Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Robert Burns","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-robert-burns\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-robert-burns\/"}
Share
Share
Georges Anderson Lawson

Monument à Robert Burns

1930
Presentation of the artwork
The bronzes in this monument form a posthumous replica of a work the original of which stands in Ayr, Scotland, poet Robert Burns’s county of birth. The monument was donated by a committee of citizens of Scottish origin (the Franco-Scottish Association of Montréal) to mark the 83rd anniversary of the death of their homeland’s most famous poet. The Scottish sculptor G. A. Lawson chose to portray Burn as a young man, standing, his right leg slightly advanced, in a pose in which he was mentally beating the measure of one of his famous ballads. The three bas-reliefs on the granite base illustrate scenes from his poems, including a rural life in which toil and legends were interwoven. Although Burns never came to Canada, this monument is intended to manifest the attachment of members of the Montréal Scottish community to their roots.
Associated events
Robert Burns, the national poet of Scotland, drew his inspiration from popular culture and traditional songs. Born in 1759, three kilometres south of Ayr, he restored vigour and lyricism to the Scots language. He began composing songs and poems when he was 13 years old and published his first anthology in Scots, Poems Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect, in 1786. The works of this forerunner of romanticism were reflected in those by the composer Robert Schumann and by the artist Eugène Delacroix in the painting La Ballade de Tam O’Shanter (1796). Burns died on 21 July 1796 in Dumfries, southwest Scotland.
Georges Anderson Lawson
Sculptor George Anderson Lawson was associated with the New Sculpture movement during the Victorian era. Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1832, he built his reputation by producing likenesses of distinguished citizens. After visiting Rome, he lived in Liverpool, where, in 1864, he won the competition to execute the Monument to Wellington, with his architect brother Andrew Lawson. Two years later, Lawson moved to London. Aside from the Monument to Robert Burns in Ayr, Scotland, he created statues of, among others, Robert the Bruce, Baillie Nicol Jarvie, and Diana Vernon composing the Monument to Sir Walter Scott (1874), in Edinburgh. He died in Richmond, United Kingdom, in 1904.
Presentation of the artwork
The bronzes in this monument form a posthumous replica of a work the original of which stands in Ayr, Scotland, poet Robert Burns’s county of birth. The monument was donated by a committee of citizens of Scottish origin (the Franco-Scottish Association of Montréal) to mark the 83rd anniversary of the death of their homeland’s most famous poet. The Scottish sculptor G. A. Lawson chose to portray Burn as a young man, standing, his right leg slightly advanced, in a pose in which he was mentally beating the measure of one of his famous ballads. The three bas-reliefs on the granite base illustrate scenes from his poems, including a rural life in which toil and legends were interwoven. Although Burns never came to Canada, this monument is intended to manifest the attachment of members of the Montréal Scottish community to their roots.
Associated events
Robert Burns, the national poet of Scotland, drew his inspiration from popular culture and traditional songs. Born in 1759, three kilometres south of Ayr, he restored vigour and lyricism to the Scots language. He began composing songs and poems when he was 13 years old and published his first anthology in Scots, Poems Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect, in 1786. The works of this forerunner of romanticism were reflected in those by the composer Robert Schumann and by the artist Eugène Delacroix in the painting La Ballade de Tam O’Shanter (1796). Burns died on 21 July 1796 in Dumfries, southwest Scotland.
Georges Anderson Lawson
Sculptor George Anderson Lawson was associated with the New Sculpture movement during the Victorian era. Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1832, he built his reputation by producing likenesses of distinguished citizens. After visiting Rome, he lived in Liverpool, where, in 1864, he won the competition to execute the Monument to Wellington, with his architect brother Andrew Lawson. Two years later, Lawson moved to London. Aside from the Monument to Robert Burns in Ayr, Scotland, he created statues of, among others, Robert the Bruce, Baillie Nicol Jarvie, and Diana Vernon composing the Monument to Sir Walter Scott (1874), in Edinburgh. He died in Richmond, United Kingdom, in 1904.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1930
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 1 1930
Technique(s)
Cast bronze
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
511 x 276 x 276 cm
Manufacturer
  • A. D. Burton Founder
Monument à Robert Burns
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Square Dorchester

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Robert Burns","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-robert-burns\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-robert-burns\/"}
Partager
Partager
Georges Anderson Lawson

Monument à Robert Burns

1930
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Les bronzes de ce monument constituent une réplique posthume d'une œuvre dont l'original est installé à Ayr, en Écosse, dans le comté natal du poète Robert Burns. Il s’agit ici d’un don d’un comité de citoyens d’origine écossaise (Franco-Scottish Association of Montréal) afin de marquer le 83e anniversaire de la mort du plus célèbre de leurs poètes. Le sculpteur écossais G. A. Lawson a choisi de représenter Burns encore jeune, debout, la jambe droite légèrement avancée, dans une pose où il bat mentalement la mesure d’une de ces célèbres ballades. Les trois bas-reliefs sur le socle de granit illustrent des scènes de ses poèmes, dont la vie campagnarde tissée de labeurs et de légendes. Bien que Burns ne soit jamais venu au Canada, ce monument s’avère la manifestation de l’attachement des membres la communauté écossaise de Montréal à leurs racines.
Événements associés
Barde national de l’Écosse, Robert Burns puise son inspiration dans la culture populaire et le répertoire de la chanson traditionnelle. Né en 1759, à 3 km au sud d’Ayr, il redonne au dialecte écossais sa vigueur et son lyrisme. Il compose des chansons et des poèmes dès l’âge de 13 ans et fait paraître en 1786 son premier recueil en écossais, Poems Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect. L’œuvre de ce précurseur du romantisme trouve un écho chez le compositeur Robert Schumann et auprès de l’artiste Eugène Delacroix, dans le tableau La Ballade de Tam O’Shanter (1796). Burns meurt le 21 juillet 1796 à Dumfries, au sud-ouest de l'Écosse.
Georges Anderson Lawson
George Anderson Lawson fut un sculpteur associé au mouvement de la Nouvelle Sculpture durant la période victorienne. Né à Édimbourg en Écosse en 1832, il se bâtit une réputation en réalisant des effigies de citoyens distingués. Après avoir visité Rome, il séjourne à Liverpool, où en 1864, il remporte le concours pour le Monument à Wellington, avec son frère architecte Andrew Lawson. Deux ans plus tard, Lawson s’établit à Londres. Néanmoins, il maintiendra ses contacts avec ses commanditaires et des artistes en Écosse. Outre le Monument à Robert Burns à Ayr en Écosse, il est l’auteur d’autres statues, dont celles de Robert the Bruce, Baillie Nicol Jarvie and Diana Vernon composant le Monument à Sir Walter Scott (1874), à Édimbourg. Il s’éteint à Richmond au Royaume-Uni, en 1904.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Les bronzes de ce monument constituent une réplique posthume d'une œuvre dont l'original est installé à Ayr, en Écosse, dans le comté natal du poète Robert Burns. Il s’agit ici d’un don d’un comité de citoyens d’origine écossaise (Franco-Scottish Association of Montréal) afin de marquer le 83e anniversaire de la mort du plus célèbre de leurs poètes. Le sculpteur écossais G. A. Lawson a choisi de représenter Burns encore jeune, debout, la jambe droite légèrement avancée, dans une pose où il bat mentalement la mesure d’une de ces célèbres ballades. Les trois bas-reliefs sur le socle de granit illustrent des scènes de ses poèmes, dont la vie campagnarde tissée de labeurs et de légendes. Bien que Burns ne soit jamais venu au Canada, ce monument s’avère la manifestation de l’attachement des membres la communauté écossaise de Montréal à leurs racines.
Événements associés
Barde national de l’Écosse, Robert Burns puise son inspiration dans la culture populaire et le répertoire de la chanson traditionnelle. Né en 1759, à 3 km au sud d’Ayr, il redonne au dialecte écossais sa vigueur et son lyrisme. Il compose des chansons et des poèmes dès l’âge de 13 ans et fait paraître en 1786 son premier recueil en écossais, Poems Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect. L’œuvre de ce précurseur du romantisme trouve un écho chez le compositeur Robert Schumann et auprès de l’artiste Eugène Delacroix, dans le tableau La Ballade de Tam O’Shanter (1796). Burns meurt le 21 juillet 1796 à Dumfries, au sud-ouest de l'Écosse.
Georges Anderson Lawson
George Anderson Lawson fut un sculpteur associé au mouvement de la Nouvelle Sculpture durant la période victorienne. Né à Édimbourg en Écosse en 1832, il se bâtit une réputation en réalisant des effigies de citoyens distingués. Après avoir visité Rome, il séjourne à Liverpool, où en 1864, il remporte le concours pour le Monument à Wellington, avec son frère architecte Andrew Lawson. Deux ans plus tard, Lawson s’établit à Londres. Néanmoins, il maintiendra ses contacts avec ses commanditaires et des artistes en Écosse. Outre le Monument à Robert Burns à Ayr en Écosse, il est l’auteur d’autres statues, dont celles de Robert the Bruce, Baillie Nicol Jarvie and Diana Vernon composant le Monument à Sir Walter Scott (1874), à Édimbourg. Il s’éteint à Richmond au Royaume-Uni, en 1904.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1930
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 January 1930
Technique(s)
Bronze coulé
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
511 x 276 x 276 cm
Fabricants
  • A. D. Burton Founder
Monument à Robert Burns
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Square Dorchester