Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Vortexit II","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/vortexit-ii\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/vortexit-ii\/"}
Share
Share
Bill Vazan

Vortexit II

2009
Presentation of the artwork
In the spirit of its predecessor, Vortexit II maintains an unusual relationship with its environment. Between Lake St. Louis and the Lachine Canal, two series of natural rocks of increasing size are placed at the edge of a curving path and converging at an edicule, composed of three pillars and two lintels, through which passersby can cross.

The word “vortex” describes whirlpools that fluids create when they flow, and the title of the artwork emphasizes the many references to movement in the artwork. Curves, zigzags, and spirals engraved into the stone by sandblasting, evoke, for example, the movement of the nearby river that is historically associated with the development of Montréal. The curving path refers to viewers’ wanderings through the space.

The central edicule is in the form of a dolmen, a prehistoric monument made from two vertical rocks and one horizontal rock forming a shelter. Like a rite of passage, the dolmen encourages opening and favours the integration of human beings with their environment. Vortexit II thus traces the path of a prehistoric memory to be revealed.

This large artwork, inseparable from its site of exhibition and made from natural materials, is related to land art, an American and European art current initiated in the late 1960s. Land art expresses the desire to take art out of the museum by proposing interventions in outdoor sites. This artwork is unusual because it is easily accessible, whereas traditionally land-art works have been destroyed or are in sites that are difficult to access.
Associated events
Vortexit II is installed at the exact site of Voxtexit, a work that Vazan created during the Symposium de sculpture “Un lieu” in 1988. Organized by the Centre des arts contemporains du Québec à Montréal, the symposium held in Lachine brought six new works into the Lachine borough collection. Irreparably damaged, Vortexit was dismantled in 2009 to make way for the new work that the Ville de Montréal commissioned from the artist.
Bill Vazan
Born in Toronto, Bill Vazan is a multidisciplinary artist who has lived and worked in Montréal since 1957. He received his education at the Ontario College of Art in Toronto, the École des beaux-arts de Paris, and Sir George Williams University in Montréal.

Vazan was the first Canadian artist to devote himself to the production of land art in Canada. Many of his artworks are in Québec, including Outikan Meskina in Chicoutimi (1980) and Réduire in Mont-Tremblant (2003), and abroad, including Pierre ardente in Israel (1987) and Worldworks in Chile (2005).
Awards and honours
  • Prix Paul-Émile Borduas, 2010
  • membre de l'Académie Royale des Arts du Canada, 2004
Detail
Variation of title
Vortexit 2
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
2009
Mode of acquisition:
Commission from the artist
Accession date
February 9 2009
Technique(s)
Assembled; engraved; attached
Materials
Granite; gravel
General dimensions
270 x 1050 x 1440 cm
Manufacturer
  • Vallée, G. L. / Les granits Montval
Vortexit II
Borough
Lachine
Park
Parc René-Lévesque

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Vortexit II","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/vortexit-ii\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/vortexit-ii\/"}
Partager
Partager
Bill Vazan

Vortexit II

2009
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Reprenant l’esprit de la première œuvre, Vortexit II entretient une relation particulière avec son environnement. Entre le lac Saint-Louis et le canal de Lachine, deux séries de pierres naturelles de dimensions croissantes disposées le long d’un sentier courbe convergent vers un édicule, composé de trois piliers et de deux linteaux, que l’on peut traverser.

Le mot vortex désigne les tourbillons que produisent les fluides lorsqu’ils sont en écoulement, ainsi le titre de l’œuvre souligne les nombreuses références au mouvement dans l’œuvre. Les sillons courbes, zigzagués ou spiralés, sur la pierre gravée au jet de sable évoquent, par exemple, le mouvement du cours d’eau situé à proximité et historiquement lié au développement de Montréal. Pour sa part, le sentier en serpentin appelle au déplacement sinueux du spectateur dans l’espace.

Le passage central reprend quant à lui la forme d’un dolmen, monument préhistorique fabriqué à partir de deux pierres verticales et d’une pierre horizontale formant un abri. Tel un rite de passage, le dolmen incite à l’ouverture et favorise l’intégration de l’homme à son environnement. Vortexit II trace ainsi le chemin d’une mémoire préhistorique à révéler.

Cette œuvre de grand format, inséparable de son lieu d’exposition et faite à partir de matériaux naturels, peut être affiliée au land art. Ce courant américain et européen initié à la fin des années 1960 est caractérisé par la volonté de sortir l’art des musées en proposant des interventions sur des sites extérieurs. L’œuvre tient cependant sa particularité du fait qu’elle est facilement accessible, alors que traditionnellement les œuvres du land art ont été détruites ou se trouvent dans des lieux difficiles d’accès.
Événements associés
La pièce Vortexit II est installée à l’emplacement exact où se trouvait Voxtexit, une œuvre de Vazan créée pendant le Symposium de sculpture « Un lieu » en 1988. Organisé par le Centre des arts contemporains du Québec à Montréal, ce dernier symposium tenu à Lachine a permis de doter la collection de l’arrondissement de Lachine de six nouvelles œuvres. Irrémédiablement endommagée, Vortexit a été cependant démantelée en 2009 pour faire place à la nouvelle œuvre commandée par la Ville de Montréal à l’artiste.
Bill Vazan
Né à Toronto, Bill Vazan est un artiste pluridisciplinaire qui vit et travaille à Montréal depuis 1957. Il a obtenu sa formation au Ontario College of Art de Toronto, à l’École des beaux-arts de Paris et à l'Université Sir George Williams de Montréal.

Vazan est l’artiste canadien qui s’est consacré le plus longtemps à la production de land art au Canada. Plusieurs de ses pièces se trouvent sur le territoire québécois, dont Outikan Meskina à Chicoutimi, en 1980, et Réduire à Mont-Tremblant, en 2003, de même qu’à l’étranger, comme Pierre ardente en Israël, en 1987, et Worldworks au Chili, en 2005.
Prix et distinctions
  • Prix Paul-Émile Borduas, 2010
  • membre de l'Académie Royale des Arts du Canada, 2004
Détails
Variation du titre
Vortexit 2
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
2009
Mode d'acquisition
Commande à l'artiste
Date d'accession
9 February 2009
Technique(s)
Assemblé; gravé; fixé
Matériaux
Granit; gravier
Dimensions générales
270 x 1050 x 1440 cm
Fabricants
  • Vallée, G. L. / Les granits Montval
Vortexit II
Arrondissement
Lachine
Parc
Parc René-Lévesque