Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Fontaine du square Saint-Louis","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/fontaine-du-square-saint-louis\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/fontaine-du-square-saint-louis\/"}
Share
Share
J.L. Mott

Fontaine du square Saint-Louis

1849
Presentation of the artwork
The cast-iron fountain is situated in Saint-Louis Square, between Rue St-Denis and Avenue Laval, in the centre of a large painted pool. It is a spouting fountain with two basins, one above the other. The lower column, which supports the large basin, and the column above, which supports the small basin, are decorated with acanthus leaves, some of them stylized. The fountain also includes a base.

This type of fountain was ordered by catalogue; the purchaser chose the different pieces, which were assembled to result in a customized composition. Two fountains composed of these heritage elements are in the Ville de Montréal’s collection of works of public art: the fountain in Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier Square and the one in Saint-Louis Square.

J. L. Mott Iron Works was founded in New York in 1828 by Jordan L. Mott. The foundry’s catalogue included ovens and domestic plumbing parts, as well as structural and ornamental elements for public fountains. At the Philadelphia World Fair in 1876, the foundry exhibited a 7.5-metre-high cast-iron fountain. Its basin, more than 3 metres in diameter, was recognized as the largest cast-iron basin in the United States.
Associated events
The fountain was installed in the eastern part of Viger Square in 1850 and was known as the Lacroix Fountain of Viger Square. In 1931, the extension of Rue Berri resulted in the fountain being relocated to its current site, Saint-Louis Square. In the mid-nineteenth century, this site was home to the Ville de Montréal’s first water reservoir in the sector, known as Réservoir de la Côte-à-Baron or Réservoir Jean-Baptiste.
J.L. Mott
Presentation of the artwork
The cast-iron fountain is situated in Saint-Louis Square, between Rue St-Denis and Avenue Laval, in the centre of a large painted pool. It is a spouting fountain with two basins, one above the other. The lower column, which supports the large basin, and the column above, which supports the small basin, are decorated with acanthus leaves, some of them stylized. The fountain also includes a base.

This type of fountain was ordered by catalogue; the purchaser chose the different pieces, which were assembled to result in a customized composition. Two fountains composed of these heritage elements are in the Ville de Montréal’s collection of works of public art: the fountain in Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier Square and the one in Saint-Louis Square.

J. L. Mott Iron Works was founded in New York in 1828 by Jordan L. Mott. The foundry’s catalogue included ovens and domestic plumbing parts, as well as structural and ornamental elements for public fountains. At the Philadelphia World Fair in 1876, the foundry exhibited a 7.5-metre-high cast-iron fountain. Its basin, more than 3 metres in diameter, was recognized as the largest cast-iron basin in the United States.
Associated events
The fountain was installed in the eastern part of Viger Square in 1850 and was known as the Lacroix Fountain of Viger Square. In 1931, the extension of Rue Berri resulted in the fountain being relocated to its current site, Saint-Louis Square. In the mid-nineteenth century, this site was home to the Ville de Montréal’s first water reservoir in the sector, known as Réservoir de la Côte-à-Baron or Réservoir Jean-Baptiste.
J.L. Mott
Detail
Variation of title
Fontaine Lacroix du square Viger
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1849
Mode of acquisition:
Purchase
Materials
Cast iron
General dimensions
457 x 240 cm
Manufacturer
  • Mott, J.L. / Iron Works
Fontaine du square Saint-Louis
Borough
Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Park
Square Saint-Louis

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Fontaine du square Saint-Louis","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/fontaine-du-square-saint-louis\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/fontaine-du-square-saint-louis\/"}
Partager
Partager
J.L. Mott

Fontaine du square Saint-Louis

1849
Présentation de l'oeuvre
La fontaine en fonte de fer est située au square Saint-Louis, entre la rue Saint-Denis et l’avenue Laval, au centre d’un grand bassin peint. Il s’agit d’une fontaine jaillissante à deux bassins superposés. La colonne la plus basse, qui supporte le grand bassin, et la colonne au-dessus, qui supporte le petit bassin, sont décorées de feuilles d’acanthe, dont certaines sont stylisées. La fontaine comprend également un socle.

Commandé par catalogue, ce type de fontaine avait la particularité de laisser l’acheteur choisir les divers morceaux qui étaient ensuite assemblés pour finalement constituer une composition personnalisée. Deux exemplaires de ces éléments patrimoniaux font partie de la collection d’œuvres d’art public de la Ville de Montréal : la fontaine du square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier et la fontaine du square Saint-Louis.

La fonderie J. L. Mott Iron Works est constituée à New York, en 1828, par Jordan L. Mott. Son catalogue comprend tout autant des fours et des pièces pour la plomberie domestique, que des éléments structuraux et ornementaux pour des fontaines publiques. En 1876, à l’Exposition universelle de Philadelphie, la fonderie expose une fontaine en fonte haute de 7,5 m. Son bassin de plus de 3 m de diamètre est alors reconnu comme le plus large bassin en fonte des États-Unis.
Événements associés
À compter de 1850, la fontaine est présentée dans la partie est du square Viger. Elle est alors connue comme la fontaine Lacroix du square Viger. En 1931, le prolongement de la rue Berri entraîne la relocalisation de la fontaine sur son emplacement actuel, le square Saint-Louis. Au milieu du XIXe siècle, ce site a accueilli le premier réservoir d’eau de la Ville de Montréal dans ce secteur, appelé réservoir de la Côte-à-Baron ou réservoir Jean-Baptiste.
J.L. Mott
Présentation de l'oeuvre
La fontaine en fonte de fer est située au square Saint-Louis, entre la rue Saint-Denis et l’avenue Laval, au centre d’un grand bassin peint. Il s’agit d’une fontaine jaillissante à deux bassins superposés. La colonne la plus basse, qui supporte le grand bassin, et la colonne au-dessus, qui supporte le petit bassin, sont décorées de feuilles d’acanthe, dont certaines sont stylisées. La fontaine comprend également un socle.

Commandé par catalogue, ce type de fontaine avait la particularité de laisser l’acheteur choisir les divers morceaux qui étaient ensuite assemblés pour finalement constituer une composition personnalisée. Deux exemplaires de ces éléments patrimoniaux font partie de la collection d’œuvres d’art public de la Ville de Montréal : la fontaine du square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier et la fontaine du square Saint-Louis.

La fonderie J. L. Mott Iron Works est constituée à New York, en 1828, par Jordan L. Mott. Son catalogue comprend tout autant des fours et des pièces pour la plomberie domestique, que des éléments structuraux et ornementaux pour des fontaines publiques. En 1876, à l’Exposition universelle de Philadelphie, la fonderie expose une fontaine en fonte haute de 7,5 m. Son bassin de plus de 3 m de diamètre est alors reconnu comme le plus large bassin en fonte des États-Unis.
Événements associés
À compter de 1850, la fontaine est présentée dans la partie est du square Viger. Elle est alors connue comme la fontaine Lacroix du square Viger. En 1931, le prolongement de la rue Berri entraîne la relocalisation de la fontaine sur son emplacement actuel, le square Saint-Louis. Au milieu du XIXe siècle, ce site a accueilli le premier réservoir d’eau de la Ville de Montréal dans ce secteur, appelé réservoir de la Côte-à-Baron ou réservoir Jean-Baptiste.
J.L. Mott
Détails
Variation du titre
Fontaine Lacroix du square Viger
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1849
Mode d'acquisition
Achat
Matériaux
Fonte
Dimensions générales
457 x 240 cm
Fabricants
  • Mott, J.L. / Iron Works
Fontaine du square Saint-Louis
Arrondissement
Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Parc
Square Saint-Louis