Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2018

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Buste de Simon Bolivar","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/buste-de-simon-bolivar\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/buste-de-simon-bolivar\/"}
Share
Share
Vital Dubray

Buste de Simon Bolivar

1991
Presentation of the artwork
Donated by the government of Venezuela to the Ville de Montréal, the monument was relocated in 1996 from Parc Percy-Walter to Parc Hector-Toe-Blake, in order to underline the contributions of the different Latin American communities established in Montréal. Composed of a base of grey granite and a bronze bust, it commemorates Simón Bolívar, South American general and statesman, as well as the independence of Venezuela, which took place in 1829. The waist-length bust, without arms, is the second one to sit on the monument, as the first bust was stolen in 1986. Cast in 1991 by the Fundición Artística La Fortaleza, it is a copy of the artwork by French sculptor Vital Dubray. The original work is conserved in Bueno Aires.
Associated events
The monument commemorates Simón Bolívar and the independence of Venezuela, which occurred in 1829. Simón Bolívar was born in Caracas, Venezuela, in 1783. After studying in Europe, he was converted to the Napoleonic revolutionary ideal and vowed to liberate South America of its Spanish colonizers. He won his first victory in 1818 and gradually liberated Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, and Panama. He hoped to form a union bringing together South America, Central America and Mexico. He died in 1830 without having achieved this grand objective.
Vital Dubray
Gabriel-Vital Dubray (Paris 1813–92), known as Vital Dubray, studied sculpture with Jules Ramey. Under the Empire, he produced numerous works, including the sculpture of Jeanne Hachette for the town-hall square in Beauvais, France. His works are included in the collections of the Musée d’Orsay, the Musée du Louvre, and the Musée national des châteaux de Malmaison et de Bois-Préau. Vital Dubray was an Officer of the Legion of Honour.
Presentation of the artwork
Donated by the government of Venezuela to the Ville de Montréal, the monument was relocated in 1996 from Parc Percy-Walter to Parc Hector-Toe-Blake, in order to underline the contributions of the different Latin American communities established in Montréal. Composed of a base of grey granite and a bronze bust, it commemorates Simón Bolívar, South American general and statesman, as well as the independence of Venezuela, which took place in 1829. The waist-length bust, without arms, is the second one to sit on the monument, as the first bust was stolen in 1986. Cast in 1991 by the Fundición Artística La Fortaleza, it is a copy of the artwork by French sculptor Vital Dubray. The original work is conserved in Bueno Aires.
Associated events
The monument commemorates Simón Bolívar and the independence of Venezuela, which occurred in 1829. Simón Bolívar was born in Caracas, Venezuela, in 1783. After studying in Europe, he was converted to the Napoleonic revolutionary ideal and vowed to liberate South America of its Spanish colonizers. He won his first victory in 1818 and gradually liberated Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, and Panama. He hoped to form a union bringing together South America, Central America and Mexico. He died in 1830 without having achieved this grand objective.
Vital Dubray
Gabriel-Vital Dubray (Paris 1813–92), known as Vital Dubray, studied sculpture with Jules Ramey. Under the Empire, he produced numerous works, including the sculpture of Jeanne Hachette for the town-hall square in Beauvais, France. His works are included in the collections of the Musée d’Orsay, the Musée du Louvre, and the Musée national des châteaux de Malmaison et de Bois-Préau. Vital Dubray was an Officer of the Legion of Honour.
Detail
Variation of title
Simón Bolívar
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1991
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 1 1996
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
248.5 x 99.5 x 48
Manufacturer
  • Fundición Artística La Fortaleza
Buste de Simon Bolivar
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc Hector-Toe-Blake

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Buste de Simon Bolivar","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/buste-de-simon-bolivar\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/buste-de-simon-bolivar\/"}
Partager
Partager
Vital Dubray

Buste de Simon Bolivar

1991
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Don du gouvernement du Venezuela à la Ville de Montréal, le monument a fait l’objet d’une relocalisation en 1996, passant du parc Percy-Walter au parc Hector-Toe-Blake, afin de souligner l’apport des différentes communautés latino-américaines établies à Montréal. Composé d’un socle de granite gris et d’un buste de bronze, il commémore Simón Bolívar, général et homme d’État sud-américain, ainsi que l’indépendance du Venezuela, survenue en 1829. Le buste à mi-corps, sans bras, est le second à orner le monument, le vol du premier buste ayant été constaté en 1986. Coulé en 1991 par la Fundición Artística La Fortaleza, il s’agit d’une copie d’une œuvre du sculpteur français Vital Dubray. L’œuvre originale est conservée à Bueno Aires.
Événements associés
Le monument commémore Simón Bolívar et l’indépendance du Venezuela, survenue en 1829. Simón Bolívar est né à Caracas, au Venezuela, en 1783. À la suite de ses études en Europe, il est gagné à l’idéal révolutionnaire napoléonien et fait le serment de libérer l’Amérique du Sud de ses maîtres espagnols. Il remporte sa première victoire en 1818 et libère graduellement le Venezuela, la Colombie, l’Équateur, le Pérou, la Bolivie et le Panama. Il souhaite former une union rassemblant l’Amérique du Sud, l’Amérique centrale et le Mexique. Il meurt en 1830 sans avoir pu réaliser ce grand objectif.
Vital Dubray
Gabriel-Vital Dubray (Paris 1813-1892), dit Vital Dubray, étudie la sculpture auprès de Jules Ramey. Sous l’Empire, il réalise de nombreuses œuvres, dont la sculpture de Jeanne Hachette pour la place de la mairie à Beauvais, en France. Ses œuvres font partie des collections du musée d’Orsay, du musée du Louvre et du musée national des châteaux de Malmaison et de Bois-Préau. Vital Dubray est Officier de la légion d’honneur.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Don du gouvernement du Venezuela à la Ville de Montréal, le monument a fait l’objet d’une relocalisation en 1996, passant du parc Percy-Walter au parc Hector-Toe-Blake, afin de souligner l’apport des différentes communautés latino-américaines établies à Montréal. Composé d’un socle de granite gris et d’un buste de bronze, il commémore Simón Bolívar, général et homme d’État sud-américain, ainsi que l’indépendance du Venezuela, survenue en 1829. Le buste à mi-corps, sans bras, est le second à orner le monument, le vol du premier buste ayant été constaté en 1986. Coulé en 1991 par la Fundición Artística La Fortaleza, il s’agit d’une copie d’une œuvre du sculpteur français Vital Dubray. L’œuvre originale est conservée à Bueno Aires.
Événements associés
Le monument commémore Simón Bolívar et l’indépendance du Venezuela, survenue en 1829. Simón Bolívar est né à Caracas, au Venezuela, en 1783. À la suite de ses études en Europe, il est gagné à l’idéal révolutionnaire napoléonien et fait le serment de libérer l’Amérique du Sud de ses maîtres espagnols. Il remporte sa première victoire en 1818 et libère graduellement le Venezuela, la Colombie, l’Équateur, le Pérou, la Bolivie et le Panama. Il souhaite former une union rassemblant l’Amérique du Sud, l’Amérique centrale et le Mexique. Il meurt en 1830 sans avoir pu réaliser ce grand objectif.
Vital Dubray
Gabriel-Vital Dubray (Paris 1813-1892), dit Vital Dubray, étudie la sculpture auprès de Jules Ramey. Sous l’Empire, il réalise de nombreuses œuvres, dont la sculpture de Jeanne Hachette pour la place de la mairie à Beauvais, en France. Ses œuvres font partie des collections du musée d’Orsay, du musée du Louvre et du musée national des châteaux de Malmaison et de Bois-Préau. Vital Dubray est Officier de la légion d’honneur.
Détails
Variation du titre
Simón Bolívar
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1991
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 janvier 1996
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
248.5 x 99.5 x 48
Fabricants
  • Fundición Artística La Fortaleza
Buste de Simon Bolivar
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc Hector-Toe-Blake