Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2018

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Jean Vauquelin","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-jean-vauquelin\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-jean-vauquelin\/"}
Share
Share
Eugène-Paul Benet

Monument à Jean Vauquelin

1927
Presentation of the artwork
The monument is situated in the north part of Place Vauquelin, behind the fountain. The choice of site is strategic, in the axis of Place Jacques-Cartier dominated by the statue of Admiral Nelson, victor in the battle of Trafalgar. Two courageous men, one French and the other English, stand face to face in the public space. This monument draws part of its significance from the statue to which it is the counterpoint.

It is a bronze statue placed on a pedestal and base made of grey granite. Vauquelin is portrayed standing, leaning slightly on the broken mast of his ship. His body is melded with the trunk of the mast. His left foot rests on a broken cannon stock. In his right hand he holds part of a flag attached to the mast that he is grasping. His left hand is held out behind him in a protective gesture. The entire work evokes defeat and shipwreck, but the figure holds his head high and gazes ahead with a challenging look. The composition, portraying Vauquelin pushed back to his last retrenchment, contributes to the image of a courageous hero. There are few contextual elements surrounding the figure. The treatment of the statue is conventional and classical in nature.
Associated events
Jean Vauquelin was born in Dieppe in 1728. He quickly became known as an excellent navigator and served as an officer during the War of the Austrian Succession. In 1750, he became a captain in the merchant marine. At the beginning of the Seven Years’ War, he engaged in the battles that were taking place in New France at the time of the Conquest. He distinguished himself at Louisbourg, in 1758, by slowing Wolfe’s advance toward the town of Québec. In 1760, with his frigate the Atalante, he participated in manoeuvres around Québec and held off the English offensive until his munitions were exhausted. He was seriously wounded and taken prisoner. Later repatriated to France, he resumed his naval career in 1764. He died in Rochefort in 1772.
Eugène-Paul Benet
Eugène-Paul Benet was born in Dieppe in 1863. He received his education in sculpture from Laurent Marquestre and Alexandre Falguière. He was awarded medals at the Salon de Paris in 1884, 1897, and 1900. Many of his works are conserved at the museum in Dieppe. His most important monumental artworks in France are the Monument aux morts d'Orbais (Marne) (undated) and the Beaumesnil monument (Eure) (1920), also known as Le Poilu victorieux. He died in Paris in 1942.
Awards and honours
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1884
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1887
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1900
Presentation of the artwork
The monument is situated in the north part of Place Vauquelin, behind the fountain. The choice of site is strategic, in the axis of Place Jacques-Cartier dominated by the statue of Admiral Nelson, victor in the battle of Trafalgar. Two courageous men, one French and the other English, stand face to face in the public space. This monument draws part of its significance from the statue to which it is the counterpoint.

It is a bronze statue placed on a pedestal and base made of grey granite. Vauquelin is portrayed standing, leaning slightly on the broken mast of his ship. His body is melded with the trunk of the mast. His left foot rests on a broken cannon stock. In his right hand he holds part of a flag attached to the mast that he is grasping. His left hand is held out behind him in a protective gesture. The entire work evokes defeat and shipwreck, but the figure holds his head high and gazes ahead with a challenging look. The composition, portraying Vauquelin pushed back to his last retrenchment, contributes to the image of a courageous hero. There are few contextual elements surrounding the figure. The treatment of the statue is conventional and classical in nature.
Associated events
Jean Vauquelin was born in Dieppe in 1728. He quickly became known as an excellent navigator and served as an officer during the War of the Austrian Succession. In 1750, he became a captain in the merchant marine. At the beginning of the Seven Years’ War, he engaged in the battles that were taking place in New France at the time of the Conquest. He distinguished himself at Louisbourg, in 1758, by slowing Wolfe’s advance toward the town of Québec. In 1760, with his frigate the Atalante, he participated in manoeuvres around Québec and held off the English offensive until his munitions were exhausted. He was seriously wounded and taken prisoner. Later repatriated to France, he resumed his naval career in 1764. He died in Rochefort in 1772.
Eugène-Paul Benet
Eugène-Paul Benet was born in Dieppe in 1863. He received his education in sculpture from Laurent Marquestre and Alexandre Falguière. He was awarded medals at the Salon de Paris in 1884, 1897, and 1900. Many of his works are conserved at the museum in Dieppe. His most important monumental artworks in France are the Monument aux morts d'Orbais (Marne) (undated) and the Beaumesnil monument (Eure) (1920), also known as Le Poilu victorieux. He died in Paris in 1942.
Awards and honours
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1884
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1887
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1900
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1927
Mode of acquisition:
Donation by public subscription
Technique(s)
Cast bronze; carved stone
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
680cm x 400 cm x 400 cm approximatif
Monument à Jean Vauquelin
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Place Vauquelin

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Jean Vauquelin","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-jean-vauquelin\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-jean-vauquelin\/"}
Partager
Partager
Eugène-Paul Benet

Monument à Jean Vauquelin

1927
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Le monument est situé dans la partie nord de la place Vauquelin, derrière la fontaine. Le choix de l'emplacement est stratégique, dans l'axe de la place Jacques-Cartier dominée par la statue de l'amiral Nelson, vainqueur de la bataille de Trafalgar. Deux hommes de courage, l'un français et l'autre anglais, se font face dans l'espace public. Ce monument tire une part de sa signification de celui dont il fait contrepoids.

Il s'agit d'une statue en bronze posée sur un piédestal et une base en granit gris. Vauquelin est représenté debout, légèrement appuyé sur le mât brisé de son navire. Le personnage fait corps avec le tronçon du mât. Son pied gauche repose sur un fût de canon brisé. Il tient dans la main droite une partie d'un drapeau fixée au mât auquel il s'agrippe. Sa main gauche est tournée vers l'arrière dans un geste de protection. Le fourreau de son épée est vide. Toute l'œuvre évoque la défaite et le naufrage, mais le personnage garde la tête haute et le regard plein de défi. La composition montre Vauquelin poussé dans ses derniers retranchements. Elle contribue à l'image d'un héros courageux. Il y a peu d'éléments contextuels entourant le personnage. Le traitement de l'ensemble est de facture conventionnelle et classique.
Événements associés
Jean Vauquelin naît à Dieppe en 1728. Il s'affirme rapidement comme un excellent navigateur et sert comme officier pendant la guerre de la Succession d'Autriche. En 1750, il devient capitaine de la marine marchande. Au début de la guerre de Sept Ans, il s'engage dans les combats qui se livrent en Nouvelle-France, au moment de la conquête. Il s'illustre à Louisbourg, en 1758, où il ralentit l'avancée de Wolfe vers Québec. En 1760, sur sa frégate Atalante, il participe aux manœuvres autour de Québec et riposte à l'offensive anglaise jusqu'à épuisement de ses munitions. Il est grièvement blessé et fait prisonnier. Il est rapatrié en France où il poursuit sa carrière navale à partir de 1764. Il meurt à Rochefort en 1772.
Eugène-Paul Benet
Eugène-Paul Benet naît à Dieppe en 1863. Il reçoit sa formation en sculpture de Laurent Marquestre et Alexandre Falguière. Il obtient une médaille au Salon de Paris en 1884, puis de nouveau en 1897 et en 1900. Plusieurs de ses œuvres sont conservées au musée de Dieppe. Son œuvre monumentale la plus importante en France est le Monument aux morts d'Orbais (Marne) (non daté) et celui de Beaumesnil (Eure) (1920), connu aussi sous le titre « Le Poilu victorieux ». Il meurt à Paris en 1942.
Prix et distinctions
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1884
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1887
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1900
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Le monument est situé dans la partie nord de la place Vauquelin, derrière la fontaine. Le choix de l'emplacement est stratégique, dans l'axe de la place Jacques-Cartier dominée par la statue de l'amiral Nelson, vainqueur de la bataille de Trafalgar. Deux hommes de courage, l'un français et l'autre anglais, se font face dans l'espace public. Ce monument tire une part de sa signification de celui dont il fait contrepoids.

Il s'agit d'une statue en bronze posée sur un piédestal et une base en granit gris. Vauquelin est représenté debout, légèrement appuyé sur le mât brisé de son navire. Le personnage fait corps avec le tronçon du mât. Son pied gauche repose sur un fût de canon brisé. Il tient dans la main droite une partie d'un drapeau fixée au mât auquel il s'agrippe. Sa main gauche est tournée vers l'arrière dans un geste de protection. Le fourreau de son épée est vide. Toute l'œuvre évoque la défaite et le naufrage, mais le personnage garde la tête haute et le regard plein de défi. La composition montre Vauquelin poussé dans ses derniers retranchements. Elle contribue à l'image d'un héros courageux. Il y a peu d'éléments contextuels entourant le personnage. Le traitement de l'ensemble est de facture conventionnelle et classique.
Événements associés
Jean Vauquelin naît à Dieppe en 1728. Il s'affirme rapidement comme un excellent navigateur et sert comme officier pendant la guerre de la Succession d'Autriche. En 1750, il devient capitaine de la marine marchande. Au début de la guerre de Sept Ans, il s'engage dans les combats qui se livrent en Nouvelle-France, au moment de la conquête. Il s'illustre à Louisbourg, en 1758, où il ralentit l'avancée de Wolfe vers Québec. En 1760, sur sa frégate Atalante, il participe aux manœuvres autour de Québec et riposte à l'offensive anglaise jusqu'à épuisement de ses munitions. Il est grièvement blessé et fait prisonnier. Il est rapatrié en France où il poursuit sa carrière navale à partir de 1764. Il meurt à Rochefort en 1772.
Eugène-Paul Benet
Eugène-Paul Benet naît à Dieppe en 1863. Il reçoit sa formation en sculpture de Laurent Marquestre et Alexandre Falguière. Il obtient une médaille au Salon de Paris en 1884, puis de nouveau en 1897 et en 1900. Plusieurs de ses œuvres sont conservées au musée de Dieppe. Son œuvre monumentale la plus importante en France est le Monument aux morts d'Orbais (Marne) (non daté) et celui de Beaumesnil (Eure) (1920), connu aussi sous le titre « Le Poilu victorieux ». Il meurt à Paris en 1942.
Prix et distinctions
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1884
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1887
  • Médaille du Salon de Paris, 1900
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1927
Mode d'acquisition
Don par souscription publique
Technique(s)
Bronze coulé; pierre taillée
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
680cm x 400 cm x 400 cm approximatif
Monument à Jean Vauquelin
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Place Vauquelin