Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Norman Bethune","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-norman-bethune\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-norman-bethune\/"}
Share
Share
Jie Situ

Monument à Norman Bethune

1977
Presentation of the artwork
The monument is situated in Place Norman-Bethune, at the corner of Boulevard De Maisonneuve and Rue Guy. In a house in this neighbourhood, Norman Bethune organized painting classes for disadvantaged children.

The marble artwork is a life-size statue of the likeness of Norman Bethune. He is portrayed walking in his military uniform with his operating gown worn over top. Like classic statuary and works of socialist realism, the figure is presented as a hero. His determined expression and serious face convey the values of commitment and idealism.
Associated events
In 1976, the People’s Republic of China gave this monument to the Ville de Montréal. Having worked as a surgeon during the invasion of China by Japan, Norman Bethune is considered a national hero in China, and the Chinese people worship him. He was also a surgeon at the Royal Victoria Hospital in Montréal.
Jie Situ
Presentation of the artwork
The monument is situated in Place Norman-Bethune, at the corner of Boulevard De Maisonneuve and Rue Guy. In a house in this neighbourhood, Norman Bethune organized painting classes for disadvantaged children.

The marble artwork is a life-size statue of the likeness of Norman Bethune. He is portrayed walking in his military uniform with his operating gown worn over top. Like classic statuary and works of socialist realism, the figure is presented as a hero. His determined expression and serious face convey the values of commitment and idealism.
Associated events
In 1976, the People’s Republic of China gave this monument to the Ville de Montréal. Having worked as a surgeon during the invasion of China by Japan, Norman Bethune is considered a national hero in China, and the Chinese people worship him. He was also a surgeon at the Royal Victoria Hospital in Montréal.
Jie Situ
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1977
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
April 13 1977
Technique(s)
Direct carving
Materials
Marble; granite
Support
Stone
General dimensions
380 x 100 x 100 cm
Manufacturer
  • Usine de sculpture et de construction artistique de Pékin
Monument à Norman Bethune
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Place Norman-Bethune

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Norman Bethune","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-norman-bethune\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-norman-bethune\/"}
Partager
Partager
Jie Situ

Monument à Norman Bethune

1977
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Le monument est situé sur la place Norman-Bethune, à l’angle du boulevard De Maisonneuve et de la rue Guy. Dans une maison de ce quartier, Normand Bethune a organisé des cours de peinture destinés aux enfants démunis.

L'œuvre en marbre est une statue grandeur nature à l’effigie de Norman Bethune. Il est représenté en marche dans ses habits militaires et revêtu de sa blouse de chirurgien. À la manière de la statuaire classique et du réalisme socialiste, le personnage apparaît tel un héros. Son allure déterminée et son visage grave véhiculent des valeurs d'engagement et d'idéal.
Événements associés
En 1976, la République populaire de Chine a offert ce monument à la Ville de Montréal. Ayant œuvré en tant que chirurgien pendant l'invasion de la Chine par le Japon, Norman Bethune est considéré comme un héros national en Chine, et le peuple chinois lui voue un véritable culte. Il fut aussi chirurgien à l'hôpital Royal-Victoria de Montréal.
Jie Situ
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Le monument est situé sur la place Norman-Bethune, à l’angle du boulevard De Maisonneuve et de la rue Guy. Dans une maison de ce quartier, Normand Bethune a organisé des cours de peinture destinés aux enfants démunis.

L'œuvre en marbre est une statue grandeur nature à l’effigie de Norman Bethune. Il est représenté en marche dans ses habits militaires et revêtu de sa blouse de chirurgien. À la manière de la statuaire classique et du réalisme socialiste, le personnage apparaît tel un héros. Son allure déterminée et son visage grave véhiculent des valeurs d'engagement et d'idéal.
Événements associés
En 1976, la République populaire de Chine a offert ce monument à la Ville de Montréal. Ayant œuvré en tant que chirurgien pendant l'invasion de la Chine par le Japon, Norman Bethune est considéré comme un héros national en Chine, et le peuple chinois lui voue un véritable culte. Il fut aussi chirurgien à l'hôpital Royal-Victoria de Montréal.
Jie Situ
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1977
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
13 April 1977
Technique(s)
Taille directe
Matériaux
Marbre; granit
Support
Pierre
Dimensions générales
380 x 100 x 100 cm
Fabricants
  • Usine de sculpture et de construction artistique de Pékin
Monument à Norman Bethune
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Place Norman-Bethune