Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Sculpture-fontaine, square Sir-George-\u00c9tienne-Cartier","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/sculpture-fontaine-square-sir-george-etienne-cartier\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/sculpture-fontaine-square-sir-george-etienne-cartier\/"}
Share
Share
J.L. Mott

Sculpture-fontaine, square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier

Presentation of the artwork
Situated in the centre of a fenced-in area, this sculpture-fountain made of industrial cast iron is installed in a concrete basin. The quadrangular base is topped by a column with ornaments in plant and bird motifs. At the top of the grouping, two cherubs fight over a flute; they stand in the centre of a bowl from which water flows into a second, larger bowl.

This type of fountain was ordered by catalogue; the purchaser chose the different pieces, which were assembled to result in a customized composition. Two fountains composed of these heritage elements are in the Ville de Montréal’s collection of works of public art: the fountain in Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier Square and the one in Saint-Louis Square.

J. L. Mott Iron Works was founded in New York in 1828 by Jordan L. Mott. The foundry’s catalogue included ovens and domestic plumbing parts, as well as structural and ornamental elements for public fountains. At the Philadelphia World Fair in 1876, the foundry exhibited a 7.5-metre-high cast-iron fountain. Its basin, more than 3 metres in diameter, was recognized as the largest cast-iron basin in the United States.
Associated events
Following the annexation of the Ville de Saint-Henri by the Ville de Montréal in 1905, a park was created in the western part of the neighbourhood, on the site of the abattoirs. The sculpture-fountain was part of the redevelopment and was installed in the centre of the park when it was officially inaugurated in 1912.
J.L. Mott
Presentation of the artwork
Situated in the centre of a fenced-in area, this sculpture-fountain made of industrial cast iron is installed in a concrete basin. The quadrangular base is topped by a column with ornaments in plant and bird motifs. At the top of the grouping, two cherubs fight over a flute; they stand in the centre of a bowl from which water flows into a second, larger bowl.

This type of fountain was ordered by catalogue; the purchaser chose the different pieces, which were assembled to result in a customized composition. Two fountains composed of these heritage elements are in the Ville de Montréal’s collection of works of public art: the fountain in Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier Square and the one in Saint-Louis Square.

J. L. Mott Iron Works was founded in New York in 1828 by Jordan L. Mott. The foundry’s catalogue included ovens and domestic plumbing parts, as well as structural and ornamental elements for public fountains. At the Philadelphia World Fair in 1876, the foundry exhibited a 7.5-metre-high cast-iron fountain. Its basin, more than 3 metres in diameter, was recognized as the largest cast-iron basin in the United States.
Associated events
Following the annexation of the Ville de Saint-Henri by the Ville de Montréal in 1905, a park was created in the western part of the neighbourhood, on the site of the abattoirs. The sculpture-fountain was part of the redevelopment and was installed in the centre of the park when it was officially inaugurated in 1912.
J.L. Mott
Detail
Variation of title
Sculpture-fontaine du square G.-É. Cartier
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Mode of acquisition:
Purchase
Materials
Cast iron
General dimensions
650 x 205 cm
Manufacturer
  • Mott, J.L. / Iron Works
Sculpture-fontaine, square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier
Borough
Le Sud-Ouest
Park
Square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Sculpture-fontaine, square Sir-George-\u00c9tienne-Cartier","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/sculpture-fontaine-square-sir-george-etienne-cartier\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/sculpture-fontaine-square-sir-george-etienne-cartier\/"}
Partager
Partager
J.L. Mott

Sculpture-fontaine, square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier

Présentation de l'oeuvre
Située au centre d’un bassin clôturé, la sculpture-fontaine de fonte industrielle est installée sur une base de béton. La base quadrangulaire est surmontée d’une colonne ornementée de motifs végétaux et d’oiseaux. Au sommet de l’ensemble, installés au centre d’une vasque d’où l’eau s’écoule dans une seconde vasque plus large, deux chérubins se disputent une flûte.

Commandé par catalogue, ce type de fontaine avait la particularité de laisser l’acheteur choisir les divers morceaux qui étaient ensuite assemblés pour finalement constituer une composition personnalisée. Deux exemplaires de ces éléments patrimoniaux font partie de la collection d’œuvres d’art public de la Ville de Montréal : la fontaine du square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier et la fontaine du square Saint-Louis.

La fonderie J. L. Mott Iron Works est constituée à New York, en 1828, par Jordan L. Mott. Son catalogue comprend tout autant des fours et des pièces pour la plomberie domestique, que des éléments structuraux et ornementaux pour des fontaines publiques. En 1876, à l’Exposition universelle de Philadelphie, la fonderie expose une fontaine en fonte haute de 7,5 m. Son bassin de plus de 3 m de diamètre est alors reconnu comme le plus large bassin en fonte des États-Unis.
Événements associés
À la suite de l’annexion de la Ville de Saint-Henri à la Ville de Montréal, en 1905, un parc est aménagé dans le quartier, sur le site des abattoirs de l’ouest. La sculpture-fontaine fait partie des travaux de réaménagement et est implantée au centre du parc dès son inauguration officielle en 1912.
J.L. Mott
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Située au centre d’un bassin clôturé, la sculpture-fontaine de fonte industrielle est installée sur une base de béton. La base quadrangulaire est surmontée d’une colonne ornementée de motifs végétaux et d’oiseaux. Au sommet de l’ensemble, installés au centre d’une vasque d’où l’eau s’écoule dans une seconde vasque plus large, deux chérubins se disputent une flûte.

Commandé par catalogue, ce type de fontaine avait la particularité de laisser l’acheteur choisir les divers morceaux qui étaient ensuite assemblés pour finalement constituer une composition personnalisée. Deux exemplaires de ces éléments patrimoniaux font partie de la collection d’œuvres d’art public de la Ville de Montréal : la fontaine du square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier et la fontaine du square Saint-Louis.

La fonderie J. L. Mott Iron Works est constituée à New York, en 1828, par Jordan L. Mott. Son catalogue comprend tout autant des fours et des pièces pour la plomberie domestique, que des éléments structuraux et ornementaux pour des fontaines publiques. En 1876, à l’Exposition universelle de Philadelphie, la fonderie expose une fontaine en fonte haute de 7,5 m. Son bassin de plus de 3 m de diamètre est alors reconnu comme le plus large bassin en fonte des États-Unis.
Événements associés
À la suite de l’annexion de la Ville de Saint-Henri à la Ville de Montréal, en 1905, un parc est aménagé dans le quartier, sur le site des abattoirs de l’ouest. La sculpture-fontaine fait partie des travaux de réaménagement et est implantée au centre du parc dès son inauguration officielle en 1912.
J.L. Mott
Détails
Variation du titre
Sculpture-fontaine du square G.-É. Cartier
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Mode d'acquisition
Achat
Matériaux
Fonte
Dimensions générales
650 x 205 cm
Fabricants
  • Mott, J.L. / Iron Works
Sculpture-fontaine, square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier
Arrondissement
Le Sud-Ouest
Parc
Square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier