Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | M\u00e9moire ardente","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/memoire-ardente\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/memoire-ardente\/"}
Share
Share
Gilbert Boyer

Mémoire ardente

1994
Presentation of the artwork
The artwork is composed of a cube of pink granite whose walls are pierced with holes. The exterior surface has been left rough, whereas the interior surface is polished and poetic phrases are engraved on it in black. The cube sits on a stainless steel base. A stainless steel column, on which appears an inscription about the 350th anniversary of Montréal, completes the artwork.

Mémoire ardente is designed as a contemporary monument, a historical marker, a reminder of the origin and history of Montréal, and of the celebrations marking its 350th anniversary. A receptacle of memory that reveals the archaeological strata of the city’s past, the artwork evokes a chambre ardente. This large granite cube invites viewers to discover phrases revealing information about Montréal and its past.
Associated events
The artwork was commissioned for the celebrations of the 350th anniversary of Montréal.
Gilbert Boyer
Gilbert Boyer has a bachelor’s degree in visual arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal (1973) and a master’s degree in visual arts from Concordia University (1986). His work offers a bridge between the everyday and history, art and the public space. Boyer has produced a number of works of public art, including I Looked for Sarah Everywhere (1994) at the Toronto Sculpture Garden and Adresses personnelles (1996) in Aulnoy-Lez-Valenciennes, France.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1994
Mode of acquisition:
Public commission from the Ville de Montréal (competition by invitation)
Accession date
December 1 1993
Materials
Granite; stainless steel
General dimensions
197 x 197 x 197
Manufacturer
  • Bernier, Michel / Atelier Michel Bernier
  • Vallée, G. L. / Les granits Montval
Mémoire ardente
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Promenade de la Commune

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | M\u00e9moire ardente","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/memoire-ardente\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/memoire-ardente\/"}
Partager
Partager
Gilbert Boyer

Mémoire ardente

1994
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L'œuvre est composée d'un cube en granit rose dont les parois sont trouées. Le fini de la surface est brut à l'extérieur et poli à l'intérieur, où des phrases poétiques sont gravées en noir. Le cube repose sur une base en acier inoxydable. Une colonne-témoin en acier inoxydable, sur laquelle apparaît une inscription rappelant le 350e anniversaire de Montréal, complète l'œuvre.

Mémoire ardente est conçue comme un monument contemporain, un marqueur historique, un rappel de l’origine et de l’histoire de Montréal, tout autant que des célébrations qui ont marqué son 350e anniversaire. L’œuvre évoque la chambre ardente, réceptacle de mémoire et révélateur des strates archéologiques du passé de la ville. Ce grand cube de granit invite à la découverte de phrases révélatrices sur les origines de Montréal.
Événements associés
Festivités organisées dans le cadre des célébrations du 350e anniversaire de Montréal.
Gilbert Boyer
Gilbert Boyer détient un baccalauréat en arts plastiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (1973) et une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’Université Concordia (1986). Son travail propose un pont entre le quotidien et l’histoire, l’art et le lieu public. Boyer a réalisé plusieurs projets d’art public, dont I Looked for Sarah Everywhere (1994) au Toronto Sculpture Garden et Adresses personnelles (1996) à Aulnoy-Lez-Valenciennes en France.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1994
Mode d'acquisition
Commande publique de la Ville de Montréal (Concours sur invitation)
Date d'accession
1 décembre 1993
Matériaux
Granit; acier inoxydable
Dimensions générales
197 x 197 x 197
Fabricants
  • Bernier, Michel / Atelier Michel Bernier
  • Vallée, G. L. / Les granits Montval
Mémoire ardente
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Promenade de la Commune