Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2018

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Isabelle la Catholique","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-isabelle-la-catholique\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-isabelle-la-catholique\/"}
Share
Share
José Planes

Monument à Isabelle la Catholique

1958
Presentation of the artwork
The bust of Isabella the Catholic is installed in Parc Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier, facing Avenue Christophe-Colomb. The consul general of Spain gave this artwork to the Ville de Montréal, on behalf of the Institute of Hispanic Culture in Madrid, on the occasion of the 467th anniversary of Columbus’s “discovery” of America.

In this bronze, the queen wears the royal insignia: the crown, the cross in the shell of the Order of Santiago, and the cross decorated with fleurs-de-lis of the Order of Calatrava. The bust has a Gothic feel due to the headwear and the clothing, perhaps because the sculptor, José Planes, turned to the production of religious images after the Spanish Civil War. On the iconographic level, the sculptor seems to have been inspired by the portrait of Isabella painted by the Spanish artist Luis de Madrazo in the nineteenth century. The queen’s gaze is piercing, determined, and fixed on the horizon, as if she could glimpse the shores of the New World as she spoke with her acolyte, Columbus. In the treatment of the lines and texture of the bust can be seen the influence on Planes’s work of the French sculptor Auguste Rodin.
Associated events
Isabella I of Castille, known as Isabella the Catholic, was born in 1451. On 14 October 1469, against her family’s wishes, she married the future Ferdinand II of Aragon (1452–1516), known as Ferdinand the Catholic. When her brother, Henry IV, died in 1474, Isabella became the queen of Castille and León. Isabella and Ferdinand, having understood the importance of Christopher Columbus’s plan, supplied the ships that carried the Genoese navigator to America. Dubbed the “Catholic Monarchs” by Pope Alexander VI, their power quickly extended to the New World, thanks to Columbus’s “discovery” on behalf of the crown of Castille. They also started the Spanish Inquisition and expelled the Muslims from the Iberian peninsula. Isabella the Catholic died on November 26, 1504.
José Planes
José Planes (1891–1974) came from a family of farmers. Inspired by the figurines in Christmas crèches in the Murcia region of Spain, he had worked in clay since a very young age. Planes apprenticed in the studio of Anastasio Martínez and completed his art training in Valencia and Madrid. He executed a number of busts of women during his youth, including one of his mother that won the first prize at the Murcia Circle of Fine Art when he was 20. His career as a sculptor really took off when his pieces were noticed at an exhibition at the Ateneo. In 1927, Planes moved to Madrid in order to partake of the art trends of his times. Six years later, he established a fine crafts school when he returned to Murcia.
Presentation of the artwork
The bust of Isabella the Catholic is installed in Parc Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier, facing Avenue Christophe-Colomb. The consul general of Spain gave this artwork to the Ville de Montréal, on behalf of the Institute of Hispanic Culture in Madrid, on the occasion of the 467th anniversary of Columbus’s “discovery” of America.

In this bronze, the queen wears the royal insignia: the crown, the cross in the shell of the Order of Santiago, and the cross decorated with fleurs-de-lis of the Order of Calatrava. The bust has a Gothic feel due to the headwear and the clothing, perhaps because the sculptor, José Planes, turned to the production of religious images after the Spanish Civil War. On the iconographic level, the sculptor seems to have been inspired by the portrait of Isabella painted by the Spanish artist Luis de Madrazo in the nineteenth century. The queen’s gaze is piercing, determined, and fixed on the horizon, as if she could glimpse the shores of the New World as she spoke with her acolyte, Columbus. In the treatment of the lines and texture of the bust can be seen the influence on Planes’s work of the French sculptor Auguste Rodin.
Associated events
Isabella I of Castille, known as Isabella the Catholic, was born in 1451. On 14 October 1469, against her family’s wishes, she married the future Ferdinand II of Aragon (1452–1516), known as Ferdinand the Catholic. When her brother, Henry IV, died in 1474, Isabella became the queen of Castille and León. Isabella and Ferdinand, having understood the importance of Christopher Columbus’s plan, supplied the ships that carried the Genoese navigator to America. Dubbed the “Catholic Monarchs” by Pope Alexander VI, their power quickly extended to the New World, thanks to Columbus’s “discovery” on behalf of the crown of Castille. They also started the Spanish Inquisition and expelled the Muslims from the Iberian peninsula. Isabella the Catholic died on November 26, 1504.
José Planes
José Planes (1891–1974) came from a family of farmers. Inspired by the figurines in Christmas crèches in the Murcia region of Spain, he had worked in clay since a very young age. Planes apprenticed in the studio of Anastasio Martínez and completed his art training in Valencia and Madrid. He executed a number of busts of women during his youth, including one of his mother that won the first prize at the Murcia Circle of Fine Art when he was 20. His career as a sculptor really took off when his pieces were noticed at an exhibition at the Ateneo. In 1927, Planes moved to Madrid in order to partake of the art trends of his times. Six years later, he established a fine crafts school when he returned to Murcia.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1958
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 1 1959
Technique(s)
Cast bronze
Materials
Bronze; copper; granite
General dimensions
293 x 152.5 x 107 cm
Manufacturer
  • Angel Gonzalez Sellas
Monument à Isabelle la Catholique
Borough
Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Park
Parc Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Isabelle la Catholique","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-isabelle-la-catholique\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-isabelle-la-catholique\/"}
Partager
Partager
José Planes

Monument à Isabelle la Catholique

1958
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Le buste d’Isabelle la Catholique est installé au parc Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier, face à l’avenue Christophe-Colomb. C’est le consul général d'Espagne qui remet cette œuvre à la Ville de Montréal, au nom de l'Institut de culture hispanique de Madrid, à l'occasion du 467e anniversaire de la « découverte » de l'Amérique par Colomb.

Dans ce bronze, la souveraine porte les insignes royaux : la couronne, la croix dans la coquille de l’Ordre de Santiago et la croix fleurdelisée de l’Ordre de Calatrava. Il s’agit d’un buste aux airs gothiques, par la coiffure et les vêtements, peut-être l’aboutissement de la consécration du sculpteur José Planes à la réalisation d’images religieuses, après la Guerre civile espagnole. Sur le plan iconographique, le sculpteur semble s’être inspiré du portrait d’Isabelle peint par l’artiste espagnol Luis de Madrazo, au XIXe siècle. Le regard de la reine se fait perçant, décidé et figé sur l’horizon, comme si elle pouvait apercevoir les côtes du Nouveau Monde, tout en dialoguant avec son acolyte Colomb. Le traitement des lignes et la texture du buste ne sont pas sans rappeler l’influence du sculpteur français Auguste Rodin sur l’œuvre de Planes.
Événements associés
Isabelle 1re de Castille, dite Isabelle la Catholique, naît en 1451. Elle épouse le 14 octobre 1469, malgré l'opposition de sa famille, le futur Ferdinand II d'Aragon (1452-1516), dit Fernando le Catholique. À la mort de son frère Henri IV en 1474, elle devient reine de Castille et de León. Isabelle et Fernando, ayant compris l’envergure du projet de Christophe Colomb, fournissent les vaisseaux qui conduisent le navigateur génois en Amérique. Baptisés par le pape Alexandre VI comme les « rois catholiques », leur puissance s'étend rapidement sur un Nouveau Monde, grâce à la « découverte » de Colomb, au nom de la couronne de Castille. Ils fondent d’ailleurs l’Inquisition espagnole et chassent les musulmans de la péninsule ibérique. Isabelle la Catholique meurt le 26 novembre 1504.
José Planes
José Planes (1891-1974) est issu d’une famille d’agriculteurs. Inspiré par les figurines des crèches de Noël de la région de Murcie en Espagne, il travaille l’argile depuis son plus jeune âge. Planes intègre, à titre d’apprenti, l’atelier d’Anastasio Martínez et complète sa formation artistique à Valence et à Madrid. Il exécute plusieurs bustes de femmes pendant sa jeunesse, dont celui de sa mère qui lui vaut, à 20 ans, le premier prix du Cercle des beaux-arts de Murcie. Sa carrière comme sculpteur prend son véritable envol à l’occasion d’une exposition à l’Ateneo, où ses pièces se font remarquer. En 1927, Planes s’établit à Madrid afin de s’insérer dans la trame artistique de son époque. Six ans plus tard, il met sur pied une école de métiers d’art à son retour à Murcie.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Le buste d’Isabelle la Catholique est installé au parc Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier, face à l’avenue Christophe-Colomb. C’est le consul général d'Espagne qui remet cette œuvre à la Ville de Montréal, au nom de l'Institut de culture hispanique de Madrid, à l'occasion du 467e anniversaire de la « découverte » de l'Amérique par Colomb.

Dans ce bronze, la souveraine porte les insignes royaux : la couronne, la croix dans la coquille de l’Ordre de Santiago et la croix fleurdelisée de l’Ordre de Calatrava. Il s’agit d’un buste aux airs gothiques, par la coiffure et les vêtements, peut-être l’aboutissement de la consécration du sculpteur José Planes à la réalisation d’images religieuses, après la Guerre civile espagnole. Sur le plan iconographique, le sculpteur semble s’être inspiré du portrait d’Isabelle peint par l’artiste espagnol Luis de Madrazo, au XIXe siècle. Le regard de la reine se fait perçant, décidé et figé sur l’horizon, comme si elle pouvait apercevoir les côtes du Nouveau Monde, tout en dialoguant avec son acolyte Colomb. Le traitement des lignes et la texture du buste ne sont pas sans rappeler l’influence du sculpteur français Auguste Rodin sur l’œuvre de Planes.
Événements associés
Isabelle 1re de Castille, dite Isabelle la Catholique, naît en 1451. Elle épouse le 14 octobre 1469, malgré l'opposition de sa famille, le futur Ferdinand II d'Aragon (1452-1516), dit Fernando le Catholique. À la mort de son frère Henri IV en 1474, elle devient reine de Castille et de León. Isabelle et Fernando, ayant compris l’envergure du projet de Christophe Colomb, fournissent les vaisseaux qui conduisent le navigateur génois en Amérique. Baptisés par le pape Alexandre VI comme les « rois catholiques », leur puissance s'étend rapidement sur un Nouveau Monde, grâce à la « découverte » de Colomb, au nom de la couronne de Castille. Ils fondent d’ailleurs l’Inquisition espagnole et chassent les musulmans de la péninsule ibérique. Isabelle la Catholique meurt le 26 novembre 1504.
José Planes
José Planes (1891-1974) est issu d’une famille d’agriculteurs. Inspiré par les figurines des crèches de Noël de la région de Murcie en Espagne, il travaille l’argile depuis son plus jeune âge. Planes intègre, à titre d’apprenti, l’atelier d’Anastasio Martínez et complète sa formation artistique à Valence et à Madrid. Il exécute plusieurs bustes de femmes pendant sa jeunesse, dont celui de sa mère qui lui vaut, à 20 ans, le premier prix du Cercle des beaux-arts de Murcie. Sa carrière comme sculpteur prend son véritable envol à l’occasion d’une exposition à l’Ateneo, où ses pièces se font remarquer. En 1927, Planes s’établit à Madrid afin de s’insérer dans la trame artistique de son époque. Six ans plus tard, il met sur pied une école de métiers d’art à son retour à Murcie.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1958
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 January 1959
Technique(s)
Bronze coulé
Matériaux
Bronze; cuivre; granit
Dimensions générales
293 x 152.5 x 107 cm
Fabricants
  • Angel Gonzalez Sellas
Monument à Isabelle la Catholique
Arrondissement
Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Parc
Parc Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier