenade bordering the St. Lawrence, in LaSalle, rises a metal tower to which are attached a shape evoking a boat and a mechanism that uses the wind to turn four propeller blades.

Widgery took inspiration from one of the most important historical monuments in the borough, the large windmill built by William Fleming in 1927, to pay tribute to the area’s industrial heritage. The work also testifies, however, to LaSalle’s modern developments with this structure, which refers to the city’s engineering works – the nearby bridges and electricity pylons. The sculpture is therefore presented as a beacon to the coexistence of past and present.

This evocation of industrial development does not, however, exclude a more humanistic interpretation of the artwork. In Widgery’s view, “Like the old windmill today, the visual language of Wind Boat is more symbolic than literal. It also lends itself to multiple interpretations, including that illustrating the dilemma of the human condition: human thought opposed to intuitive impulses.” – Catherine Widgery, 1990 1.

1. “Catherine Widgery,” in Sculpture: Séduction 90: Le Rayonnement d’un Art dans Les Jardins Municipaux de la Communauté Urbaine de Montréal, ed. Janou Gagnon (Montréal: Conseil de la sculpture du Québec, 1990), 36 (our translation).
Associated events
The work was created during Sculpture: Séduction 90, an event that took place in 16 Montréal Urban Community parks from 15 June to 30 September 1990. Organized by the Conseil de la sculpture du Québec, its goal was to present “a permanent itinerary of large-format sculptures integrated with the environment of municipal parks.”
Catherine Widgery
Born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Catherine Widgery graduated from Yale University in 1975. Her sculptures beckon to the senses of viewers because of their integration of light and wind.

Widgery’s public art projects update the relationship between nature and human culture and encourage its integration with the environment. This is the case for Light Storm (2005), produced at the Mesa Arts Centre in Arizona, and Pass Through The Land (2001), in Denver, Colorado.
Awards and honours
  • premier prix pour Tidal Song, TGK 2012 International Competition, 2012
  • membre, Académie Royale des arts du Canada, 2002
  • Merit Award for excellence in design, The Advertising and Design Club of Canada for the, 1998
  • Cum Laude & Special Distinction in Fine Arts, Yale University, 1975
  • Walker Prize, Fine Arts Faculty, Yale University., 1975
Presentation of the artwork
Beside the promenade bordering the St. Lawrence, in LaSalle, rises a metal tower to which are attached a shape evoking a boat and a mechanism that uses the wind to turn four propeller blades.

Widgery took inspiration from one of the most important historical monuments in the borough, the large windmill built by William Fleming in 1927, to pay tribute to the area’s industrial heritage. The work also testifies, however, to LaSalle’s modern developments with this structure, which refers to the city’s engineering works – the nearby bridges and electricity pylons. The sculpture is therefore presented as a beacon to the coexistence of past and present.

This evocation of industrial development does not, however, exclude a more humanistic interpretation of the artwork. In Widgery’s view, “Like the old windmill today, the visual language of Wind Boat is more symbolic than literal. It also lends itself to multiple interpretations, including that illustrating the dilemma of the human condition: human thought opposed to intuitive impulses.” – Catherine Widgery, 1990 1.

1. “Catherine Widgery,” in Sculpture: Séduction 90: Le Rayonnement d’un Art dans Les Jardins Municipaux de la Communauté Urbaine de Montréal, ed. Janou Gagnon (Montréal: Conseil de la sculpture du Québec, 1990), 36 (our translation).
Associated events
The work was created during Sculpture: Séduction 90, an event that took place in 16 Montréal Urban Community parks from 15 June to 30 September 1990. Organized by the Conseil de la sculpture du Québec, its goal was to present “a permanent itinerary of large-format sculptures integrated with the environment of municipal parks.”
Catherine Widgery
Born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Catherine Widgery graduated from Yale University in 1975. Her sculptures beckon to the senses of viewers because of their integration of light and wind.

Widgery’s public art projects update the relationship between nature and human culture and encourage its integration with the environment. This is the case for Light Storm (2005), produced at the Mesa Arts Centre in Arizona, and Pass Through The Land (2001), in Denver, Colorado.
Awards and honours
  • premier prix pour Tidal Song, TGK 2012 International Competition, 2012
  • membre, Académie Royale des arts du Canada, 2002
  • Merit Award for excellence in design, The Advertising and Design Club of Canada for the, 1998
  • Cum Laude & Special Distinction in Fine Arts, Yale University, 1975
  • Walker Prize, Fine Arts Faculty, Yale University., 1975
Detail
Variation of title
Bateau à vent
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1990
Mode of acquisition:
Transfer
Accession date
January 1 2002
Technique(s)
Assembled; interlocked
Materials
Galvanized steel; aluminum
General dimensions
762 x 183 x 148 cm
Wind Boat
Borough
LaSalle
Park
Boulevard LaSalle

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2017

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Wind Boat","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/wind-boat\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/wind-boat\/"}
Partager
Partager
Catherine Widgery

Wind Boat

1990
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Sur la promenade du bord de l’eau jouxtant le Saint-Laurent, à LaSalle, est érigée une tour métallique traversée d’une forme rappelant un bateau et d’un dispositif faisant tournoyer au gré du vent les quatre pales d’une hélice.

Widgery s’inspire ici de l’un des monuments historiques les plus importants de l’arrondissement, l’imposant moulin à vent construit par William Fleming en 1927, pour rendre hommage à l’héritage industriel du lieu. L’œuvre témoigne cependant davantage des développements modernes de LaSalle par cette structure qui rappelle l’ingénierie de la ville, ses ponts environnants et ses pylônes d’électricité. De ce fait, la sculpture se présente comme un phare qui indique la présence conjointe du présent et du passé.

Cette évocation du développement industriel n’exclut pas pour autant une interprétation plus humaniste de l’œuvre. Ainsi, pour l’artiste, « comme le vieux moulin aujourd’hui, le langage visuel de Bateau à vent est plus symbolique que littéral. Il se prête également à de multiples interprétations dont celle de l’illustration du dilemme de la condition humaine, [soit] notre pensée humaine [qui] s’oppose à nos élans intuitifs » – Catherine Widgery, 1990 1.


1. « Catherine Widgery », dans Sculpture : Séduction 90 : Le Rayonnement D'un Art Dans Les Jardins Municipaux de la Communauté Urbaine de Montréal, sous la dir. de Janou Gagnon, Montréal, Conseil de la sculpture du Québec, 1990, p. 36.
Événements associés
L’œuvre a été créée à l’occasion de Sculpture : Séduction 90, événement qui a eu lieu du 15 juin au 30 septembre 1990 dans 16 parcs de la Communauté urbaine de Montréal. Organisé par le Conseil de la sculpture du Québec, il avait pour but de présenter « un parcours permanent de sculptures de grand format intégrées à l’environnement de parcs municipaux ».
Catherine Widgery
Née à Pittsburg, Pennsylvanie, États-Unis, Catherine Widgery a obtenu son diplôme de l’université Yale en 1975. Depuis, ses sculptures interpellent les sens des spectateurs notamment par leur intégration de la lumière et du vent.

Ses projets d’art public actualisent quant à eux le rapport nature-culture de l’homme et favorise son intégration à l’environnement, comme c’est le cas pour Light Storm (2005), réalisé au centre des arts de Mesa en Arizona, et Pass Through The Land (2001), à Denver au Colorado.
Prix et distinctions
  • premier prix pour Tidal Song, TGK 2012 International Competition, 2012
  • membre, Académie Royale des arts du Canada, 2002
  • Merit Award for excellence in design, The Advertising and Design Club of Canada for the, 1998
  • Cum Laude & Special Distinction in Fine Arts, Yale University, 1975
  • Walker Prize, Fine Arts Faculty, Yale University., 1975
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Sur la promenade du bord de l’eau jouxtant le Saint-Laurent, à LaSalle, est érigée une tour métallique traversée d’une forme rappelant un bateau et d’un dispositif faisant tournoyer au gré du vent les quatre pales d’une hélice.

Widgery s’inspire ici de l’un des monuments historiques les plus importants de l’arrondissement, l’imposant moulin à vent construit par William Fleming en 1927, pour rendre hommage à l’héritage industriel du lieu. L’œuvre témoigne cependant davantage des développements modernes de LaSalle par cette structure qui rappelle l’ingénierie de la ville, ses ponts environnants et ses pylônes d’électricité. De ce fait, la sculpture se présente comme un phare qui indique la présence conjointe du présent et du passé.

Cette évocation du développement industriel n’exclut pas pour autant une interprétation plus humaniste de l’œuvre. Ainsi, pour l’artiste, « comme le vieux moulin aujourd’hui, le langage visuel de Bateau à vent est plus symbolique que littéral. Il se prête également à de multiples interprétations dont celle de l’illustration du dilemme de la condition humaine, [soit] notre pensée humaine [qui] s’oppose à nos élans intuitifs » – Catherine Widgery, 1990 1.


1. « Catherine Widgery », dans Sculpture : Séduction 90 : Le Rayonnement D'un Art Dans Les Jardins Municipaux de la Communauté Urbaine de Montréal, sous la dir. de Janou Gagnon, Montréal, Conseil de la sculpture du Québec, 1990, p. 36.
Événements associés
L’œuvre a été créée à l’occasion de Sculpture : Séduction 90, événement qui a eu lieu du 15 juin au 30 septembre 1990 dans 16 parcs de la Communauté urbaine de Montréal. Organisé par le Conseil de la sculpture du Québec, il avait pour but de présenter « un parcours permanent de sculptures de grand format intégrées à l’environnement de parcs municipaux ».
Catherine Widgery
Née à Pittsburg, Pennsylvanie, États-Unis, Catherine Widgery a obtenu son diplôme de l’université Yale en 1975. Depuis, ses sculptures interpellent les sens des spectateurs notamment par leur intégration de la lumière et du vent.

Ses projets d’art public actualisent quant à eux le rapport nature-culture de l’homme et favorise son intégration à l’environnement, comme c’est le cas pour Light Storm (2005), réalisé au centre des arts de Mesa en Arizona, et Pass Through The Land (2001), à Denver au Colorado.
Prix et distinctions
  • premier prix pour Tidal Song, TGK 2012 International Competition, 2012
  • membre, Académie Royale des arts du Canada, 2002
  • Merit Award for excellence in design, The Advertising and Design Club of Canada for the, 1998
  • Cum Laude & Special Distinction in Fine Arts, Yale University, 1975
  • Walker Prize, Fine Arts Faculty, Yale University., 1975
Détails
Variation du titre
Bateau à vent
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1990
Mode d'acquisition
Transfert
Date d'accession
1 January 2002
Technique(s)
Assemblé; imbriqué
Matériaux
Acier galvanisé; aluminium
Dimensions générales
762 x 183 x 148 cm
Wind Boat
Arrondissement
LaSalle
Parc
Boulevard LaSalle