Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Lanka Mata","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/lanka-mata\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/lanka-mata\/"}
Share
Share
George Keyt

Lanka Mata

Presentation of the artwork
The large, luminous stained-glass piece adorns the reading room of the adults’ library on the building’s ground floor. Visible from the street through large bay windows, it is notable for its monumental size as well as its special aesthetic qualities.

Lanka Mata, or “Mother Lanka,” is an allegorical work with cubist accents. In the centre of the triangular composition is a female figure who carries a symbolic object on her hip. The artist describes his work this way: “The central figure is a village woman shown with a water pot. The water pot, or kalasa, is a symbol of plenty, filled and carried by a village girl returning from the well.” 1 Around the figure of the mother country are figures with rural attributes and animals. Two panels representing the sun and the moon are not integrated into the current stained-glass window; they are in storage.

Lanka Mata was originally a painting on canvas by George Keyt, and it was reproduced in glass at the Whitefriars Stained Glass Studios (United Kingdom) at the request of the Ceylonese authorities. After Expo 67, the diplomats decided to offer the work to the Ville de Montréal rather than repatriate it to Ceylon given the complexity of transporting it. The artist therefore never had an opportunity to see his work reproduced in stained glass. The original canvas that served as its model is lost.

1. George Keyt, A Centennial Anthology (George Keyt Foundation, 2001), p. 163. This book on the artist’s complete production was presented to the Ville de Montréal as a token of appreciation by Tissa Devendra, a close friend of the artist’s. Devendra made an attempt to find the work, of which the artist no longer knew the whereabouts, and in the course of his research he was led to Bibliothèque Marie-Uguay in 2010.
Associated events
Lanka Mata was initially designed to be placed on the façade of the Ceylon (now known as Sri Lanka) pavilion at Expo 67. When the pavilions were dismantled, the work was offered by the Ceylonese authorities to the Ville de Montréal as a token of appreciation. In 1982, following expansion of the Bibliothèque Monk, renamed Marie-Uguay, the artwork was finally installed permanently in homage to the Montréal poet.
George Keyt
George Keyt is considered the most important Sri Lankan painter of the twentieth century. Self-taught, he devoted himself to painting when he was 26 years old. Inspired by an updating of the Buddhist tradition, Indian decorative art, and the modern art of Picasso and Matisse, Keyt’s painting is characteristic of the modernization of Sri Lankan society. Known also as a prolific poet and author, Keyt’s artwork has been exhibited mainly in India and Sri Lanka, as well as in the great Western capitals. In the 1960s, he began to produce murals resulting from public and private commissions.
Awards and honours
  • Reconnaissance pour services rendus à la nation dans le domaine de l'art, The Ceylon Society of Art, Sri Lanka, 1970
  • Doctora Honoris Causa en littérature, Université Peradeniya, Sri Lanka, 1968
  • Refus d'un titre royal offert par la Reine d'Angleterre, 1950
Detail
Category
Decorative Arts
Subcategory
Stained Glass
Collection name
Integration with architecture
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 1 1967
Materials
Glass; lead; steel; neon
Support
Glass
General dimensions
260 x 524 x 20 cm
Manufacturer
  • Whitefriars Stained Glass Studios
Lanka Mata
Borough
Le Sud-Ouest
Building
Bibliothèque Marie-Uguay
Civic address
6052 Boulevard Monk, Montréal, QC H4E 3H6

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Lanka Mata","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/lanka-mata\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/lanka-mata\/"}
Partager
Partager
George Keyt

Lanka Mata

Présentation de l'oeuvre
Ce grand vitrail lumineux orne la salle de lecture de la bibliothèque des adultes au rez-de-chaussée de l’édifice. Visible depuis la rue à travers de grandes baies vitrées, il ne peut passer inaperçu tant par sa taille monumentale que par ses qualités esthétiques particulières.

Lanka Mata ou « Mère Lanka » est une œuvre allégorique aux accents cubistes. Au centre de cette composition triangulaire sied un personnage féminin qui tient sur sa hanche un élément symbolique. L’artiste décrit ainsi son œuvre : « The central figure is a village woman shown with a water pot. The water pot, or kalasa, is a symbol of plenty, filled and carried by a village girl returning from well1 ». Autour de cette figure de la mère patrie se trouvent des personnages aux attributs ruraux, de même que des animaux. Deux panneaux représentant le soleil et la lune ne sont pas intégrés à la composition actuelle du vitrail; ils sont entreposés.

À l’origine, Lanka Mata était une peinture sur toile de George Keyt reproduite sur verre aux Whitefriars Stained Glass Studios (Royaume-Uni) à la demande des autorités ceylanaises. Après l’Expo 67, les diplomates ont pris la décision d’offrir le vitrail à la Ville plutôt que de le rapatrier au Ceylan étant donné la complexité de son transport. L’artiste n’a donc jamais eu la chance de voir cette reproduction sur vitrail de son œuvre. La toile originale ayant servi de matrice a quant à elle disparu.


1 Cette citation est tirée de George Keyt, A Centennial Anthology, publié par The George Keyt Foundation, 2001, p. 163. Ce livre sur l’œuvre complète de l’artiste a été offert à la Ville de Montréal en guise de reconnaissance par Tissa Devendra, un ami proche de l’artiste. Ce dernier effectua des recherches afin de localiser l’œuvre dont l’artiste avait perdu la trace, recherches qui le menèrent à la bibliothèque Marie-Uguay, en 2010.
Événements associés
L’œuvre Lanka Mata a initialement été conçue pour figurer sur la façade du pavillon du Ceylan (pays désormais connu sous le nom de Sri Lanka) à l’Expo 67. Au moment du démantèlement des pavillons, l’œuvre a été offerte par les autorités ceylanaises à la Ville de Montréal en guise de reconnaissance. En 1982 à la suite de l’agrandissement de la bibliothèque Monk renommée Marie-Uguay, l’œuvre est finalement installée de façon permanente en hommage à cette poétesse montréalaise.
George Keyt
George Keyt est considéré comme le peintre sri lankais le plus important du XXe siècle. Autodidacte, il se voue à la peinture à l’âge de 26 ans. Inspirée par un renouveau de la tradition bouddhiste, l’art décoratif indien et la peinture moderne de Picasso et de Matisse, la peinture de Keyt est caractéristique d’une modernisation de la société sri lankaise. Reconnu également comme poète et auteur prolifique, l’artiste expose principalement en Inde et au Sri Lanka, ainsi que dans les grandes capitales occidentales. À partir des années 1960, il réalise de nombreuses murales issues de commandes publiques et privées.
Prix et distinctions
  • Reconnaissance pour services rendus à la nation dans le domaine de l'art, The Ceylon Society of Art, Sri Lanka, 1970
  • Doctora Honoris Causa en littérature, Université Peradeniya, Sri Lanka, 1968
  • Refus d'un titre royal offert par la Reine d'Angleterre, 1950
Détails
Catégorie
Arts décoratifs
Sous-catégorie
Vitrail
Nom de la collection
Intégration à l'architecture
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 January 1967
Matériaux
Verre; plomb; acier; néon
Support
Verre
Dimensions générales
260 x 524 x 20 cm
Fabricants
  • Whitefriars Stained Glass Studios
Lanka Mata
Arrondissement
Le Sud-Ouest
Bâtiment
Bibliothèque Marie-Uguay
Adresse civique
6052 Boulevard Monk, Montréal, QC H4E 3H6