Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Cadran solaire","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/cadran-solaire\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/cadran-solaire\/"}
Share
Share
Herman J. Van Der Heide

Cadran solaire

1967
Presentation of the artwork
Initially installed in Square Chaboillez in front of the Dow Planetarium, the sundial was relocated and restored in 2013, when the planetarium was moved to Espace pour la vie. Today, the artwork is situated in front of the new Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and is linked to its educational activities.

The sculpture is composed of a black-painted cross-shaped steel base, on which two accordion-folded sheets of black-painted steel are placed. These elements support the semi-circular dial (hour plate). The hour plate is also made of black-painted steel. The aluminum dial is attached to the top face of the plate. The 21 hour lines (from 7:00 to 17:00 in half-hour increments) are composed of black rectangles linked by grey lines indicating the time according to the month. At the two ends of the dial, the months are inscribed in black. The stylus, an anodized steel rod, is installed in the centre of the plate and points northward at an angle of about 45°. The shadow projected by the stylus on the graduated plate of the dial gives the time in Eastern Standard Time.

Although inspired by traditional sundial-building techniques, the artist wanted to create an original artwork that is both artistic and functional. The equatorial-type sundial thus rigorously respects gnomonic rules.
Associated events
The monumental artwork titled Cadran solaire was presented by Rotterdam to Montréal on the occasion of the 325th anniversary of the founding of Montréal, in 1967.
Herman J. Van Der Heide
Herman J. van der Heide, a Dutch sculptor, was born August 12, 1919, in Sneek, the Netherlands, and died in 1998. During the Second World War, he took night courses in drawing and painting at the Minerva de Groningen Academy; later, he studied at the Free Academy in The Hague. A self-taught sculptor, he was, among other things, an interior decorator for various corporations. In 1947, he moved to Amsterdam, where he lived until 1955 and worked as an exhibition organizer. He then taught at the Royal Academy of Visual Arts in The Hague and acted as an urban planning and architecture consultant for the city of Amsterdam. His works fall within the constructivist current.
Detail
Category
Decorative Arts
Subcategory
Industrial Design
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1967
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 1 1968
Technique(s)
Welding; cast; anodized; painted
Materials
Steel; aluminum
General dimensions
350 x 360 x 360 cm
Cadran solaire
Borough
Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve
Building
Planétarium Rio Tinto Alcan de Montréal
Civic address
4801, avenue Pierre-De Coubertin, Montréal Québec H1V 3V4

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Cadran solaire","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/cadran-solaire\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/cadran-solaire\/"}
Partager
Partager
Herman J. Van Der Heide

Cadran solaire

1967
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Initialement installé au square Chaboillez devant le planétarium Dow, le cadran solaire a fait l’objet d’une relocalisation et d’une mise en valeur en 2013, à l’occasion du déménagement du planétarium à l’Espace pour la vie. L’œuvre est aujourd’hui située devant le nouveau planétarium Rio Tinto Alcan, en lien avec ses activités éducatives.

La sculpture se compose d’une base en acier en forme de croix peinte en noir, sur laquelle deux plaques pliées en accordéon, également en acier peint noir, sont déposées. Ces éléments supportent le cadran en forme de demi-cercle (table horaire). La table horaire est aussi en acier peinte en noir. Le cadran en aluminium est collé sur la face principale de la table. Les 21 lignes horaires (de 7 h à 17 h aux demi-heures) sont composées de rectangles noirs reliés de lignes grises, indiquant l’heure selon le mois. Aux deux extrémités du cadran, les mois sont inscrits en noir. Le style, une tige en aluminium anodisé, est installé au centre de la table et pointe vers le nord dans un angle d’environ 45°. L’ombre projetée par le style sur la table graduée du cadran indique l’heure normale de l’Est.

Tout en s’inspirant des techniques traditionnelles de construction des cadrans solaires, l’artiste a voulu créer une œuvre originale qui est à la fois artistique et fonctionnelle. Le cadran solaire, de type équatorial, respecte ainsi rigoureusement les règles de la gnomonique.
Événements associés
L’œuvre monumentale, intitulée Cadran solaire, a été offerte par Rotterdam à Montréal à l’occasion du 325e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal, en 1967.
Herman J. Van Der Heide
Herman J. van der Heide, sculpteur néerlandais, est né le 12 août 1919 à Sneek aux Pays-Bas et décédé en 1998. Il suit des cours du soir pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale en dessin et en peinture à l’académie Minerva de Groningen et, plus tard, à l’Académie libre de La Haye. Sculpteur autodidacte, il a été, entre autres, décorateur pour diverses sociétés. L’artiste s’installe en 1947 à Amsterdam où il réside jusqu’en 1955 et y travaille comme organisateur d’expositions. Par la suite, il enseigne à l’Académie royale des arts plastiques de La Haye et agit comme conseiller de la ville d’Amsterdam en matière d’aménagement et d’architecture. Le travail de l’artiste s’inscrit dans le courant constructiviste.
Détails
Catégorie
Arts décoratifs
Sous-catégorie
Design industriel
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1967
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 January 1968
Technique(s)
Soudage; coulé; anodisation; peint
Matériaux
Acier; aluminium
Dimensions générales
350 x 360 x 360 cm
Cadran solaire
Arrondissement
Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve
Bâtiment
Planétarium Rio Tinto Alcan de Montréal
Adresse civique
4801, avenue Pierre-De Coubertin, Montréal Québec H1V 3V4