Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | La montagne des jours","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/la-montagne-des-jours\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/la-montagne-des-jours\/"}
Share
Share
Gilbert Boyer

La montagne des jours

1991
Presentation of the artwork
Gilbert Boyer’s in situ intervention is composed of five granite disks set in the ground beside paths in Mount Royal Park. Engraved on the disks are bits of conversations heard in the park by the artist.

The natural environment of Mount Royal, situated within the heart of the city, the familiar discussions to which it gives rise, and the strolls for which it is the setting are thus represented by what may be thought of as a tribute to the way that Montréalers experience their “mountain.”

Viewers who discover La montagne des jours by chance as they walk can freely appropriate the words that the artwork has engraved in the ground – the memories, feelings, and thoughts that it evokes. In fact, Boyer thinks of his work as an act of sharing. “From the spring thaw to the first snows of winter, the poetic dialogues on the granite disks recount the daily life of Montreal and converse with everyone.” – Gilbert Boyer, 1995. 1

1. Letter from Boyer to Hélène Thibodeau of the Public Art Bureau (our translation).
Associated events
The artwork, originally meant to be temporary, was created and installed for the Cent jours d’art contemporain in 1991. The event, organized by the Centre international d’art contemporain de Montréal with the theme “Art and the Public Space” and held from 15 August to 3 November, was intended to “indicate new sites of intervention where artists could produce works for public consumption” (Claude Gosselin, 1991).1 The Ville de Montréal acquired the artwork in 1996. 1. Quoted in Claire Gravel, “Les cent jours d’art contemporain et le défi de l’œuvre dans l’espace public,” Vie des Arts, Vol. 36, No. 144 (1991), 16–19 (our translation).
Gilbert Boyer
Gilbert Boyer has a bachelor’s degree in visual arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal (1973) and a master’s degree in visual arts from Concordia University (1986). His work offers a bridge between the everyday and history, art and the public space. Boyer has produced a number of works of public art, including I Looked for Sarah Everywhere (1994) at the Toronto Sculpture Garden and Adresses personnelles (1996) in Aulnoy-Lez-Valenciennes, France.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1991
Mode of acquisition:
Purchase
Accession date
June 14 1996
Technique(s)
Sandblast engraving; polished
Materials
Granite
General dimensions
153 X 8 cm
La montagne des jours
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc du Mont-Royal

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | La montagne des jours","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/la-montagne-des-jours\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/la-montagne-des-jours\/"}
Partager
Partager
Gilbert Boyer

La montagne des jours

1991
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L’intervention in situ de Gilbert Boyer est composée de cinq disques de granit disséminés le long des sentiers du parc du Mont-Royal. Sur ces plaques se trouvent des bribes de conversations entendues sur le site par l’artiste.

L’environnement naturel du mont Royal, pourtant situé au cœur de la ville, les discussions familières auxquelles il donne lieu et les déambulations dont il est l’objet se trouvent ainsi représentés sur ce qui peut se concevoir comme un hommage à l’expérience que font les Montréalais de leur « montagne ».

Les spectateurs, découvrant au hasard de promenades La montagne des jours, peuvent s’approprier librement les paroles que l’œuvre grave au sol, les souvenirs, les émotions et les pensées qu’elle évoque. Boyer conçoit en effet son œuvre comme un partage. « De la fonte du printemps aux premières neiges de l’hiver, les dialogues poétiques des disques de granit racontent et échangent avec tous un quotidien montréalais. » – Gilbert Boyer, 1995 (1)

1. Lettre de l’artiste adressée à Hélène Thibodeau du Bureau d’art public.
Événements associés
L’œuvre, à l’origine temporaire, a été créée et installée pour les Cent jours d’art contemporain de 1991. Du 15 août au 3 novembre, l’événement organisé par le Centre international d’art contemporain de Montréal sous le thème « Art et espace public » avait pour objectif « d'indiquer de nouveaux lieux d'intervention où les artistes pouvaient réaliser des œuvres de consommation publique ». – Claude Gosselin, 1991 (1) La Ville en a fait l’acquisition en 1996. 1. Claire Gravel, « Les cent jours d’art contemporain et le défi de l’œuvre dans l’espace public », Vie des Arts, Vol. 36, N° 144, 1991, p. 16-19.
Gilbert Boyer
Gilbert Boyer détient un baccalauréat en arts plastiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (1973) et une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’Université Concordia (1986). Son travail propose un pont entre le quotidien et l’histoire, l’art et le lieu public. Boyer a réalisé plusieurs projets d’art public, dont I Looked for Sarah Everywhere (1994) au Toronto Sculpture Garden et Adresses personnelles (1996) à Aulnoy-Lez-Valenciennes en France.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1991
Mode d'acquisition
Achat
Date d'accession
14 June 1996
Technique(s)
Gravé au jet de sable; poli
Matériaux
Granit
Dimensions générales
153 X 8 cm
La montagne des jours
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc du Mont-Royal