Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | L'attente","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/lattente\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/lattente\/"}
Share
Share
Guillaume Lachapelle

L'attente

2009
Presentation of the artwork
In the centre of the former picnic area of Belmont Park, a lone bumper car is confined in an aluminum enclosure obviously too small to hold it. The structure is topped with a finial adorned with miniature roller coaster, on which two building façades, made of brass and bronze, seem to serve as cars. The playful artwork deploys figurative elements in order to illustrate the former function of the site and underline the importance that it had in the neighbourhood.

Standing alone in this vast space, L’attente nostalgically re-creates the past with a play on scale, time, and absence. The small pavilion circumscribes the bumper car in a way that accentuates the irrelevance of the object when it is isolated. In addition, the contrast of proportions is accentuated by the presence of the model-sized ride, reminding us that the sculpture’s relevance is related above all to its symbolic function. The buildings reflect the real estate developments in the vicinity, underlining the fact that today’s Belmont Park is much smaller than the amusement park that preceded it.

Finally, the composition as a whole acts as a metonymic reminder that encourages the viewer to reconstruct what the sculpture cannot portray. In Lachapelle’s view, “The artwork becomes the expression of friction between reality and a fantasy world, a difficult encounter between desires and constraints.” 1

1. Guillaume Lachapelle, project submission, 2008 (our translation).
Associated events
The artwork pays tribute to Belmont Park, the amusement park in Cartierville in operation from 1923 to 1983. During the course of its existence, the legendary site welcomed more than 25 million visitors and offered entertainment and emotional experiences for the entire family, and its memory lives on in the hearts of Montréalers. L’attente was a public commission by the Ville de Montréal marking the 25th anniversary of the park’s closure.
Guillaume Lachapelle
Guillaume Lachapelle earned his bachelor’s degree in visual arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal in 1998. Since then, a number of his exhibitions have been well received by the critics, including En pure perte (2009) and Machinations (2010). Lachapelle is also a props master and set sculptor for television, movie, and stage productions. He produced L’attente, his first work of public art, in 2009.
Presentation of the artwork
In the centre of the former picnic area of Belmont Park, a lone bumper car is confined in an aluminum enclosure obviously too small to hold it. The structure is topped with a finial adorned with miniature roller coaster, on which two building façades, made of brass and bronze, seem to serve as cars. The playful artwork deploys figurative elements in order to illustrate the former function of the site and underline the importance that it had in the neighbourhood.

Standing alone in this vast space, L’attente nostalgically re-creates the past with a play on scale, time, and absence. The small pavilion circumscribes the bumper car in a way that accentuates the irrelevance of the object when it is isolated. In addition, the contrast of proportions is accentuated by the presence of the model-sized ride, reminding us that the sculpture’s relevance is related above all to its symbolic function. The buildings reflect the real estate developments in the vicinity, underlining the fact that today’s Belmont Park is much smaller than the amusement park that preceded it.

Finally, the composition as a whole acts as a metonymic reminder that encourages the viewer to reconstruct what the sculpture cannot portray. In Lachapelle’s view, “The artwork becomes the expression of friction between reality and a fantasy world, a difficult encounter between desires and constraints.” 1

1. Guillaume Lachapelle, project submission, 2008 (our translation).
Associated events
The artwork pays tribute to Belmont Park, the amusement park in Cartierville in operation from 1923 to 1983. During the course of its existence, the legendary site welcomed more than 25 million visitors and offered entertainment and emotional experiences for the entire family, and its memory lives on in the hearts of Montréalers. L’attente was a public commission by the Ville de Montréal marking the 25th anniversary of the park’s closure.
Guillaume Lachapelle
Guillaume Lachapelle earned his bachelor’s degree in visual arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal in 1998. Since then, a number of his exhibitions have been well received by the critics, including En pure perte (2009) and Machinations (2010). Lachapelle is also a props master and set sculptor for television, movie, and stage productions. He produced L’attente, his first work of public art, in 2009.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
2009
Mode of acquisition:
Public commission from the Ville de Montréal (competition by public notice)
Accession date
January 26 2009
Technique(s)
Assembled; welded; screwed
Materials
Aluminum; concrete; brass; bronze
General dimensions
411 x 258 x 258 cm
Manufacturer
  • Bernard, Claude / Formaviva Inc.
  • Ladouceur, Jacques / Conception & réalisation JL Enr.
  • Fonderie d'art d'Inverness Inc.
  • Ménard, François
  • Thyssenkrupp Materials
  • C.F.F. Speciality Metals
  • Ancrage canadiens Hegedus Ltée
  • Industries Desormeau Inc.
  • Cintube Ltée
  • Terramex
L'attente
Borough
Ahuntsic-Cartierville
Park
Parc Belmont

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | L'attente","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/lattente\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/lattente\/"}
Partager
Partager
Guillaume Lachapelle

L'attente

2009
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Au cœur de l’ancienne aire de pique-nique du parc Belmont, une auto tamponneuse esseulée est confinée dans un enclos d’aluminium visiblement trop petit pour l’accueillir. La structure est munie de montagnes russes miniatures en guise de faîteau sur lesquelles deux façades d’immeubles de laiton et de bronze semblent servir de voitures. L’œuvre ludique déploie des éléments figuratifs afin d’illustrer l’ancienne fonction du lieu et de souligner l’importance qu’il a eue dans le quartier.

Abandonnée dans ce vaste espace, L’attente reconstitue avec nostalgie le passé par un jeu sur l’échelle, le temps et l’absence. Le petit pavillon circonscrit l’auto tamponneuse de manière à accentuer l’inutilité de l’objet lorsque disposé seul. En outre, le contraste des proportions est accentué par la présence de ce manège en format maquette, rappelant que la sculpture trouve d’abord et avant tout sa pertinence dans sa fonction symbolique. Les édifices font pour leur part écho au développement immobilier environnant, soulignant que la superficie du parc Belmont actuel est beaucoup plus petite que celle du parc d’attractions qui l’a précédé.

Enfin, l’ensemble de la composition agit comme un rappel métonymique qui incite à reconstruire ce que la sculpture ne peut représenter. Selon Lachapelle, « l’œuvre devient l’expression d’une friction entre la réalité et un monde fantasmé, une difficile rencontre entre désirs et contraintes1 ».

1: Guillaume Lachapelle, dépôt de projet, 2008.
Événements associés
L’œuvre rend hommage au parc Belmont, ce parc d’attractions de Cartierville en exploitation de 1923 à 1983. Le lieu mythique a accueilli au cours de son existence plus de 25 millions de visiteurs. Il a été le théâtre de divertissements de toutes sortes et d’émotions fortes vécues en famille, qui ont marqué la mémoire collective des Montréalais. L’attente résulte d’une commande publique de la Ville de Montréal soulignant le 25e anniversaire de la fermeture du parc.
Guillaume Lachapelle
Guillaume Lachapelle a obtenu son baccalauréat en arts visuels à l’Université du Québec à Montréal en 1998. Depuis, plusieurs de ses expositions ont été remarquées par la critique, dont En pure perte (2009) et Machinations (2010). L’artiste est également accessoiriste et sculpteur de décors pour les productions télévisuelles, cinématographiques et théâtrales. L’attente est sa première œuvre d’art public.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Au cœur de l’ancienne aire de pique-nique du parc Belmont, une auto tamponneuse esseulée est confinée dans un enclos d’aluminium visiblement trop petit pour l’accueillir. La structure est munie de montagnes russes miniatures en guise de faîteau sur lesquelles deux façades d’immeubles de laiton et de bronze semblent servir de voitures. L’œuvre ludique déploie des éléments figuratifs afin d’illustrer l’ancienne fonction du lieu et de souligner l’importance qu’il a eue dans le quartier.

Abandonnée dans ce vaste espace, L’attente reconstitue avec nostalgie le passé par un jeu sur l’échelle, le temps et l’absence. Le petit pavillon circonscrit l’auto tamponneuse de manière à accentuer l’inutilité de l’objet lorsque disposé seul. En outre, le contraste des proportions est accentué par la présence de ce manège en format maquette, rappelant que la sculpture trouve d’abord et avant tout sa pertinence dans sa fonction symbolique. Les édifices font pour leur part écho au développement immobilier environnant, soulignant que la superficie du parc Belmont actuel est beaucoup plus petite que celle du parc d’attractions qui l’a précédé.

Enfin, l’ensemble de la composition agit comme un rappel métonymique qui incite à reconstruire ce que la sculpture ne peut représenter. Selon Lachapelle, « l’œuvre devient l’expression d’une friction entre la réalité et un monde fantasmé, une difficile rencontre entre désirs et contraintes1 ».

1: Guillaume Lachapelle, dépôt de projet, 2008.
Événements associés
L’œuvre rend hommage au parc Belmont, ce parc d’attractions de Cartierville en exploitation de 1923 à 1983. Le lieu mythique a accueilli au cours de son existence plus de 25 millions de visiteurs. Il a été le théâtre de divertissements de toutes sortes et d’émotions fortes vécues en famille, qui ont marqué la mémoire collective des Montréalais. L’attente résulte d’une commande publique de la Ville de Montréal soulignant le 25e anniversaire de la fermeture du parc.
Guillaume Lachapelle
Guillaume Lachapelle a obtenu son baccalauréat en arts visuels à l’Université du Québec à Montréal en 1998. Depuis, plusieurs de ses expositions ont été remarquées par la critique, dont En pure perte (2009) et Machinations (2010). L’artiste est également accessoiriste et sculpteur de décors pour les productions télévisuelles, cinématographiques et théâtrales. L’attente est sa première œuvre d’art public.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
2009
Mode d'acquisition
Commande publique de la ville de Montréal (Concours par avis public)
Date d'accession
26 January 2009
Technique(s)
Assemblé; soudé; vissé
Matériaux
Aluminum ; béton ; laiton ; bronze
Dimensions générales
411 x 258 x 258 cm
Fabricants
  • Bernard, Claude / Formaviva Inc.
  • Ladouceur, Jacques / Conception & réalisation JL Enr.
  • Fonderie d'art d'Inverness Inc.
  • Ménard, François
  • Thyssenkrupp Materials
  • C.F.F. Speciality Metals
  • Ancrage canadiens Hegedus Ltée
  • Industries Desormeau Inc.
  • Cintube Ltée
  • Terramex
L'attente
Arrondissement
Ahuntsic-Cartierville
Parc
Parc Belmont