Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 sir John A. Macdonald","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/"}
Share
Share
George Edward Wade

Monument à sir John A. Macdonald

1895
Presentation of the artwork
In 1895, the site chosen for installation of the monument to Sir John Alexander Macdonald was the south part of Dominion Square, positioning it as the focal point of a long perspective view. In 1967, this part of the square was renamed Place du Canada, which was a perfect fit with the presence of the monument, Macdonald having been one of the Fathers of Confederation and Canada’s first prime minister.

Sheltered under an immense canopy, the statue of Macdonald, twice life size, is planted firmly. He is portrayed in his official function as State dignitary of the Parliament of Canada, dressed in the costume of a Privy Imperial Councillor. Following the sculptural convention of the time, he holds a document in his hand, as did all prominent politicians in their statues. The canopy sits on an elevated pedestal, and its coffered vault is supported by 12 columns with Corinthian capitals, arranged in threes at each corner. On top of the vault, a fluted column, tapered at the top, supports an allegorical figure, draped in Greek style and arranged as a crown, like a cathedral spire. The figure symbolizes Canada, and the seven boys with linked arms that hold each of the shields at the foot of the column represent the seven provinces. The grouping composed of the column, “Canada,” and the “seven provinces” sits on four elongated lions at each corner of the monument.

With its allegorical figures and decorative elements, the monument underlines the major events of Macdonald’s government, which contributed to the expansion of Canada. Among the monuments erected to the memory of Macdonald, the one in Montréal is the most imposing and elaborate.
Associated events
Sir John Alexander Macdonald, a lawyer and businessman, was, along with Sir George-Étienne Cartier, the great architect of Canadian Confederation. He was born in Glasgow, Scotland, and arrived in Canada with his family when he was five. In 1867, he and Cartier presided over the first cabinet of the Dominion of Canada. He was prime minister from 1867 to 1873, and then from 1878 to 1891. Under his government, the first trans-Canadian railway was completed under the aegis of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company. Canada’s first prime minister, Macdonald died in Ottawa in 1891.
George Edward Wade
Presentation of the artwork
In 1895, the site chosen for installation of the monument to Sir John Alexander Macdonald was the south part of Dominion Square, positioning it as the focal point of a long perspective view. In 1967, this part of the square was renamed Place du Canada, which was a perfect fit with the presence of the monument, Macdonald having been one of the Fathers of Confederation and Canada’s first prime minister.

Sheltered under an immense canopy, the statue of Macdonald, twice life size, is planted firmly. He is portrayed in his official function as State dignitary of the Parliament of Canada, dressed in the costume of a Privy Imperial Councillor. Following the sculptural convention of the time, he holds a document in his hand, as did all prominent politicians in their statues. The canopy sits on an elevated pedestal, and its coffered vault is supported by 12 columns with Corinthian capitals, arranged in threes at each corner. On top of the vault, a fluted column, tapered at the top, supports an allegorical figure, draped in Greek style and arranged as a crown, like a cathedral spire. The figure symbolizes Canada, and the seven boys with linked arms that hold each of the shields at the foot of the column represent the seven provinces. The grouping composed of the column, “Canada,” and the “seven provinces” sits on four elongated lions at each corner of the monument.

With its allegorical figures and decorative elements, the monument underlines the major events of Macdonald’s government, which contributed to the expansion of Canada. Among the monuments erected to the memory of Macdonald, the one in Montréal is the most imposing and elaborate.
Associated events
Sir John Alexander Macdonald, a lawyer and businessman, was, along with Sir George-Étienne Cartier, the great architect of Canadian Confederation. He was born in Glasgow, Scotland, and arrived in Canada with his family when he was five. In 1867, he and Cartier presided over the first cabinet of the Dominion of Canada. He was prime minister from 1867 to 1873, and then from 1878 to 1891. Under his government, the first trans-Canadian railway was completed under the aegis of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company. Canada’s first prime minister, Macdonald died in Ottawa in 1891.
George Edward Wade
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1895
Mode of acquisition:
Donation by public subscription
Accession date
June 6 1895
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
1800 x 486 x 432 cm
Manufacturer
  • Morris Singer Art Foundry LTD
  • Reid, Robert
Monument à sir John A. Macdonald
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Place du Canada

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2017

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 sir John A. Macdonald","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-john-a-macdonald\/"}
Partager
Partager
George Edward Wade

Monument à sir John A. Macdonald

1895
Présentation de l'oeuvre
En 1895, l’emplacement retenu pour l’installation du Monument à sir John Alexander Macdonald est la partie sud du square Dominion, le positionnant au point focal d’une longue perspective. En 1967, cette partie du square est renommée place du Canada, ce qui cadre parfaitement avec la présence du monument, Macdonald ayant été l’un des « Pères » de la Confédération (Dominion du Canada) et son premier ministre.

Abritée sous un immense baldaquin, la statue de Macdonald est campée de plain-pied, deux fois plus grand que nature. Il est représenté dans ses fonctions officielles de haut dignitaire du Parlement canadien, vêtu de son costume de conseiller impérial privé. Conformément à la convention sculpturale d’alors, il tient à la main un document, comme tous les personnages politiques. Le baldaquin repose sur un socle élevé, et sa voûte à caissons est soutenue par un ensemble de 12 colonnes à chapiteaux corinthiens, groupées par trois, à chacune des extrémités. Au sommet de la voûte, une colonne cannelée, effilée vers le haut, est surmontée d’une figure allégorique, drapée à la grecque et disposée en couronnement, comme une flèche de cathédrale. Elle symbolise le Canada, tandis que les sept garçons aux bras entrelacés qui retiennent chacun des boucliers au pied de la colonne représentent les sept provinces. L’ensemble composé de la colonne, du « Canada » et des « sept provinces » repose sur quatre lions allongés à chaque coin du monument.

Par ses figures allégoriques, tout comme ses éléments décoratifs, le monument souligne les faits majeurs du gouvernement de Macdonald qui ont contribué à l’expansion du Canada. Parmi les monuments érigés à la mémoire de Macdonald, celui de Montréal demeure le plus imposant et le plus élaboré.
Événements associés
Sir John Alexander Macdonald, avocat et homme d’affaires, fut le grand architecte de la Confédération canadienne, au même titre que sir George-Étienne Cartier. Il est originaire de Glasgow, en Écosse. Sa famille arrive au Canada lorsqu’il a 5 ans. En 1867, il préside avec Cartier le premier cabinet du Dominion du Canada. Il occupe les fonctions de premier ministre de 1867 à 1873, puis de 1878 à 1891. C’est sous son gouvernement que s’achève le premier transcontinental canadien, sous le nom de Compagnie de chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique. Premier premier-ministre du Canada, Macdonald meurt en 1891, à Ottawa.
George Edward Wade
Présentation de l'oeuvre
En 1895, l’emplacement retenu pour l’installation du Monument à sir John Alexander Macdonald est la partie sud du square Dominion, le positionnant au point focal d’une longue perspective. En 1967, cette partie du square est renommée place du Canada, ce qui cadre parfaitement avec la présence du monument, Macdonald ayant été l’un des « Pères » de la Confédération (Dominion du Canada) et son premier ministre.

Abritée sous un immense baldaquin, la statue de Macdonald est campée de plain-pied, deux fois plus grand que nature. Il est représenté dans ses fonctions officielles de haut dignitaire du Parlement canadien, vêtu de son costume de conseiller impérial privé. Conformément à la convention sculpturale d’alors, il tient à la main un document, comme tous les personnages politiques. Le baldaquin repose sur un socle élevé, et sa voûte à caissons est soutenue par un ensemble de 12 colonnes à chapiteaux corinthiens, groupées par trois, à chacune des extrémités. Au sommet de la voûte, une colonne cannelée, effilée vers le haut, est surmontée d’une figure allégorique, drapée à la grecque et disposée en couronnement, comme une flèche de cathédrale. Elle symbolise le Canada, tandis que les sept garçons aux bras entrelacés qui retiennent chacun des boucliers au pied de la colonne représentent les sept provinces. L’ensemble composé de la colonne, du « Canada » et des « sept provinces » repose sur quatre lions allongés à chaque coin du monument.

Par ses figures allégoriques, tout comme ses éléments décoratifs, le monument souligne les faits majeurs du gouvernement de Macdonald qui ont contribué à l’expansion du Canada. Parmi les monuments érigés à la mémoire de Macdonald, celui de Montréal demeure le plus imposant et le plus élaboré.
Événements associés
Sir John Alexander Macdonald, avocat et homme d’affaires, fut le grand architecte de la Confédération canadienne, au même titre que sir George-Étienne Cartier. Il est originaire de Glasgow, en Écosse. Sa famille arrive au Canada lorsqu’il a 5 ans. En 1867, il préside avec Cartier le premier cabinet du Dominion du Canada. Il occupe les fonctions de premier ministre de 1867 à 1873, puis de 1878 à 1891. C’est sous son gouvernement que s’achève le premier transcontinental canadien, sous le nom de Compagnie de chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique. Premier premier-ministre du Canada, Macdonald meurt en 1891, à Ottawa.
George Edward Wade
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1895
Mode d'acquisition
Don par souscription publique
Date d'accession
6 June 1895
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
1800 x 486 x 432 cm
Fabricants
  • Morris Singer Art Foundry LTD
  • Reid, Robert
Monument à sir John A. Macdonald
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Place du Canada