Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 la reine Victoria","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-la-reine-victoria\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-la-reine-victoria\/"}
Share
Share
Marshall Wood

Monument à la reine Victoria

1869
Presentation of the artwork
Ten years after Victoria Square was created, a visit by a member of the royal family, Prince Arthur, afforded the opportunity to launch a public subscription for the purpose of erecting a monument to Queen Victoria in the square named after her. The commission was awarded to the London sculptor Marshall Wood.

The artist portrayed Victoria in 1837, when she was ascending to the throne at age 18. Unlike models inspired by classicism, in which royal figures were portrayed as divinities invested with superhuman powers, Wood presents a head of state who is slender, even fragile, in a pose that is simple and solemn. This portrayal of Victoria corresponds perfectly to the symbol of dignity that the queen embodied for her subjects. She is adorned with her royal attributes: she wears the royal crown with five lilies, an element that recalls that France ruled England for centuries. In her dignified pose, she carries in her left hand, at chest height, a laurel crown, and her right hand bears her sceptre, a symbol of royalty. This monument was the second commemorative monument erected in Montreal, after the Nelson column (1809).
Associated events
Victoria I, the granddaughter of George III, succeeded William IV as monarch of Great Britain and Ireland, from 1837 and 1901, and empress of India, from 1876 to 1901. Her reign, now called the Victorian era, lasted almost 64 years and was marked by the expansion of the British Empire and the industrial revolution. At the time when she ascended to the throne, the empire had just conquered new colonies and it stood alone as the world’s top economic and maritime power. In this context, the queen directed both domestic and foreign affairs, often against her ministers’ advice. Her reign was characterized by the defence and maintenance of conservative values, both political and social.
Marshall Wood
Marshall Wood, born in 1820 in Manchester, England, began to work professionally in London in 1854. His career took flight in 1867, when his sculpture The Song of the Shirt was exhibited at the Salon of the Paris World Fair. The event provided him with recognition throughout Europe and ensured commissions from the colonies and other continents, including that for the statue of Queen Victoria in Montréal. From 1871 to 1873, Wood lived in Canada, where he produced, among other things, the funerary monument erected by the Honourable P.-J.-O. Chauveau, leader of the Senate, to the memory of his three daughters in the Ursulines Chapel in Québec City, as well as a number of busts. Wood died in Brighton, England, in 1882.
Awards and honours
  • Médaille d'or à l'exposition universelle de Paris pour l'œuvre «The song of the shirt» (La chanson de la chemise). , 1867
Presentation of the artwork
Ten years after Victoria Square was created, a visit by a member of the royal family, Prince Arthur, afforded the opportunity to launch a public subscription for the purpose of erecting a monument to Queen Victoria in the square named after her. The commission was awarded to the London sculptor Marshall Wood.

The artist portrayed Victoria in 1837, when she was ascending to the throne at age 18. Unlike models inspired by classicism, in which royal figures were portrayed as divinities invested with superhuman powers, Wood presents a head of state who is slender, even fragile, in a pose that is simple and solemn. This portrayal of Victoria corresponds perfectly to the symbol of dignity that the queen embodied for her subjects. She is adorned with her royal attributes: she wears the royal crown with five lilies, an element that recalls that France ruled England for centuries. In her dignified pose, she carries in her left hand, at chest height, a laurel crown, and her right hand bears her sceptre, a symbol of royalty. This monument was the second commemorative monument erected in Montreal, after the Nelson column (1809).
Associated events
Victoria I, the granddaughter of George III, succeeded William IV as monarch of Great Britain and Ireland, from 1837 and 1901, and empress of India, from 1876 to 1901. Her reign, now called the Victorian era, lasted almost 64 years and was marked by the expansion of the British Empire and the industrial revolution. At the time when she ascended to the throne, the empire had just conquered new colonies and it stood alone as the world’s top economic and maritime power. In this context, the queen directed both domestic and foreign affairs, often against her ministers’ advice. Her reign was characterized by the defence and maintenance of conservative values, both political and social.
Marshall Wood
Marshall Wood, born in 1820 in Manchester, England, began to work professionally in London in 1854. His career took flight in 1867, when his sculpture The Song of the Shirt was exhibited at the Salon of the Paris World Fair. The event provided him with recognition throughout Europe and ensured commissions from the colonies and other continents, including that for the statue of Queen Victoria in Montréal. From 1871 to 1873, Wood lived in Canada, where he produced, among other things, the funerary monument erected by the Honourable P.-J.-O. Chauveau, leader of the Senate, to the memory of his three daughters in the Ursulines Chapel in Québec City, as well as a number of busts. Wood died in Brighton, England, in 1882.
Awards and honours
  • Médaille d'or à l'exposition universelle de Paris pour l'œuvre «The song of the shirt» (La chanson de la chemise). , 1867
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1869
Mode of acquisition:
Donation by public subscription
Accession date
January 1 1872
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
1190 x 437.5 x 437.5 cm
Manufacturer
  • Holbrook & Co Founders Chelsea
Monument à la reine Victoria
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Square Victoria

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 la reine Victoria","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-la-reine-victoria\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-la-reine-victoria\/"}
Partager
Partager
Marshall Wood

Monument à la reine Victoria

1869
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Une dizaine d’années après la création du square Victoria, la visite d’un membre de la famille royale, le prince Arthur, sera l’occasion pour un groupe de citoyens de lancer une souscription publique afin d’édifier un monument à la reine Victoria dans le square éponyme. La commande est confiée au sculpteur londonien Marshall Wood.

L’artiste livre une Victoria de 18 ans, représentée à l’époque où elle accède au trône, en 1837. Contrairement aux modèles inspirés du classicisme où les personnages royaux sont assimilés à des divinités investies de pouvoirs surhumains, Wood trace le portrait d’une chef d’État gracile, sinon fragile, dans une attitude à la fois sobre et solennelle. Cette représentation de Victoria correspond parfaitement au symbole de dignité qu’incarne cette reine auprès de ses sujets. Elle est parée de ses attributs royaux, le front ceint de la couronne royale portant cinq fleurs de lys, élément qui rappelle que la France régna sur l’Angleterre des siècles durant. Dans une pose pleine de dignité, elle porte dans la main gauche, à la hauteur de la poitrine, une couronne de laurier, pendant que de la main droite elle tient son sceptre, signe de royauté. Le monument est le deuxième monument commémoratif érigé à Montréal, après la colonne Nelson (1809).
Événements associés
Petite-fille de George III, Victoria I succède à Guillaume IV, comme reine de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande, de 1837 à 1901, et impératrice des Indes, de 1876 à 1901. Son règne de près de 64 ans, qualifié d’ère victorienne, sera marqué par l’expansion de l’Empire britannique et par la révolution industrielle. Au moment où elle accède au trône, son empire vient de conquérir de nouvelles colonies, et sa domination s’étend à tous les domaines, à titre de première puissance mondiale économique et maritime. Dans ce contexte, la reine veille aussi bien aux affaires intérieures qu’étrangères, souvent à l’encontre de ses ministres. Son règne se caractérise par la défense et le maintien des valeurs conservatrices, tant sur le plan politique que social.
Marshall Wood
Né en 1820, à Manchester en Angleterre, Marshall Wood fait ses débuts professionnels à Londres en 1854. Sa carrière prend son véritable envol en 1867, au moment de la présentation de sa sculpture The Song of the Shirt, exposée au Salon de l’Exposition universelle de Paris. C’est la consécration sur tout le continent européen et l’assurance de commandes en provenance des colonies et des autres continents, d’où la commande de la statue de Victoria pour Montréal. Il séjourne au Canada de 1871 à 1873 et y exécute, entre autres, le monument funéraire que l’honorable M. Chauveau, président du Sénat, élève à ses trois filles dans la chapelle des Ursulines de Québec, ainsi que plusieurs bustes. Il meurt en 1882 à Brighton en Angleterre.
Prix et distinctions
  • Médaille d'or à l'exposition universelle de Paris pour l'œuvre «The song of the shirt» (La chanson de la chemise). , 1867
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Une dizaine d’années après la création du square Victoria, la visite d’un membre de la famille royale, le prince Arthur, sera l’occasion pour un groupe de citoyens de lancer une souscription publique afin d’édifier un monument à la reine Victoria dans le square éponyme. La commande est confiée au sculpteur londonien Marshall Wood.

L’artiste livre une Victoria de 18 ans, représentée à l’époque où elle accède au trône, en 1837. Contrairement aux modèles inspirés du classicisme où les personnages royaux sont assimilés à des divinités investies de pouvoirs surhumains, Wood trace le portrait d’une chef d’État gracile, sinon fragile, dans une attitude à la fois sobre et solennelle. Cette représentation de Victoria correspond parfaitement au symbole de dignité qu’incarne cette reine auprès de ses sujets. Elle est parée de ses attributs royaux, le front ceint de la couronne royale portant cinq fleurs de lys, élément qui rappelle que la France régna sur l’Angleterre des siècles durant. Dans une pose pleine de dignité, elle porte dans la main gauche, à la hauteur de la poitrine, une couronne de laurier, pendant que de la main droite elle tient son sceptre, signe de royauté. Le monument est le deuxième monument commémoratif érigé à Montréal, après la colonne Nelson (1809).
Événements associés
Petite-fille de George III, Victoria I succède à Guillaume IV, comme reine de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande, de 1837 à 1901, et impératrice des Indes, de 1876 à 1901. Son règne de près de 64 ans, qualifié d’ère victorienne, sera marqué par l’expansion de l’Empire britannique et par la révolution industrielle. Au moment où elle accède au trône, son empire vient de conquérir de nouvelles colonies, et sa domination s’étend à tous les domaines, à titre de première puissance mondiale économique et maritime. Dans ce contexte, la reine veille aussi bien aux affaires intérieures qu’étrangères, souvent à l’encontre de ses ministres. Son règne se caractérise par la défense et le maintien des valeurs conservatrices, tant sur le plan politique que social.
Marshall Wood
Né en 1820, à Manchester en Angleterre, Marshall Wood fait ses débuts professionnels à Londres en 1854. Sa carrière prend son véritable envol en 1867, au moment de la présentation de sa sculpture The Song of the Shirt, exposée au Salon de l’Exposition universelle de Paris. C’est la consécration sur tout le continent européen et l’assurance de commandes en provenance des colonies et des autres continents, d’où la commande de la statue de Victoria pour Montréal. Il séjourne au Canada de 1871 à 1873 et y exécute, entre autres, le monument funéraire que l’honorable M. Chauveau, président du Sénat, élève à ses trois filles dans la chapelle des Ursulines de Québec, ainsi que plusieurs bustes. Il meurt en 1882 à Brighton en Angleterre.
Prix et distinctions
  • Médaille d'or à l'exposition universelle de Paris pour l'œuvre «The song of the shirt» (La chanson de la chemise). , 1867
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1869
Mode d'acquisition
Don par souscription publique
Date d'accession
1 janvier 1872
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
1190 x 437.5 x 437.5 cm
Fabricants
  • Holbrook & Co Founders Chelsea
Monument à la reine Victoria
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Square Victoria