Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Cultiver l'imaginaire\r","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/cultiver-limaginaire\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/cultiver-limaginaire\/"}
Share
Share
Paryse Martin

Cultiver l'imaginaire

2007
Presentation of the artwork
The artwork is integrated with the green roof of the Maison de la culture de Côte-des-Neiges, inaugurated the same year.

Between the shrubs and flowers are three garden gnomes arranged individually on painted bases. The first gnome has in its wheelbarrow a fine stem that rises and has a small bud on the tip. On its head are antlers in which birds sit as a metaphor for an idea being formed. The second gnome stands on two flowerpots; in its wheelbarrow the stem continues to grow and a flower begins to blossom. The last gnome is hidden behind the foliage of the blossoming flower.

This playful narrative artwork evokes the idea of evolution of the cultivation of a plant through the imaginary of a fairy tale. The work also refers to environmental issues, as evidenced by the green roof of the cultural centre.
Associated events
The project was created in 2007 in the context of the L’art public dans les arrondissements de Montréal initiative launched as part of implementation of the City of Montreal’s Cultural Development Policy, with the goal of encouraging greater accessibility to arts and culture.
Paryse Martin
Born in Maine, United States, Paryse Martin earned her BFA (1986) and her MFA in visual arts (1994) at Université Laval, à Québec. She then completed a doctorate in art studies and practice at Université du Québec à Montréal (2007). Since 2000, she has been a lecturer at Université Laval. Her work has been in solo and group exhibitions, among others, at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Tijdelijk Museum in the Netherlands, and the Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec. She has produced numerous works of public art, including one at the CHSLD Maskinongé in Louiseville, in 2008.
Awards and honours
  • Nomination prix de la culture de la Ville de Québec , 2007
  • Nomination prix de la culture de la Ville de Québec , 2005
  • Bourse de ressourcement, Université Laval , 2005
  • Bourse de ressourcement, Université Laval , 2003
  • Bourse de ressourcement, Université Laval , 2002
  • Conseil des arts et des lettres, bourse B , 1999
  • Conseil des arts du Canada, bourse B , 1995
  • Conseil des arts du Québec, aide à la création , 1993
  • René Richard, 2e cycle, Université Laval" , 1993
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Integration with architecture
Date completed
2007
Mode of acquisition:
Public commission from the Ville de Montréal
Technique(s)
Anchoring; assemblage
Materials
White concrete patinaed with acrylic coated with a thin layer of protective wax; patinaed bronze and protective wax; steel painted with industrial epoxy; multi-use polyurethane; industrial glue
General dimensions
Nain 1 : 104 x 85 x 68 Nain 2 : 154x 30 x 68 Nain 3 : 159 x 90 x 68"
Cultiver l'imaginaire
Borough
Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
Civic address
"5290, chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal, Québec H3T 1Y2"

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Cultiver l'imaginaire\r","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/cultiver-limaginaire\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/cultiver-limaginaire\/"}
Partager
Partager
Paryse Martin

Cultiver l'imaginaire

2007
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L’œuvre est intégrée au toit vert de la maison de la culture de Côte-des-Neiges inaugurée la même année.

Entre les bosquets et les fleurs se trouvent trois nains de jardin disposés individuellement sur des socles peints. Le premier nain a dans sa brouette une fine tige qui s’élève et au bout de laquelle trône un petit bourgeon. Sur sa tête se trouvent des bois de chevreuil où reposent des oiseaux telle une métaphore de l’idée naissante. Le deuxième nain se tient sur deux pots à fleurs et dans sa brouette, la tige continue de grandir et une fleur commence à éclore. Le dernier nain est dissimulé derrière le feuillage de la fleur épanouie.

Cette œuvre ludique et narrative évoque l’idée de l’évolution de la culture d’une plante à travers l’imaginaire du conte fantastique. L’œuvre nous renvoie aux enjeux environnementaux dont témoigne déjà le toit vert de la maison de la culture.



Événements associés
Le projet s’inscrit dans le contexte de l’initiative L’art public dans les arrondissements, lancée à l’occasion de la mise en œuvre de la Politique de développement culturel de la Ville de Montréal, dans le but de favoriser une plus grande accessibilité aux arts et à la culture.
Paryse Martin
Originaire du Maine, aux États-Unis, Paryse Martin obtient son baccalauréat (1986) ainsi que sa maîtrise en arts visuels (1994) à l’Université Laval, à Québec. Elle poursuit sa formation en études et pratiques des arts au doctorat à l’UQAM, Montréal (2007). Depuis 2000, elle est chargée d’enseignement à l’Université Laval. Ayant à son actif de nombreuses expositions individuelles et de groupes, Paryse Martin a présenté ses œuvres, entre autres, au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, au Tijdelijk Museum en Hollande et à la Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec. Elle a réalisé de nombreuses œuvres d’art public, dont une au CHSLD Maskinongé à Louiseville, en 2008.


Prix et distinctions
  • Nomination prix de la culture de la Ville de Québec , 2007
  • Nomination prix de la culture de la Ville de Québec , 2005
  • Bourse de ressourcement, Université Laval , 2005
  • Bourse de ressourcement, Université Laval , 2003
  • Bourse de ressourcement, Université Laval , 2002
  • Conseil des arts et des lettres, bourse B , 1999
  • Conseil des arts du Canada, bourse B , 1995
  • Conseil des arts du Québec, aide à la création , 1993
  • René Richard, 2e cycle, Université Laval" , 1993
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Intégration à l'architecture
Date de fin de production
2007
Mode d'acquisition
Commande publique de la Ville de Montréal
Technique(s)
Ancrage; assemblage
Matériaux
beton; bronze; cire; acier; peinture; colle
Dimensions générales
Nain 1 : 104 x 85 x 68 Nain 2 : 154x 30 x 68 Nain 3 : 159 x 90 x 68"
Cultiver l'imaginaire
Arrondissement
Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
Adresse civique
"5290, chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal, Québec H3T 1Y2"