Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Source","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/source\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/source\/"}
Share
Share
Patrick Coutu

Source

2010
Presentation of the artwork
Situated in front of the main entrance to the Notre-Dame-de-Grâce Sports Centre in Benny Park, Source is an organically shaped painted-bronze sculpture formed of multiple levels or branches of textured materials held up on three “legs” that form a triangle on the ground. The visually and symbolically rich sculpture takes its inspiration from processes and transformations engendered by natural phenomena. With its different circular levels, the sculpture evokes a waterfall, rivers pouring blue-tinted water onto the ground, a dowser’s wand, and – through its texture, obtained by an accumulation of materials – stalactites testifying to the passage of time. With its fluidity and its theme, Coutu’s sculpture also refers to the current vocation of the site, which contains a public swimming pool and marks a central point in the landscape. Source is Coutu’s first work of public art commissioned by the Ville de Montréal.
Patrick Coutu
Patrick Coutu, born in 1975, lives and works in Montréal. He holds a bachelor's degree in visual arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal (1997), and a master's degree from the Glasgow School of Art (2003) and Concordia University (2005). Coutu has had works in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Québec and Canada. His works are found in the public collections of major Québec and Canadian museums (MMFA, MACM, MNBAQ, NGC), and in many private collections in Canada (NBC, SITQ), the United States, France, and Great Britain.
Awards and honours
  • lauréat/lauréate, Prix Pierre-Ayot, 2007
Presentation of the artwork
Situated in front of the main entrance to the Notre-Dame-de-Grâce Sports Centre in Benny Park, Source is an organically shaped painted-bronze sculpture formed of multiple levels or branches of textured materials held up on three “legs” that form a triangle on the ground. The visually and symbolically rich sculpture takes its inspiration from processes and transformations engendered by natural phenomena. With its different circular levels, the sculpture evokes a waterfall, rivers pouring blue-tinted water onto the ground, a dowser’s wand, and – through its texture, obtained by an accumulation of materials – stalactites testifying to the passage of time. With its fluidity and its theme, Coutu’s sculpture also refers to the current vocation of the site, which contains a public swimming pool and marks a central point in the landscape. Source is Coutu’s first work of public art commissioned by the Ville de Montréal.
Patrick Coutu
Patrick Coutu, born in 1975, lives and works in Montréal. He holds a bachelor's degree in visual arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal (1997), and a master's degree from the Glasgow School of Art (2003) and Concordia University (2005). Coutu has had works in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Québec and Canada. His works are found in the public collections of major Québec and Canadian museums (MMFA, MACM, MNBAQ, NGC), and in many private collections in Canada (NBC, SITQ), the United States, France, and Great Britain.
Awards and honours
  • lauréat/lauréate, Prix Pierre-Ayot, 2007
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
2010
Mode of acquisition:
Accession date
April 9 2010
Technique(s)
Cast bronze; bolted
Materials
Bronze
General dimensions
549 x 466 x 466 cm
Manufacturer
  • Atelier du bronze
  • Plasto H L Industries Ltée
Source
Borough
Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
Building
Centre sportif Notre-Dame-de Grâce
Park
Parc Benny
Civic address
6445, avenue Monkland, Montréal

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Source","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/source\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/source\/"}
Partager
Partager
Patrick Coutu

Source

2010
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Située devant l’entrée principale du Centre sportif de Notre-Dame-de Grâce, dans le parc Benny, Source est une sculpture de bronze peint de forme organique constituée de multiples paliers ou tiges de matière texturée ancrée au sol sur trois "pattes" formant un triangle. Elle s'inspire des processus naturels et des transformations engendrées par des phénomènes naturels. L’œuvre est riche sur les plans visuel et symbolique. Cette sculpture aux dénivelés circulaires évoque à la fois une chute d'eau, des rivières déversant au sol une eau bleutée, un bâton de sourcier ou encore, par sa texture, obtenue par accumulation de matière, des stalactites témoignant du passage du temps. Par sa fluidité et son thème, la sculpture de Coutu rappelle la vocation actuelle du lieu qui abrite une piscine publique et marque un point central dans le paysage. Source est la première œuvre d’art public de Patrick Coutu commandée par la Ville de Montréal.
Patrick Coutu
Patrick Coutu détient un baccalauréat en arts-visuels de l'Université du Québec à Montréal (1997), une maîtrise du Glasgow School of Art (2003) et de l'Université Concordia (2005). Depuis 1997, il participe à plusieurs expositions au pays et à l'étranger, notamment à la Galerie René Blouin (2010), au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada (2008), au Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal (2008), au Musée du Québec (2002). Ses oeuvres font partie de collections publiques (MACM, MNBQ, MBAC, Ville de Montréal) et privées (BNC, SITQ).
Prix et distinctions
  • lauréat/lauréate, Prix Pierre-Ayot, 2007
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Située devant l’entrée principale du Centre sportif de Notre-Dame-de Grâce, dans le parc Benny, Source est une sculpture de bronze peint de forme organique constituée de multiples paliers ou tiges de matière texturée ancrée au sol sur trois "pattes" formant un triangle. Elle s'inspire des processus naturels et des transformations engendrées par des phénomènes naturels. L’œuvre est riche sur les plans visuel et symbolique. Cette sculpture aux dénivelés circulaires évoque à la fois une chute d'eau, des rivières déversant au sol une eau bleutée, un bâton de sourcier ou encore, par sa texture, obtenue par accumulation de matière, des stalactites témoignant du passage du temps. Par sa fluidité et son thème, la sculpture de Coutu rappelle la vocation actuelle du lieu qui abrite une piscine publique et marque un point central dans le paysage. Source est la première œuvre d’art public de Patrick Coutu commandée par la Ville de Montréal.
Patrick Coutu
Patrick Coutu détient un baccalauréat en arts-visuels de l'Université du Québec à Montréal (1997), une maîtrise du Glasgow School of Art (2003) et de l'Université Concordia (2005). Depuis 1997, il participe à plusieurs expositions au pays et à l'étranger, notamment à la Galerie René Blouin (2010), au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada (2008), au Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal (2008), au Musée du Québec (2002). Ses oeuvres font partie de collections publiques (MACM, MNBQ, MBAC, Ville de Montréal) et privées (BNC, SITQ).
Prix et distinctions
  • lauréat/lauréate, Prix Pierre-Ayot, 2007
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
2010
Mode d'acquisition
Intégration des arts à l'architecture
Date d'accession
9 April 2010
Technique(s)
Bronze coulé; boulonné
Matériaux
Bronze
Dimensions générales
549 x 466 x 466 cm
Fabricants
  • Atelier du bronze
  • Plasto H L Industries Ltée
Source
Arrondissement
Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
Bâtiment
Centre sportif Notre-Dame-de Grâce
Parc
Parc Benny
Adresse civique
6445, avenue Monkland, Montréal