Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2018

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Buste de Jos\u00e9 de San Martin","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/buste-de-jose-de-san-martin\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/buste-de-jose-de-san-martin\/"}
Share
Share
Carlos Maria Toto

Buste de José de San Martin

2000
Presentation of the artwork
The monument in the centre of Parc Hector-Toe-Blake, not far from the footpath, faces the Buste de Simón Bolívar. The choice of a single downtown site for the effigies of the two heroes was intended to create an easily accessible gathering place for Montréal’s Latin American community.

The monument is composed of a bronze bust of the likeness of José de San Martín placed directly on a truncated sandstone column on which is engraved historical information about the general’s exploits. The top of the column is unfinished and unpolished.
Associated events
After the monument to Simón Bolívar was reinstalled, the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires wanted to bring together at a single site, as is traditionally done, the monuments to the two great liberators of South America by offering a bust of General José de San Martín to the Ville de Montréal. The donation took place in 2000 to celebrate the 150th anniversary of General San Martín’s death. Born in Argentina in 1778, José de San Martín is famous for having liberated Argentina, Chile, and Peru from foreign domination.
Carlos Maria Toto
A sculptor and conservator of Argentine artworks, Carlos Maria Toto studied at various fine arts schools in Buenos Aires. He has produced numerous busts and monuments presented in public spaces in Buenos Aires, and, since 1991, he has been director of the Dirección de Monumentos y Obras de Arte del Gobierno de la Ciudad de Buenos Aires (Department of monuments and artworks for the city government of Buenos Aires).
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
2000
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Technique(s)
Iron cast in the cire perdue method
Materials
Bronze; Sandstone
General dimensions
276 x 105.5 x 95 cm
Manufacturer
  • Bernard, Claude / Formaviva Inc.
  • Dirección de Monumentos y Obras de Arte del Gobierno de la Ciudad de Buenos Aires
Buste de José de San Martin
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc Hector-Toe-Blake

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Buste de Jos\u00e9 de San Martin","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/buste-de-jose-de-san-martin\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/buste-de-jose-de-san-martin\/"}
Partager
Partager
Carlos Maria Toto

Buste de José de San Martin

2000
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Le monument est situé au centre du parc Hector-Toe-Blake, non loin de l'allée piétonnière, et fait face au Buste de Simón Bolívar. Le choix d'un emplacement unique pour les deux héros, au centre-ville, avait pour but de créer un lieu de rassemblement facile d’accès pour la communauté latino-américaine de Montréal.

Le monument se compose d’un buste de bronze à l'effigie de José de San Martín déposé directement sur une colonne de grès tronquée sur laquelle sont gravés des renseignements historiques relatifs aux exploits du général. Le sommet de la colonne conserve un aspect brut, non poli.
Événements associés
Après la réinstallation du monument à Simón Bolívar, la ville autonome de Buenos Aires a souhaité réunir en un même lieu, comme le veut la tradition, les monuments des deux grands libérateurs de l’Amérique du Sud, en offrant un buste du général José de San Martín à la Ville de Montréal. Le don a eu lieu à l’an 2000 pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire de la mort du général San Martín. Né en 1778, en Argentine, José de San Martín est reconnu pour avoir libéré l’Argentine, le Chili et le Pérou de la domination étrangère.
Carlos Maria Toto
Sculpteur et conservateur d’œuvres d’art argentin, Carlos Maria Toto a fait ses études dans diverses écoles des beaux-arts à Buenos Aires. Il a réalisé de nombreux bustes et monuments présentés dans les espaces publics de Buenos Aires et, depuis 1991, il est responsable de la Dirección de Monumentos y Obras de Arte del Gobierno de la Ciudad de Buenos Aires (Direction des monuments et œuvres d’art de la ville de Buenos Aires).
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
2000
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Technique(s)
Fonte à la cire perdue
Matériaux
Bronze; Grès
Dimensions générales
276 x 105.5 x 95 cm
Fabricants
  • Bernard, Claude / Formaviva Inc.
  • Dirección de Monumentos y Obras de Arte del Gobierno de la Ciudad de Buenos Aires
Buste de José de San Martin
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc Hector-Toe-Blake