Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Fontaine Wallace","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/fontaine-wallace\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/fontaine-wallace\/"}
Share
Share
Charles-Auguste Lebourg

Fontaine Wallace

1872
Presentation of the artwork
The fountain stands in the Floralies Gardens in Parc Jean-Drapeau, on Île Notre-Dame. Executed in iron founding, it is composed of six main elements: a pedestal, four caryatids, and a dome. The square pedestal, in neo-Renaissance style, presents a trident and a stylized dolphin on each of its faces, and rising from the base of each corner is a vault terminating in a shell. On top of the pedestal, four caryatids, topped with a scroll, hold up the dome that conceals the basin from which the water flows. Covered with a dragon-scale pattern and punctuated with various decorative elements, the dome echoes the theme of the dolphins on the pedestal.

The caryatids – columns in the form of statues of women – represent simplicity, kindness, temperance, and charity. They are the twin sisters of the Three Graces, divinities of Antiquity that have been frequently portrayed throughout art history. These ones were inspired by a sixteenth-century artwork, by the French sculptor Germain Pilon, that was part of the funerary monument to Henry II.

Created to provide passersby with free access to drinking water, Wallace fountains testified to the importance of mechanization and industrialization during the Victorian era. At that time, through mass production and copying, not only did art objects become accessible to the general public, but by reproducing historically accepted models they could claim to be beautiful.
Associated events
The first Wallace fountain was installed in 1871 on Boulevard de la Villette in Paris. It bore the name of the person who donated it to the city of Paris, Sir Richard Wallace, a British philanthropist and art lover. A hundred Wallace fountains were to be installed in Paris, made from two models designed by the sculptor Charles-Auguste Lebourg. Forty of the fountains are still in operation today, and the one owned by the Ville de Montréal is the more widespread model. It was offered to the Ville de Montréal by the city of Paris in 1980, on the occasion of the Floralies international horticulture show.
Charles-Auguste Lebourg
Born in Nantes in 1829, Charles-Auguste Lebourg began his career in the studio of the famous sculptor François Rude. He then struck out on his own, and his production consisted almost exclusively of busts. Although he exhibited regularly in salons, he was best known for his designs of Wallace fountains (public drinking fountains). He died in Paris in 1906.
Presentation of the artwork
The fountain stands in the Floralies Gardens in Parc Jean-Drapeau, on Île Notre-Dame. Executed in iron founding, it is composed of six main elements: a pedestal, four caryatids, and a dome. The square pedestal, in neo-Renaissance style, presents a trident and a stylized dolphin on each of its faces, and rising from the base of each corner is a vault terminating in a shell. On top of the pedestal, four caryatids, topped with a scroll, hold up the dome that conceals the basin from which the water flows. Covered with a dragon-scale pattern and punctuated with various decorative elements, the dome echoes the theme of the dolphins on the pedestal.

The caryatids – columns in the form of statues of women – represent simplicity, kindness, temperance, and charity. They are the twin sisters of the Three Graces, divinities of Antiquity that have been frequently portrayed throughout art history. These ones were inspired by a sixteenth-century artwork, by the French sculptor Germain Pilon, that was part of the funerary monument to Henry II.

Created to provide passersby with free access to drinking water, Wallace fountains testified to the importance of mechanization and industrialization during the Victorian era. At that time, through mass production and copying, not only did art objects become accessible to the general public, but by reproducing historically accepted models they could claim to be beautiful.
Associated events
The first Wallace fountain was installed in 1871 on Boulevard de la Villette in Paris. It bore the name of the person who donated it to the city of Paris, Sir Richard Wallace, a British philanthropist and art lover. A hundred Wallace fountains were to be installed in Paris, made from two models designed by the sculptor Charles-Auguste Lebourg. Forty of the fountains are still in operation today, and the one owned by the Ville de Montréal is the more widespread model. It was offered to the Ville de Montréal by the city of Paris in 1980, on the occasion of the Floralies international horticulture show.
Charles-Auguste Lebourg
Born in Nantes in 1829, Charles-Auguste Lebourg began his career in the studio of the famous sculptor François Rude. He then struck out on his own, and his production consisted almost exclusively of busts. Although he exhibited regularly in salons, he was best known for his designs of Wallace fountains (public drinking fountains). He died in Paris in 1906.
Detail
Variation of title
Fontaine des Vosges
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1872
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Technique(s)
Cast; bolted; painted
Materials
Cast iron
General dimensions
275 cm x 82 x 82 cm
Manufacturer
  • Barbezat, fonderie de Sommevoir
Fontaine Wallace
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Notre-Dame

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Fontaine Wallace","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/fontaine-wallace\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/fontaine-wallace\/"}
Partager
Partager
Charles-Auguste Lebourg

Fontaine Wallace

1872
Présentation de l'oeuvre
La fontaine est présentée aux jardins des Floralies du parc Jean-Drapeau, sur l’île Notre-Dame. Réalisée en fonte de fer, elle se compose de six éléments principaux : un piédestal, quatre cariatides et un dôme. De style néorenaissance et de forme quadrangulaire, le piédestal présente sur chacune de ses faces un trident et un dauphin stylisés, alors que chacun des angles forme à la base une voûte terminée d'un coquillage. Au sommet, quatre cariatides, coiffées d'une volute, supportent le dôme et cachent la vasque dans laquelle s'écoule le jet d'eau. Recouvert d'un motif en écailles de dragon et ponctué de divers éléments décoratifs, le dôme reprend en couronnement le thème des dauphins du piédestal.

Les cariatides, supports en forme de statue féminine, représentent la simplicité, la bonté, la sobriété et la charité. Ce sont les sœurs jumelles des trois Grâces, divinités de l'Antiquité dont l'histoire de l'art regorge de représentations. Celles-ci s'inspirent d'une œuvre du XVIe siècle, du sculpteur français Germain Pilon, qui fait partie du monument funéraire d'Henri II.

Créées afin de fournir aux passants un accès gratuit à l’eau potable, les fontaines Wallace témoignent de l'importance du phénomène de la mécanisation et de l'industrialisation à l'époque victorienne. Désormais, par la fabrication en série et par la copie, non seulement les objets d'art deviennent-ils accessibles à la population, mais en reprenant les modèles consacrés par l'histoire, ils peuvent prétendre au beau.
Événements associés
En 1871, boulevard de la Villette, à Paris, on inaugure la première fontaine Wallace. Elle porte le nom de son donateur à la Ville de Paris, Sir Richard Wallace, grand philanthrope et amateur d'art d'origine britannique. Une centaine seront installées à Paris, à partir de deux modèles créés par le sculpteur Charles-Auguste Lebourg. Aujourd'hui, une quarantaine sont toujours en bon état, et celle que possède la Ville de Montréal correspond au modèle le plus répandu. Elle a été offerte par la Ville de Paris à la Ville de Montréal en 1980, à l’occasion des Floralies.
Charles-Auguste Lebourg
Né à Nantes en 1829, Lebourg fait ses débuts dans l’atelier du sculpteur de renom François Rude. Il le quitte pour se lancer dans sa propre production qui compte presque essentiellement des bustes. Bien qu’il expose régulièrement dans les salons, ce sont ses dessins des fontaines Wallace qui lui vaudront sa notoriété. Il meurt à Paris en 1906.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
La fontaine est présentée aux jardins des Floralies du parc Jean-Drapeau, sur l’île Notre-Dame. Réalisée en fonte de fer, elle se compose de six éléments principaux : un piédestal, quatre cariatides et un dôme. De style néorenaissance et de forme quadrangulaire, le piédestal présente sur chacune de ses faces un trident et un dauphin stylisés, alors que chacun des angles forme à la base une voûte terminée d'un coquillage. Au sommet, quatre cariatides, coiffées d'une volute, supportent le dôme et cachent la vasque dans laquelle s'écoule le jet d'eau. Recouvert d'un motif en écailles de dragon et ponctué de divers éléments décoratifs, le dôme reprend en couronnement le thème des dauphins du piédestal.

Les cariatides, supports en forme de statue féminine, représentent la simplicité, la bonté, la sobriété et la charité. Ce sont les sœurs jumelles des trois Grâces, divinités de l'Antiquité dont l'histoire de l'art regorge de représentations. Celles-ci s'inspirent d'une œuvre du XVIe siècle, du sculpteur français Germain Pilon, qui fait partie du monument funéraire d'Henri II.

Créées afin de fournir aux passants un accès gratuit à l’eau potable, les fontaines Wallace témoignent de l'importance du phénomène de la mécanisation et de l'industrialisation à l'époque victorienne. Désormais, par la fabrication en série et par la copie, non seulement les objets d'art deviennent-ils accessibles à la population, mais en reprenant les modèles consacrés par l'histoire, ils peuvent prétendre au beau.
Événements associés
En 1871, boulevard de la Villette, à Paris, on inaugure la première fontaine Wallace. Elle porte le nom de son donateur à la Ville de Paris, Sir Richard Wallace, grand philanthrope et amateur d'art d'origine britannique. Une centaine seront installées à Paris, à partir de deux modèles créés par le sculpteur Charles-Auguste Lebourg. Aujourd'hui, une quarantaine sont toujours en bon état, et celle que possède la Ville de Montréal correspond au modèle le plus répandu. Elle a été offerte par la Ville de Paris à la Ville de Montréal en 1980, à l’occasion des Floralies.
Charles-Auguste Lebourg
Né à Nantes en 1829, Lebourg fait ses débuts dans l’atelier du sculpteur de renom François Rude. Il le quitte pour se lancer dans sa propre production qui compte presque essentiellement des bustes. Bien qu’il expose régulièrement dans les salons, ce sont ses dessins des fontaines Wallace qui lui vaudront sa notoriété. Il meurt à Paris en 1906.
Détails
Variation du titre
Fontaine des Vosges
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1872
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Technique(s)
Moulé; boulonné; peint
Matériaux
Fonte
Dimensions générales
275 cm x 82 x 82 cm
Fabricants
  • Barbezat, fonderie de Sommevoir
Fontaine Wallace
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Notre-Dame