Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2018

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Buste du Dr. Jos\u00e9 P. Rizal","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/buste-du-dr-jose-p-rizal\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/buste-du-dr-jose-p-rizal\/"}
Share
Share
Abdulmari Jr. De Leon Imao

Buste du Dr. José P. Rizal

1999
Presentation of the artwork
Presented to the Ville de Montréal by the Philippine government to celebrate the centenary of the proclamation of independence of the Republic of the Philippines, the monument stands in Parc Mackenzie-King. A pathway made of granite flagstones leads to it from Chemin de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine. The waist-length bronze bust, without arms, is presented on a granite pedestal, itself sitting in the centre of a granite base. On the pedestal is engraved a text, in French, English, and Tagalog, commemorating the important role played by Dr. José P. Rizal in the liberation of his country from colonial grasp. The bust in Montréal is one of 24 busts of Rizal cast by the artist, which were offered to various cities around the world.
Associated events
The artwork celebrates the centenary of the proclamation of independence of the Republic of the Philippines. A poet, writer, and Philippine patriot, Dr. José P. Rizal was also a doctor of medicine and philosophy. After completing his education, he witnessed the injustices suffered by his family and fellow citizens due to oppression by the Spanish colonial authorities. He openly criticized these injustices and tried to obtain reforms through his writing and his political action. In 1886, he published Noli me tangere and El Filibusterismo. Under Rizal’s impetus, the Liga Filipina, a civil society with reformist goals, was founded in 1888 and led to the independence of the Philippines in 1898.
Abdulmari Jr. De Leon Imao
The son of Abdulmari Imao Sr., an internationally renowned Philippine artist, Abdulmari de Leon Imao Jr. was nicknamed TOYM when his father won a Ten Outstanding Young Men Award in 1968. TOYM’S paintings have been exhibited at the Cultural Center of the Philippines and the National Museum of the Philippines. He created Filipino Tapestry (1992), a mural measuring 4.5 m by 1.8 m, for the Philippines embassy in Los Angeles.
Presentation of the artwork
Presented to the Ville de Montréal by the Philippine government to celebrate the centenary of the proclamation of independence of the Republic of the Philippines, the monument stands in Parc Mackenzie-King. A pathway made of granite flagstones leads to it from Chemin de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine. The waist-length bronze bust, without arms, is presented on a granite pedestal, itself sitting in the centre of a granite base. On the pedestal is engraved a text, in French, English, and Tagalog, commemorating the important role played by Dr. José P. Rizal in the liberation of his country from colonial grasp. The bust in Montréal is one of 24 busts of Rizal cast by the artist, which were offered to various cities around the world.
Associated events
The artwork celebrates the centenary of the proclamation of independence of the Republic of the Philippines. A poet, writer, and Philippine patriot, Dr. José P. Rizal was also a doctor of medicine and philosophy. After completing his education, he witnessed the injustices suffered by his family and fellow citizens due to oppression by the Spanish colonial authorities. He openly criticized these injustices and tried to obtain reforms through his writing and his political action. In 1886, he published Noli me tangere and El Filibusterismo. Under Rizal’s impetus, the Liga Filipina, a civil society with reformist goals, was founded in 1888 and led to the independence of the Philippines in 1898.
Abdulmari Jr. De Leon Imao
The son of Abdulmari Imao Sr., an internationally renowned Philippine artist, Abdulmari de Leon Imao Jr. was nicknamed TOYM when his father won a Ten Outstanding Young Men Award in 1968. TOYM’S paintings have been exhibited at the Cultural Center of the Philippines and the National Museum of the Philippines. He created Filipino Tapestry (1992), a mural measuring 4.5 m by 1.8 m, for the Philippines embassy in Los Angeles.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1999
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 1 1999
Technique(s)
Iron cast in the cire perdue method
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
238 x 148 x 135 cm
Buste du Dr. José P. Rizal
Borough
Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
Park
Parc Mackenzie-King

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Buste du Dr. Jos\u00e9 P. Rizal","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/buste-du-dr-jose-p-rizal\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/buste-du-dr-jose-p-rizal\/"}
Partager
Partager
Abdulmari Jr. De Leon Imao

Buste du Dr. José P. Rizal

1999
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Offert à la Ville de Montréal par le gouvernement philippin pour souligner le centenaire de la proclamation de l’indépendance de la République des Philippines, le monument est situé au parc Mackenzie-King. Un trottoir fait de dalles de granit y conduit à partir du chemin de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine. Le buste de bronze à mi-corps, sans bras, est présenté sur un socle de granit, lui-même situé au centre d’une dalle de granit. Sur le socle est gravé un texte qui commémore le rôle important joué par le Dr José P. Rizal dans la libération de son pays de l’emprise coloniale. Le texte apparaît en français, en anglais et en tagalog. Le buste montréalais est l’un des 24 bustes du Dr José P. Rizal que l’artiste a coulés et qui ont été offerts à diverses villes à travers le monde.
Événements associés
L’œuvre souligne le centenaire de la proclamation de l'indépendance de la République des Philippines. Poète, écrivain et patriote philippin, le Dr José P. Rizal était aussi docteur en médecine et en philosophie. Après ses études, ayant été témoin des injustices subies par sa famille et ses concitoyens à la suite de l'oppression des autorités coloniales espagnoles qu'il critique abondamment, il tente d'obtenir des réformes par ses écrits et son action politique. Il publie en 1886, « Noli me tangere » et « El Filibusterismo ». Sous l'impulsion de Rizal, la « Liga Filipina », une société civique à buts réformistes sera fondée en 1888 et mènera à l'indépendance des Philippines en 1898.
Abdulmari Jr. De Leon Imao
Fils d’Abdulmari Imao père, important artiste philippin jouissant d’une réputation internationale, Abdulmari de Leon Imao fils a été surnommé TOYM lorsque son père a remporté un Ten Outstanding Young Men Award, en 1968. Les peintures de TOYM ont été exposées au Centre culturel des Philippines et au Musée national des Philippines. Il a réalisé pour l’ambassade des Philippines à Los Angeles Filipino Tapestry (1992), une murale de 4,5 m sur 1,8 m.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Offert à la Ville de Montréal par le gouvernement philippin pour souligner le centenaire de la proclamation de l’indépendance de la République des Philippines, le monument est situé au parc Mackenzie-King. Un trottoir fait de dalles de granit y conduit à partir du chemin de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine. Le buste de bronze à mi-corps, sans bras, est présenté sur un socle de granit, lui-même situé au centre d’une dalle de granit. Sur le socle est gravé un texte qui commémore le rôle important joué par le Dr José P. Rizal dans la libération de son pays de l’emprise coloniale. Le texte apparaît en français, en anglais et en tagalog. Le buste montréalais est l’un des 24 bustes du Dr José P. Rizal que l’artiste a coulés et qui ont été offerts à diverses villes à travers le monde.
Événements associés
L’œuvre souligne le centenaire de la proclamation de l'indépendance de la République des Philippines. Poète, écrivain et patriote philippin, le Dr José P. Rizal était aussi docteur en médecine et en philosophie. Après ses études, ayant été témoin des injustices subies par sa famille et ses concitoyens à la suite de l'oppression des autorités coloniales espagnoles qu'il critique abondamment, il tente d'obtenir des réformes par ses écrits et son action politique. Il publie en 1886, « Noli me tangere » et « El Filibusterismo ». Sous l'impulsion de Rizal, la « Liga Filipina », une société civique à buts réformistes sera fondée en 1888 et mènera à l'indépendance des Philippines en 1898.
Abdulmari Jr. De Leon Imao
Fils d’Abdulmari Imao père, important artiste philippin jouissant d’une réputation internationale, Abdulmari de Leon Imao fils a été surnommé TOYM lorsque son père a remporté un Ten Outstanding Young Men Award, en 1968. Les peintures de TOYM ont été exposées au Centre culturel des Philippines et au Musée national des Philippines. Il a réalisé pour l’ambassade des Philippines à Los Angeles Filipino Tapestry (1992), une murale de 4,5 m sur 1,8 m.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1999
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 January 1999
Technique(s)
Fonte à la cire perdue
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
238 x 148 x 135 cm
Buste du Dr. José P. Rizal
Arrondissement
Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
Parc
Parc Mackenzie-King