Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | After Babel, a Civic Square","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/after-babel-a-civic-square\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/after-babel-a-civic-square\/"}
Share
Share
Marlene Hilton-Moore, John McEwen

After Babel, a Civic Square

1993
Presentation of the artwork
McEwen and Hilton-Moore’s artwork is composed of two columns and a silhouette of a dog. At the top of the bronze column and the steel column are, respectively, a mask with an ear toward the ground and another dog silhouette. The three elements face a high-traffic crossroads in the Quartier des spectacles.

The intention of After Babel, a Civic Square is to go beyond the limitations of verbal communication. Speech is necessarily useless in communication between people and animals; it must give way to gestures or other modes of expression. The idea of the “square” therefore becomes meaningful. In this space defined as a site ruled by a principle of equality, humans are freed from the tyranny of words. In McEwen’s view, the sculptural grouping “creates a form of freedom between languages by emphasizing vocabularies of silence that allow communication without words.”

The artwork is situated at the juncture of the two artists’ respective visual languages. Whereas McEwen is interested in bringing together antithetical elements around themes such as communication, freedom, and the gaze, Hilton-Moore explores the relationships between the body and space.
Associated events
McEwen and Hilton-Moore’s installation sculpture was a gift from the city of Toronto for Montréal’s 350th anniversary and the event “Toronto fête Montréal.” After Babel, a Civic Square was chosen following a competition by invitation and installed in 1993 where the Quartier des spectacles is currently situated.
Marlene Hilton-Moore
Marlene Hilton-Moore is a self-taught artist born in New Brunswick and living in Ontario. Her work is in numerous collections, including the Canada Council for the Arts’ Art Bank and the Wilfrid Laurier University collection. She has also produced a number of works of public art, including Monument aux Valeureux in Ottawa and Column of Valour, a monument dedicated to volunteer firefighters in Barrie, Ontario.
Awards and honours
  • Sculpture Award, Dimensional Diversions, The Latcham Gallery, 1986
  • Purchase award, Michael Starr Building, Oshawa, 1982
  • Best Painting, Members '82, Whitby Arts Inc., 1982
John McEwen
John McEwen is an Ontario artist who was received his education at McMaster University (1965) and the Ontario College of Art (1966–70). Known for his interventions in the public space, he has created Ballad of Ice and Water in Toronto (2008–09), River as Thread, Canoe as Needle at the Canadian embassy in Berlin (2004), and Speaker’s Circle, an artwork offered to Australia for its centenary by Canada (2004). McEwen’s work has also been on display at the Sydney Biennale and the Utsukushigahara Open-Air Museum in Japan.
Awards and honours
  • Doctorate of Fines Arts, Unitversity of Lethbridge (Alberta), 2007
Detail
Variation of title
After Babel After Babel / A Civic Square After Babel (a civic square)
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Installation
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1993
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
March 26 1997
Technique(s)
Assembled; welded; cut out; cast
Materials
Corten steel; bronze; brass
General dimensions
450 x 1000 cm
Manufacturer
  • C. Ricci & fils
  • Barrie Welding & Machine Ltd
  • Skara Metal Foundries
  • Hillsdale Ironworks
After Babel, a Civic Square
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Promenade des artistes

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | After Babel, a Civic Square","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/after-babel-a-civic-square\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/after-babel-a-civic-square\/"}
Partager
Partager
Marlene Hilton-Moore, John McEwen

After Babel, a Civic Square

1993
Présentation de l'oeuvre
La proposition de McEwen et Hilton-Moore est composée de deux colonnes et d’une silhouette canine. Au sommet de la colonne de bronze et de celle d’acier se trouvent respectivement un masque tendant l’oreille vers le sol et une silhouette animale. Les trois éléments se font face dans un carrefour achalandé du Quartier des spectacles.

After Babel, a Civic Square a pour but d’affranchir le lieu des limites de la communication verbale. Entre l’homme et l’animal, la parole est nécessairement obsolète; elle doit laisser place au geste ou à d’autres modes d’expression. Le « square » prend alors tout son sens. Dans cet espace défini comme un lieu régi par un principe d’égalité, l’homme est libéré de la tyrannie du mot. Pour McEwen, l’ensemble sculptural « crée une forme de libération entre les langues en insistant sur ces vocabulaires du silence qui permettent de communiquer sans la parole ».

L’œuvre se situe à la rencontre du langage plastique des deux auteurs. Alors que McEwen privilégie le rassemblement d’éléments antithétiques autour de thèmes comme la communication, la liberté et le regard, Hilton Moore s’interroge sur les rapports entre le corps et l’espace.
Événements associés
La sculpture-installation de McEwen et de Hilton-Moore a été offerte par la ville de Toronto, à l’occasion du 350e anniversaire de Montréal et de l'événement « Toronto fête Montréal ». L’œuvre After Babel, a Civic Square a été choisie à la suite d’un concours sur invitation et installée en 1993 à l’endroit où se trouve actuellement le Quartier des spectacles.
Marlene Hilton-Moore
Marlene Hilton-Moore est une artiste autodidacte résidant en Ontario, mais originaire du Nouveau-Brunswick. Son travail est représenté dans de nombreuses collections, dont celles de la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des Arts du Canada et celle de la Wilfrid Laurier University. Elle a également réalisé plusieurs œuvres d’art public, comme Monument aux Valeureux à Ottawa et Column of Valour, monument dédié aux pompiers volontaires de Barrie en Ontario.
Prix et distinctions
  • Sculpture Award, Dimensional Diversions, The Latcham Gallery, 1986
  • Purchase award, Michael Starr Building, Oshawa, 1982
  • Best Painting, Members '82, Whitby Arts Inc., 1982
John McEwen
John McEwen est un artiste ontarien ayant reçu sa formation à la McMaster University (1965) et au Ontario College of Art (1966-1970). Reconnu pour ses interventions dans l’espace public, il a notamment créé Ballad of Ice and Water à Toronto (2008-2009), River as Thread, Canoe as Needle à l’ambassade du Canada à Berlin (2004) et Speaker’s Circle, une œuvre offerte à l’Australie pour son centenaire par le Canada (2004). Son travail a également été exposé à la Biennale de Sidney et au Musée en plein air d’Utsukushigahara au Japon.
Prix et distinctions
  • Doctorate of Fines Arts, Unitversity of Lethbridge (Alberta), 2007
Détails
Variation du titre
After Babel After Babel / A Civic Square After Babel (a civic square)
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Installation
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1993
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
26 mars 1997
Technique(s)
Assemblé; soudé; découpé; moulé
Matériaux
Acier corten; bronze; laiton
Dimensions générales
450 x 1000 cm
Fabricants
  • C. Ricci & fils
  • Barrie Welding & Machine Ltd
  • Skara Metal Foundries
  • Hillsdale Ironworks
After Babel, a Civic Square
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Promenade des artistes