Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Une architecture d'air","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/une-architecture-dair\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/une-architecture-dair\/"}
Share
Share
Louise Viger

Une architecture d'air

2015
Presentation of the artwork
Installed on a round concrete base, the sculpture deploys twisting graphic layers representing a monumental wedding dress. This allegorical composition, made of sheets of steel mesh, is anchored to a central axis formed of tubes and crowned with a small red geometrical form evoking a corsage.

Situated at the entrance to the Parc Hector Prud’homme esplanade, the sculpture acts as a point of reference on Saint-Hubert Street. The effects of the light passing through the majestic silhouette confer a certain theatricality upon it: the shadows stretch on the ground with natural daylight, whereas the artificial evening light, lighting the red plane of the corsage, accentuates its status as a beacon within the promenade.

The narrative aspect of Une architecture d’air is induced both by the notion of contrast and as a metaphor inviting several levels of reading. For instance, a cold, rigid material is used to portray an object characterized by fluidity and lightness. The motif of the checkered pattern of the metallic mesh may evoke the urban fabric or the perpendicular configurations of Montreal streets.

In addition, Viger creates a historical dimension by creating a bridge between the neighbourhood’s current activity and the varied history of “Plaza Saint-Hubert.” By evoking its folklore, she preserves the memory of a mixed artery that seems to resist modernity.

“The title Une architecture d’air covers a range of observations that speak at once to the physiognomy of the place, the abundance of wedding dresses in the Plaza Saint-Hubert windows, and the essential vitality of the builders, releasing a diagonal force (of the past and future combined – H. Arendt), the perfect metaphor for a community here, a plaza, a neighbourhood, a public square, a city – which is precisely the stubborn will to endure. This is apparently the infinite resource of human beings.”
– L. VIGER
Associated events
The public art competition launched in 2014, as part of the Plan de développement durable de la collectivité montréalaise 2010-2015, had the goal of personalizing and energizing a sector of the Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie Borough, thus completing redevelopment of Place Hector Prud’homme, situated in the heart of Saint-Hubert Street.
Louise Viger
Louise Viger lives and works in Montreal. She holds a bachelor’s degree in visual arts from Université Laval (1978) and an MFA from Concordia University (1986). Since 1980, Viger has produced many sculptural works of public art and numerous installations in which she links poetry, music, and dance to the visual arts. In addition, she has had work in exhibitions in Canada and the United States, including one at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal in 2000. Her approach has been cited in major books on the history of Quebec art.
Awards and honours
  • Bourse Volet production, Conseil des arts du Canada, 2012
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, 2008
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 2004
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 2002
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 1999
  • Bourse B, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, 1991
  • Bourse de projet, Conseil des arts du Canada, 1990
Presentation of the artwork
Installed on a round concrete base, the sculpture deploys twisting graphic layers representing a monumental wedding dress. This allegorical composition, made of sheets of steel mesh, is anchored to a central axis formed of tubes and crowned with a small red geometrical form evoking a corsage.

Situated at the entrance to the Parc Hector Prud’homme esplanade, the sculpture acts as a point of reference on Saint-Hubert Street. The effects of the light passing through the majestic silhouette confer a certain theatricality upon it: the shadows stretch on the ground with natural daylight, whereas the artificial evening light, lighting the red plane of the corsage, accentuates its status as a beacon within the promenade.

The narrative aspect of Une architecture d’air is induced both by the notion of contrast and as a metaphor inviting several levels of reading. For instance, a cold, rigid material is used to portray an object characterized by fluidity and lightness. The motif of the checkered pattern of the metallic mesh may evoke the urban fabric or the perpendicular configurations of Montreal streets.

In addition, Viger creates a historical dimension by creating a bridge between the neighbourhood’s current activity and the varied history of “Plaza Saint-Hubert.” By evoking its folklore, she preserves the memory of a mixed artery that seems to resist modernity.

“The title Une architecture d’air covers a range of observations that speak at once to the physiognomy of the place, the abundance of wedding dresses in the Plaza Saint-Hubert windows, and the essential vitality of the builders, releasing a diagonal force (of the past and future combined – H. Arendt), the perfect metaphor for a community here, a plaza, a neighbourhood, a public square, a city – which is precisely the stubborn will to endure. This is apparently the infinite resource of human beings.”
– L. VIGER
Associated events
The public art competition launched in 2014, as part of the Plan de développement durable de la collectivité montréalaise 2010-2015, had the goal of personalizing and energizing a sector of the Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie Borough, thus completing redevelopment of Place Hector Prud’homme, situated in the heart of Saint-Hubert Street.
Louise Viger
Louise Viger lives and works in Montreal. She holds a bachelor’s degree in visual arts from Université Laval (1978) and an MFA from Concordia University (1986). Since 1980, Viger has produced many sculptural works of public art and numerous installations in which she links poetry, music, and dance to the visual arts. In addition, she has had work in exhibitions in Canada and the United States, including one at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal in 2000. Her approach has been cited in major books on the history of Quebec art.
Awards and honours
  • Bourse Volet production, Conseil des arts du Canada, 2012
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, 2008
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 2004
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 2002
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 1999
  • Bourse B, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, 1991
  • Bourse de projet, Conseil des arts du Canada, 1990
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
2015
Mode of acquisition:
Technique(s)
Casting; welding; electrostatic painting; assemblage
Materials
Metal, steel; concrete; paint; light
General dimensions
2,85 x 2 m
Manufacturer
  • Girard, Olivier / LGL
  • Filteau, Éric / MO architecture et Design Workshop
  • Trudel, Yvan / Technolite
Une architecture d'air
Borough
Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie
Park
Place Hector Prud'Homme
Civic address
Place Hector-Prud'Homme (6033 rue Saint-Hubert)

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Une architecture d'air","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/une-architecture-dair\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/une-architecture-dair\/"}
Partager
Partager
Louise Viger

Une architecture d'air

2015
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Installée sur un socle cylindrique de béton, la sculpture déploie, en torsion circulaire, les pans graphiques d’une robe de mariée monumentale. Cette composition allégorique, composée de feuilles d’acier ajourées, est arrimée à un axe central tubulaire, couronné d’une forme géométrique évoquant un petit corsage rouge.

Située à l’entrée de l’esplanade du parc Hector Prud’homme, la sculpture agit comme point de repère sur la rue Saint-Hubert. Les effets lumineux qui s’échappent de la silhouette souveraine lui confèrent une certaine théâtralité : les ombres s’allongent au sol sous la lumière naturelle du jour, tandis que la lumière artificielle du soir, éclairant le plan rouge du corsage, accentue son statut de phare au cœur de la promenade.

L’aspect narratif d’Une architecture d’air est induit par l'artiste, à la fois par la notion de contraste qu’elle convoque et un dispositif métaphorique permettant de déceler plusieurs niveaux de lecture. Ainsi, la froideur et la rigidité du matériau sont mises au service d’un objet caractérisé par sa fluidité et sa légèreté. Le motif du damier, contenu dans le treillis métallique, pour sa part, évoquerait le tissu urbain ou la configuration perpendiculaire des rues de Montréal.

De plus, Louise Viger enrichit l’œuvre d’une dimension historique en créant un pont entre l’activité actuelle du quartier et l’histoire de la « Plaza Saint-Hubert », dont le caractère hétéroclite a traversé les âges. En évoquant son folklore, l’artiste préserve la mémoire d’une artère métissée semblant résister à une certaine modernité.

« Sous le titre Une architecture d’air s’inscrit une gamme d’observations qui interpellent tout à la fois la physionomie du lieu, l’abondance des robes de mariée en vitrine sur la Plaza Saint-Hubert et l’essentielle vitalité des bâtisseurs, d’où se dégagerait une force diagonale (du passé et du futur conjugués,- H. ARENDT) – métaphore parfaite pour une communauté, ici, une Plaza, un quartier, une place, une ville – qui n’est autre que l’obstination du projet de durer. Telle serait l’infinie ressource de l’humain. »
– L. VIGER
Événements associés
En vertu du Plan de développement durable de la collectivité montréalaise 2010-2015, le concours d’art public, lancé en 2014, avait pour but de personnaliser et de dynamiser un secteur de l’arrondissement de Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie, complétant ainsi le réaménagement de la place Hector Prud’homme sise au cœur de la rue Saint-Hubert.
Louise Viger
Louise Viger vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université Laval (1978) ainsi qu’une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia (1986). Depuis 1980, l’artiste a réalisé plusieurs œuvres sculpturales d’art public et de nombreuses installations dans lesquelles elle lie poésie, musique et danse aux arts visuels. De plus, elle a participé à plusieurs expositions au Canada et aux États-Unis, dont une au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal en 2000. La démarche de l’artiste a été citée dans d’importants ouvrages d’histoire de l’art au Québec.
Prix et distinctions
  • Bourse Volet production, Conseil des arts du Canada, 2012
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, 2008
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 2004
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 2002
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 1999
  • Bourse B, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, 1991
  • Bourse de projet, Conseil des arts du Canada, 1990
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Installée sur un socle cylindrique de béton, la sculpture déploie, en torsion circulaire, les pans graphiques d’une robe de mariée monumentale. Cette composition allégorique, composée de feuilles d’acier ajourées, est arrimée à un axe central tubulaire, couronné d’une forme géométrique évoquant un petit corsage rouge.

Située à l’entrée de l’esplanade du parc Hector Prud’homme, la sculpture agit comme point de repère sur la rue Saint-Hubert. Les effets lumineux qui s’échappent de la silhouette souveraine lui confèrent une certaine théâtralité : les ombres s’allongent au sol sous la lumière naturelle du jour, tandis que la lumière artificielle du soir, éclairant le plan rouge du corsage, accentue son statut de phare au cœur de la promenade.

L’aspect narratif d’Une architecture d’air est induit par l'artiste, à la fois par la notion de contraste qu’elle convoque et un dispositif métaphorique permettant de déceler plusieurs niveaux de lecture. Ainsi, la froideur et la rigidité du matériau sont mises au service d’un objet caractérisé par sa fluidité et sa légèreté. Le motif du damier, contenu dans le treillis métallique, pour sa part, évoquerait le tissu urbain ou la configuration perpendiculaire des rues de Montréal.

De plus, Louise Viger enrichit l’œuvre d’une dimension historique en créant un pont entre l’activité actuelle du quartier et l’histoire de la « Plaza Saint-Hubert », dont le caractère hétéroclite a traversé les âges. En évoquant son folklore, l’artiste préserve la mémoire d’une artère métissée semblant résister à une certaine modernité.

« Sous le titre Une architecture d’air s’inscrit une gamme d’observations qui interpellent tout à la fois la physionomie du lieu, l’abondance des robes de mariée en vitrine sur la Plaza Saint-Hubert et l’essentielle vitalité des bâtisseurs, d’où se dégagerait une force diagonale (du passé et du futur conjugués,- H. ARENDT) – métaphore parfaite pour une communauté, ici, une Plaza, un quartier, une place, une ville – qui n’est autre que l’obstination du projet de durer. Telle serait l’infinie ressource de l’humain. »
– L. VIGER
Événements associés
En vertu du Plan de développement durable de la collectivité montréalaise 2010-2015, le concours d’art public, lancé en 2014, avait pour but de personnaliser et de dynamiser un secteur de l’arrondissement de Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie, complétant ainsi le réaménagement de la place Hector Prud’homme sise au cœur de la rue Saint-Hubert.
Louise Viger
Louise Viger vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université Laval (1978) ainsi qu’une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia (1986). Depuis 1980, l’artiste a réalisé plusieurs œuvres sculpturales d’art public et de nombreuses installations dans lesquelles elle lie poésie, musique et danse aux arts visuels. De plus, elle a participé à plusieurs expositions au Canada et aux États-Unis, dont une au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal en 2000. La démarche de l’artiste a été citée dans d’importants ouvrages d’histoire de l’art au Québec.
Prix et distinctions
  • Bourse Volet production, Conseil des arts du Canada, 2012
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, 2008
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 2004
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 2002
  • Bourse A, Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec, 1999
  • Bourse B, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, 1991
  • Bourse de projet, Conseil des arts du Canada, 1990
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
2015
Mode d'acquisition
Commande de la Ville de Montréal
Technique(s)
Coulage; soudure; peinture électrostatique; assemblage;
Matériaux
Metal, acier; beton; peinture; lumière
Dimensions générales
2,85 x 2
Fabricants
  • Girard, Olivier / LGL
  • Filteau, Éric / MO architecture et Design Workshop
  • Trudel, Yvan / Technolite
Une architecture d'air
Arrondissement
Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie
Parc
Place Hector Prud'Homme
Adresse civique
Place Hector-Prud'Homme (6033 rue Saint-Hubert)