Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-paul-de-chomedey-sieur-de-maisonneuve\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-paul-de-chomedey-sieur-de-maisonneuve\/"}
Share
Share
Louis-Philippe Hébert

Monument à Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve

1893
Presentation of the artwork
The monument, standing in the centre of a water basin formed of four half-circles, is composed of a pedestal and a square column. The fourteen bronze elements of the composition are articulated around these architectural elements designed by architects Mesnard and Venne. Place d’Armes was the perfect spot to celebrate the founder of Montréal, as it was the central square of the historic city.

At the top of the square column is the statue of Maisonneuve, founder and first governor of Ville-Marie. His eyes fixed on the horizon, he holds the flag of the king of France in his right hand; his left hand rests on the pommel of his sword.

Just below, on the pediment of the column, is a scroll bearing the first coat of arms of the city of Montréal, designed by the city’s first mayor, Jacques Viger.

The Statuary Groups
A bit lower, leaning against each corner of the column, statuary groups represent four people linked to the history of the foundation of Montréal. The male characters are armed and on the lookout, testifying to the state of mind that ruled at Ville-Marie at the time.

On the southwest side is Jeanne Mance (1606–73), the first lay nurse in North America and founder of the first hospital in Montréal, the Hôtel-Dieu. A woman of character and devotion, who both dispensed healthcare and taught, she is portrayed with a soft, calm face, bandaging a child’s hand. On 17 May 2012, Jeanne Mance was recognized by the municipal council as a founder of Montréal on an equal footing with the founder Paul de Chomedey, Sieur de Maisonneuve.

On the southeast side is Raphaël-Lambert Closse (1618–62), major of the garrison and the governor’s lieutenant. A soldier by trade, he lies in ambush, ready to strike. He looks alert and holds his dog Pilotte in the crook of his arm.

On the northeast side is Charles Lemoyne (1626–85), who, after serving in Huronia, moved to Montréal, where he was made responsible for the security of Ville-Marie. Embodying the typical colonist, both farmer and soldier, he is armed with a sickle and a gun – the symbols of survival.

On the northwest side is an anonymous Iroquois warrior. The adventures of Iroquois warriors, recounted in the Jesuit Relations, had caught the sculptor’s imagination since childhood, and were later used as themes in many of his works.

The Bas-reliefs
Between the lateral groups are four bas-reliefs that portray important events related to the foundation or development of Montréal.

The bas-relief on the south face depicts the signature of the act of foundation of Ville-Marie in Meudon, France, by the members of the Société de Notre-Dame de Montréal, which was established with a view to creating a settlement on the island. From left to right are Baron Gaston de Renty; Pierre Chevrier, Baron of Fancamp; Jean-Jacques Olier; and Jérôme Le Royer, Sieur de La Dauversière.

On the west face is an illustration of the exploit at Place d'Armes, featuring Maisonneuve alone facing an Iroquois chief and his army, stealing victory on the very site of today’s Place d'Armes.

On the north face is a portrayal of the heroic death of Dollard at Long Sault. In an act of bravery, Dollard and 17 companions ventured far from Ville-Marie on a scouting mission to block the route to possible attack. They had solemnly sworn to persist to the end. Ambushed in a small abandoned fort, surrounded by more than 300 warriors, they had no choice but to keep to their vow.

On the east face is an illustration of the taking possession – that is, the celebration of the first mass – on the day of arrival of Montréal’s founders, on 17 May 1642, by Father Barthélémy Vimont, Superior of the Jesuits.

The Waterspouts
At the bottom of each face of the pedestal is a bronze mask covering a spout that pours water into the basin. These four mythical figures, inspired by different portrayals of the god Bacchus, symbolize the elements forming the environment of the people featured.

Three of the masks are decorated with elements borrowed from the plant and animal kingdoms: the one on the west has a horn; the one on the north, a fish; and the one on the east, a ram. The fourth is decorated with items associated with the Aboriginal world: it is topped with an animal pelt with a fox’s head from which a feather sticks out, overlapped by a quiver and a tomahawk. The masks dilute the dramatic nature of the monument by celebrating the good things in life.
Associated events
Paul de Chomedey, Sieur de Maisonneuve (1612–76) was the founder and first governor of Ville-Marie (Montréal). Having arrived from France a few months before, he left Puiseaux, in the Québec City region, on 8 May 1642 with two ships headed for Montréal to live with the French settlers. Accompanying him were Jeanne Mance, Mme de La Peltrie, Father Barthélemy Vimont, and Charles Huault, Chevalier de Montmagny. In April 1891, a group of citizens submitted to the city authorities a plan to erect a monument in memory of Sieur de Maisonneuve. The municipal council approved, and the committee gave a commission for execution of the monument to sculptor Louis-Philippe Hébert. The project was part of celebrations for the 250th anniversary of the founding of Montréal.
Louis-Philippe Hébert
Louis-Philippe Hébert (27 January 1850, Sainte-Sophie-d’Halifax, Québec – 13 June 1917, Westmount, Québec) received training in the Quebec tradition of sculpting in wood passed down from the eighteenth century. He quickly turned toward the complex techniques of bronze casting that he discovered during his frequent visits to Paris. An elegant and conscientious artist, Hébert was able to assimilate the essentials of this method. With his majestic artworks, he marked a fundamental step forward in the art of sculpting in Québec, which also brought the province across the threshold of modernity.
Awards and honours
  • Chevalier de Saint-Michel et de Saint-Georges, 1903
  • Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur, 1901
  • Médaille de la Confédération, 1894
  • membre de la Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, 1880
Presentation of the artwork
The monument, standing in the centre of a water basin formed of four half-circles, is composed of a pedestal and a square column. The fourteen bronze elements of the composition are articulated around these architectural elements designed by architects Mesnard and Venne. Place d’Armes was the perfect spot to celebrate the founder of Montréal, as it was the central square of the historic city.

At the top of the square column is the statue of Maisonneuve, founder and first governor of Ville-Marie. His eyes fixed on the horizon, he holds the flag of the king of France in his right hand; his left hand rests on the pommel of his sword.

Just below, on the pediment of the column, is a scroll bearing the first coat of arms of the city of Montréal, designed by the city’s first mayor, Jacques Viger.

The Statuary Groups
A bit lower, leaning against each corner of the column, statuary groups represent four people linked to the history of the foundation of Montréal. The male characters are armed and on the lookout, testifying to the state of mind that ruled at Ville-Marie at the time.

On the southwest side is Jeanne Mance (1606–73), the first lay nurse in North America and founder of the first hospital in Montréal, the Hôtel-Dieu. A woman of character and devotion, who both dispensed healthcare and taught, she is portrayed with a soft, calm face, bandaging a child’s hand. On 17 May 2012, Jeanne Mance was recognized by the municipal council as a founder of Montréal on an equal footing with the founder Paul de Chomedey, Sieur de Maisonneuve.

On the southeast side is Raphaël-Lambert Closse (1618–62), major of the garrison and the governor’s lieutenant. A soldier by trade, he lies in ambush, ready to strike. He looks alert and holds his dog Pilotte in the crook of his arm.

On the northeast side is Charles Lemoyne (1626–85), who, after serving in Huronia, moved to Montréal, where he was made responsible for the security of Ville-Marie. Embodying the typical colonist, both farmer and soldier, he is armed with a sickle and a gun – the symbols of survival.

On the northwest side is an anonymous Iroquois warrior. The adventures of Iroquois warriors, recounted in the Jesuit Relations, had caught the sculptor’s imagination since childhood, and were later used as themes in many of his works.

The Bas-reliefs
Between the lateral groups are four bas-reliefs that portray important events related to the foundation or development of Montréal.

The bas-relief on the south face depicts the signature of the act of foundation of Ville-Marie in Meudon, France, by the members of the Société de Notre-Dame de Montréal, which was established with a view to creating a settlement on the island. From left to right are Baron Gaston de Renty; Pierre Chevrier, Baron of Fancamp; Jean-Jacques Olier; and Jérôme Le Royer, Sieur de La Dauversière.

On the west face is an illustration of the exploit at Place d'Armes, featuring Maisonneuve alone facing an Iroquois chief and his army, stealing victory on the very site of today’s Place d'Armes.

On the north face is a portrayal of the heroic death of Dollard at Long Sault. In an act of bravery, Dollard and 17 companions ventured far from Ville-Marie on a scouting mission to block the route to possible attack. They had solemnly sworn to persist to the end. Ambushed in a small abandoned fort, surrounded by more than 300 warriors, they had no choice but to keep to their vow.

On the east face is an illustration of the taking possession – that is, the celebration of the first mass – on the day of arrival of Montréal’s founders, on 17 May 1642, by Father Barthélémy Vimont, Superior of the Jesuits.

The Waterspouts
At the bottom of each face of the pedestal is a bronze mask covering a spout that pours water into the basin. These four mythical figures, inspired by different portrayals of the god Bacchus, symbolize the elements forming the environment of the people featured.

Three of the masks are decorated with elements borrowed from the plant and animal kingdoms: the one on the west has a horn; the one on the north, a fish; and the one on the east, a ram. The fourth is decorated with items associated with the Aboriginal world: it is topped with an animal pelt with a fox’s head from which a feather sticks out, overlapped by a quiver and a tomahawk. The masks dilute the dramatic nature of the monument by celebrating the good things in life.
Associated events
Paul de Chomedey, Sieur de Maisonneuve (1612–76) was the founder and first governor of Ville-Marie (Montréal). Having arrived from France a few months before, he left Puiseaux, in the Québec City region, on 8 May 1642 with two ships headed for Montréal to live with the French settlers. Accompanying him were Jeanne Mance, Mme de La Peltrie, Father Barthélemy Vimont, and Charles Huault, Chevalier de Montmagny. In April 1891, a group of citizens submitted to the city authorities a plan to erect a monument in memory of Sieur de Maisonneuve. The municipal council approved, and the committee gave a commission for execution of the monument to sculptor Louis-Philippe Hébert. The project was part of celebrations for the 250th anniversary of the founding of Montréal.
Louis-Philippe Hébert
Louis-Philippe Hébert (27 January 1850, Sainte-Sophie-d’Halifax, Québec – 13 June 1917, Westmount, Québec) received training in the Quebec tradition of sculpting in wood passed down from the eighteenth century. He quickly turned toward the complex techniques of bronze casting that he discovered during his frequent visits to Paris. An elegant and conscientious artist, Hébert was able to assimilate the essentials of this method. With his majestic artworks, he marked a fundamental step forward in the art of sculpting in Québec, which also brought the province across the threshold of modernity.
Awards and honours
  • Chevalier de Saint-Michel et de Saint-Georges, 1903
  • Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur, 1901
  • Médaille de la Confédération, 1894
  • membre de la Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, 1880
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1893
Mode of acquisition:
Donation by public subscription
Accession date
January 1 1895
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
9m de haut
Manufacturer
  • Thiebaut frères Fondeurs
  • Mesnard et Venne
Monument à Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Place d'Armes

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-paul-de-chomedey-sieur-de-maisonneuve\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-paul-de-chomedey-sieur-de-maisonneuve\/"}
Partager
Partager
Louis-Philippe Hébert

Monument à Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve

1893
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Au centre d’un bassin d’eau en forme de quatre demi-cercles, le monument est composé d’un piédestal et d’une colonne carré. Les quatorze éléments de bronze de la composition s’articulent autour de ces éléments architecturaux, conçus par les architectes Mesnard et Venne. Pour célébrer le fondateur de Montréal, la Place d’Armes s’impose car elle est la place centrale de la ville historique.

Tout en haut de la colonne carrée se trouve la statue de Maisonneuve, fondateur et premier gouverneur de Ville-Marie. Le regard au loin, il tient de la main droite le drapeau du roi de France, tandis que sa main gauche repose sur le pommeau de son épée.

Tout juste en dessous se trouve, sur le fronton de la colonne, une cartouche aux premières armoiries de la Ville de Montréal, dessinées par le premier maire de Montréal, Jacques Viger.

Les groupes statuaires
Un peu plus bas, adossé a chacun des angles de la colonne, des groupes statutaires représentent quatre personnages liés à l'histoire de la fondation de Montréal. Les personnages masculins sont armés, en position de guet, témoignant bien de l'état d'esprit qui règne alors à Ville-Marie.

Sur le côté sud-ouest se trouve Jeanne Mance (1606-1673), première infirmière laïque en Amérique du Nord et fondatrice du premier hôpital de Montréal, l'Hôtel-Dieu. Femme de caractère et dévouée, qui soigne et qui instruit, elle est représentée le visage empreint de douceur et de calme, pansant le poignet d'un enfant. Jeanne Mance est reconnue par le conseil municipal, le 17 mai 2012, comme fondatrice de Montréal à l’égal du fondateur Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve.

Sur le côté sud-est est représenté Raphaël-Lambert Closse (1618-1662), major de la garnison et ieutenant du gouverneur. Soldat de métier, embusqué et prêt à intervenir, il a le regard tendu et retient sa chienne Pilotte, en l’entourant de son bras.

Sur le côté nord-est est la statue de Charles Lemoyne (1626-1685) qui, après avoir servi en Huronie, s'installe à Montréal où il est nommé responsable de la sécurité de Ville-Marie. Il incarne le colon type, à la fois moissonneur doublé et soldat : il est armé d'une faucille et d'un fusil, qui sont gages de survie.

Sur le côté nord-ouest, un guerrier iroquois anonyme incarne ces guerriers dont les péripéties, racontées dans Les Relations des Jésuites, ont, depuis l'enfance nourri l’imaginaire du sculpteur et, par la suite, alimenté le thème de plusieurs de ses œuvres.

Les bas-reliefs
Entre chacun des groupes latéraux sont disposés quatre bas-reliefs qui relatent des moments à l'origine de la fondation de Montréal ou marquants dans son développement.

Le bas-relief sur la face sud dépeint la signature de l'acte de fondation de Ville-Marie à Meudon, en France, par les membres de la Société de Notre-Dame de Montréal, créée pour l'implantation d'un établissement sur cette île. De gauche à droite on peut voir le baron Gaston de Renty, Pierre Chevrier, le baron de Fancamp, messieurs Jean-Jacques Olier et Jérôme le Royer de la Dauversière.

Sur la face ouest est illustré l'exploit de la place d'Armes, qui met en scène de Maisonneuve faisant face seul à un chef iroquois et à son armée, enlevant la victoire, en 1644, sur les lieux mêmes de l'actuelle place d'Armes.

Sur la face nord est représentée la mort héroïque de Dollard au Long Sault. Voulant faire acte de bravoure, Dollard et ses dix-sept compagnons partent en éclaireurs, loin de Ville-Marie, pour barrer la route à une éventuelle attaque. Ils ont solennellement juré de tenir jusqu'au dernier. Embusqués dans un petit fort désaffecté, cernés par plus de trois cents guerriers, ils n'ont d'autre choix que de tenir leur serment.

Sur la face est on voit la prise de possession, c’est-à-dire la célébration de la première messe au jour d'arrivée des Montréalistes, le 17 mai 1642, par le Père Barthélémy Vimont, supérieur des Jésuites.

Les gargouilles
Sur chacune des faces du piédestal, tout en bas, quatre masques de bronze recouvrent des gargouilles qui déversent leur jet dans le bassin. Ces figures mythiques, inspirées des différentes représentations du dieu Bacchus, symbolisent les éléments qui composent l'environnement des personnages.

Trois des masques sont parés d'éléments empruntés aux règnes végétal et animal : celui sur le côté ouest compte une corne, celui au nord un poisson et celui à l’est un bélier. Le quatrième est paré d'attributs qui l'associent au monde amérindien: il est coiffé d'une peau d'animal à tête de renard, piquée d'une plume, derrière laquelle dépassent un carquois et un tomahawk. Ces masques atténuent le caractère dramatique du monument, en célébrant les bienfaits de la vie.
Événements associés
Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve (1612-1676) est le fondateur et le premier gouverneur de Ville-Marie (Montréal). Arrivé de France depuis quelques mois, le 8 mai 1642, il quitte Puiseaux, dans la région de Québec, avec deux barques, à destination de l’île de Montréal, pour s’y établir avec des colons français. L’accompagnent Jeanne Mance, Madame de La Peltrie, le Père Barthélemy Vimont et Monsieur le chevalier de Montmagny. En avril 18971, un groupe de citoyens soumet le projet d’ériger un monument à la mémoire de de Maisonneuve aux autorités municipales. Le Conseil municipal donne son aval et le comité commande l'exécution du monument au sculpteur Louis-Philippe Hébert. Ce projet s'inscrit dans les célébrations du 250e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal.
Louis-Philippe Hébert
Louis-Philippe Hébert (27 janvier 1850, Sainte-Sophie-d’Halifax, Québec – 13 juin 1917, Westmount, Québec) est formé dans la tradition québécoise de la sculpture sur bois héritée du XVIIIe siècle. Il se tourne rapidement vers les techniques complexes de la fonte du bronze qu’il découvre au cours de ses fréquents séjours à Paris. Artiste raffiné et consciencieux, Hébert a su assimiler l’essentiel de cette façon de travailler. Par son œuvre magistrale, il marque une étape fondamentale de l’art sculptural du Québec, lui permettant du coup de franchir le seuil de la modernité.
Prix et distinctions
  • Chevalier de Saint-Michel et de Saint-Georges, 1903
  • Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur, 1901
  • Médaille de la Confédération, 1894
  • membre de la Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, 1880
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Au centre d’un bassin d’eau en forme de quatre demi-cercles, le monument est composé d’un piédestal et d’une colonne carré. Les quatorze éléments de bronze de la composition s’articulent autour de ces éléments architecturaux, conçus par les architectes Mesnard et Venne. Pour célébrer le fondateur de Montréal, la Place d’Armes s’impose car elle est la place centrale de la ville historique.

Tout en haut de la colonne carrée se trouve la statue de Maisonneuve, fondateur et premier gouverneur de Ville-Marie. Le regard au loin, il tient de la main droite le drapeau du roi de France, tandis que sa main gauche repose sur le pommeau de son épée.

Tout juste en dessous se trouve, sur le fronton de la colonne, une cartouche aux premières armoiries de la Ville de Montréal, dessinées par le premier maire de Montréal, Jacques Viger.

Les groupes statuaires
Un peu plus bas, adossé a chacun des angles de la colonne, des groupes statutaires représentent quatre personnages liés à l'histoire de la fondation de Montréal. Les personnages masculins sont armés, en position de guet, témoignant bien de l'état d'esprit qui règne alors à Ville-Marie.

Sur le côté sud-ouest se trouve Jeanne Mance (1606-1673), première infirmière laïque en Amérique du Nord et fondatrice du premier hôpital de Montréal, l'Hôtel-Dieu. Femme de caractère et dévouée, qui soigne et qui instruit, elle est représentée le visage empreint de douceur et de calme, pansant le poignet d'un enfant. Jeanne Mance est reconnue par le conseil municipal, le 17 mai 2012, comme fondatrice de Montréal à l’égal du fondateur Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve.

Sur le côté sud-est est représenté Raphaël-Lambert Closse (1618-1662), major de la garnison et ieutenant du gouverneur. Soldat de métier, embusqué et prêt à intervenir, il a le regard tendu et retient sa chienne Pilotte, en l’entourant de son bras.

Sur le côté nord-est est la statue de Charles Lemoyne (1626-1685) qui, après avoir servi en Huronie, s'installe à Montréal où il est nommé responsable de la sécurité de Ville-Marie. Il incarne le colon type, à la fois moissonneur doublé et soldat : il est armé d'une faucille et d'un fusil, qui sont gages de survie.

Sur le côté nord-ouest, un guerrier iroquois anonyme incarne ces guerriers dont les péripéties, racontées dans Les Relations des Jésuites, ont, depuis l'enfance nourri l’imaginaire du sculpteur et, par la suite, alimenté le thème de plusieurs de ses œuvres.

Les bas-reliefs
Entre chacun des groupes latéraux sont disposés quatre bas-reliefs qui relatent des moments à l'origine de la fondation de Montréal ou marquants dans son développement.

Le bas-relief sur la face sud dépeint la signature de l'acte de fondation de Ville-Marie à Meudon, en France, par les membres de la Société de Notre-Dame de Montréal, créée pour l'implantation d'un établissement sur cette île. De gauche à droite on peut voir le baron Gaston de Renty, Pierre Chevrier, le baron de Fancamp, messieurs Jean-Jacques Olier et Jérôme le Royer de la Dauversière.

Sur la face ouest est illustré l'exploit de la place d'Armes, qui met en scène de Maisonneuve faisant face seul à un chef iroquois et à son armée, enlevant la victoire, en 1644, sur les lieux mêmes de l'actuelle place d'Armes.

Sur la face nord est représentée la mort héroïque de Dollard au Long Sault. Voulant faire acte de bravoure, Dollard et ses dix-sept compagnons partent en éclaireurs, loin de Ville-Marie, pour barrer la route à une éventuelle attaque. Ils ont solennellement juré de tenir jusqu'au dernier. Embusqués dans un petit fort désaffecté, cernés par plus de trois cents guerriers, ils n'ont d'autre choix que de tenir leur serment.

Sur la face est on voit la prise de possession, c’est-à-dire la célébration de la première messe au jour d'arrivée des Montréalistes, le 17 mai 1642, par le Père Barthélémy Vimont, supérieur des Jésuites.

Les gargouilles
Sur chacune des faces du piédestal, tout en bas, quatre masques de bronze recouvrent des gargouilles qui déversent leur jet dans le bassin. Ces figures mythiques, inspirées des différentes représentations du dieu Bacchus, symbolisent les éléments qui composent l'environnement des personnages.

Trois des masques sont parés d'éléments empruntés aux règnes végétal et animal : celui sur le côté ouest compte une corne, celui au nord un poisson et celui à l’est un bélier. Le quatrième est paré d'attributs qui l'associent au monde amérindien: il est coiffé d'une peau d'animal à tête de renard, piquée d'une plume, derrière laquelle dépassent un carquois et un tomahawk. Ces masques atténuent le caractère dramatique du monument, en célébrant les bienfaits de la vie.
Événements associés
Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve (1612-1676) est le fondateur et le premier gouverneur de Ville-Marie (Montréal). Arrivé de France depuis quelques mois, le 8 mai 1642, il quitte Puiseaux, dans la région de Québec, avec deux barques, à destination de l’île de Montréal, pour s’y établir avec des colons français. L’accompagnent Jeanne Mance, Madame de La Peltrie, le Père Barthélemy Vimont et Monsieur le chevalier de Montmagny. En avril 18971, un groupe de citoyens soumet le projet d’ériger un monument à la mémoire de de Maisonneuve aux autorités municipales. Le Conseil municipal donne son aval et le comité commande l'exécution du monument au sculpteur Louis-Philippe Hébert. Ce projet s'inscrit dans les célébrations du 250e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal.
Louis-Philippe Hébert
Louis-Philippe Hébert (27 janvier 1850, Sainte-Sophie-d’Halifax, Québec – 13 juin 1917, Westmount, Québec) est formé dans la tradition québécoise de la sculpture sur bois héritée du XVIIIe siècle. Il se tourne rapidement vers les techniques complexes de la fonte du bronze qu’il découvre au cours de ses fréquents séjours à Paris. Artiste raffiné et consciencieux, Hébert a su assimiler l’essentiel de cette façon de travailler. Par son œuvre magistrale, il marque une étape fondamentale de l’art sculptural du Québec, lui permettant du coup de franchir le seuil de la modernité.
Prix et distinctions
  • Chevalier de Saint-Michel et de Saint-Georges, 1903
  • Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur, 1901
  • Médaille de la Confédération, 1894
  • membre de la Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, 1880
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1893
Mode d'acquisition
Don par souscription publique
Date d'accession
1 janvier 1895
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
9m de haut
Fabricants
  • Thiebaut frères Fondeurs
  • Mesnard et Venne
Monument à Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Place d'Armes