Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-louis-hippolyte-la-fontaine\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-louis-hippolyte-la-fontaine\/"}
Share
Share
Henri Hébert

Monument à sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine

1930
Presentation of the artwork
This architectural and sculptural ensemble, situated in the southwest corner of Parc La Fontaine, offers a portrayal of the political figure Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine. The bronze statue in his likeness is wearing the robe of a justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench, the court that he created and the position he occupied for the last 10 years of his life. La Fontaine holds in his left hand a document on which are engraved the words “gouvernement responsible” (responsible government), the phrase that summarized his political life. This statue is inspired by another work portraying La Fontaine that the sculptor, Henri Hébert, executed in 1921 for the façade of the National Assembly building in Québec City.

The pedestal is very plain: its play of lines and volumes and its stylized decorative elements are inspired by Art Deco. The bas-reliefs, “La Liberté,” “Le Courage,” and “La Législation,” on the pedestal symbolically illustrate aspects of La Fontaine’s personality and achievements.
Associated events
Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine, a jurist and politician, was born in Boucherville in 1807. He began his political career as a member of the Assembly of Lower Canada for Terrebonne; from 1834 to 1836, he represented the Saint-Joseph neighbourhood on the Montréal Municipal Council. His name is associated with the 1837 rebellion, and he was imprisoned in 1838. The premier of Lower Canada in 1842–43 and again from 1848 to 1851, he is considered the father of parliamentary democracy (responsible government). In 1851, he returned to practising law and was appointed chief justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench. He died in Montreal at age 57.
Henri Hébert
The son of the sculptor Louis-Philippe Hébert, Henri Hébert was born in Montréal in 1884. He was trained at the École des beaux-arts and the École des arts décoratifs in Paris, then returned to Montréal in 1909. His career was divided between executing various commissions and teaching. In 1910, he became a member of the faculty of the School of Architecture at McGill University, and in 1923, he taught modelling at the Conseil des arts et manufactures at the Monument national. In 1940, Hébert received an honorary doctorate from the Université de Montréal. An associate member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, he died in Montréal at the age of 66.
Awards and honours
  • doctorat honorifique par l’Université de Montréal, 1940
  • Membre associé de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada,
Presentation of the artwork
This architectural and sculptural ensemble, situated in the southwest corner of Parc La Fontaine, offers a portrayal of the political figure Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine. The bronze statue in his likeness is wearing the robe of a justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench, the court that he created and the position he occupied for the last 10 years of his life. La Fontaine holds in his left hand a document on which are engraved the words “gouvernement responsible” (responsible government), the phrase that summarized his political life. This statue is inspired by another work portraying La Fontaine that the sculptor, Henri Hébert, executed in 1921 for the façade of the National Assembly building in Québec City.

The pedestal is very plain: its play of lines and volumes and its stylized decorative elements are inspired by Art Deco. The bas-reliefs, “La Liberté,” “Le Courage,” and “La Législation,” on the pedestal symbolically illustrate aspects of La Fontaine’s personality and achievements.
Associated events
Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine, a jurist and politician, was born in Boucherville in 1807. He began his political career as a member of the Assembly of Lower Canada for Terrebonne; from 1834 to 1836, he represented the Saint-Joseph neighbourhood on the Montréal Municipal Council. His name is associated with the 1837 rebellion, and he was imprisoned in 1838. The premier of Lower Canada in 1842–43 and again from 1848 to 1851, he is considered the father of parliamentary democracy (responsible government). In 1851, he returned to practising law and was appointed chief justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench. He died in Montreal at age 57.
Henri Hébert
The son of the sculptor Louis-Philippe Hébert, Henri Hébert was born in Montréal in 1884. He was trained at the École des beaux-arts and the École des arts décoratifs in Paris, then returned to Montréal in 1909. His career was divided between executing various commissions and teaching. In 1910, he became a member of the faculty of the School of Architecture at McGill University, and in 1923, he taught modelling at the Conseil des arts et manufactures at the Monument national. In 1940, Hébert received an honorary doctorate from the Université de Montréal. An associate member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, he died in Montréal at the age of 66.
Awards and honours
  • doctorat honorifique par l’Université de Montréal, 1940
  • Membre associé de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada,
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1930
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
January 1 1930
Technique(s)
Sand-cast iron
Materials
Bronze; granite; sandstone; marble
General dimensions
700 x 570 x 370cm
Manufacturer
  • Fonderie Hohwiller
Monument à sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine
Borough
Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Park
Parc La Fontaine

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-louis-hippolyte-la-fontaine\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-sir-louis-hippolyte-la-fontaine\/"}
Partager
Partager
Henri Hébert

Monument à sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine

1930
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Cet ensemble architectural et sculptural, situé au coin sud-ouest du parc La Fontaine, offre une représentation du personnage politique que fut Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine. La figure de bronze à son effigie porte une toge de juge en chef de la cour du Banc de la Reine, cour qu’il a créée et poste qu'il occupe pendant les 10 dernières années de sa vie. La Fontaine tient à la main gauche un document sur lequel est gravée l'inscription « gouvernement responsable », phrase qui synthétise sa vie politique. Cette statue s’inspire d’une autre œuvre de La Fontaine que le sculpteur Henri Hébert réalise en 1921 pour la façade du parlement de Québec.

Le piédestal se caractérise par une grande sobriété : son jeu de lignes et de volumes ainsi que ses éléments décoratifs stylisés sont d’inspiration Art déco. Les bas-reliefs, La Liberté, Le Courage et La Législation, sur le piédestal illustrent, de manière symbolique, des aspects de la personnalité et de l’œuvre de La Fontaine.
Événements associés
Juriste et homme politique, Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine naît à Boucherville en 1807. Il commence sa carrière politique comme député de Terrebonne à la chambre d’Assemblée du Bas-Canada et, de 1934 à 1936, il représente le quartier de Saint-Joseph au conseil municipal de Montréal. Son nom est associé à la rébellion de 1837, et il sera d’ailleurs emprisonné en 1838. Premier ministre du Bas-Canada de 1842 à 1843, et à nouveau de 1848 à 1851, il est considéré comme le père de la démocratie parlementaire (gouvernement responsable). En 1851, La Fontaine reprend la pratique du droit et est nommé juge en chef de la cour du Banc de la reine. Il meurt à Montréal à l’âge de 57 ans.
Henri Hébert
Fils du sculpteur Louis-Philippe Hébert, Henri Hébert naît à Montréal en 1884. Il reçoit sa formation à l'École des beaux-arts et à l'École des arts décoratifs de Paris, puis revient à Montréal en 1909. Sa carrière sera partagée entre la réalisation de commandes diverses et l’enseignement. Dès 1910, il joint le corps professoral de l’École d’architecture de l’Université McGill, puis en 1923, il enseigne le modelage au Conseil des arts et manufactures, au Monument national. En 1940, Hébert se voit décerner un doctorat honorifique par l’Université de Montréal. Membre associé de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada, il décède à Montréal, à l’âge de 66 ans.
Prix et distinctions
  • doctorat honorifique par l’Université de Montréal, 1940
  • Membre associé de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada,
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Cet ensemble architectural et sculptural, situé au coin sud-ouest du parc La Fontaine, offre une représentation du personnage politique que fut Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine. La figure de bronze à son effigie porte une toge de juge en chef de la cour du Banc de la Reine, cour qu’il a créée et poste qu'il occupe pendant les 10 dernières années de sa vie. La Fontaine tient à la main gauche un document sur lequel est gravée l'inscription « gouvernement responsable », phrase qui synthétise sa vie politique. Cette statue s’inspire d’une autre œuvre de La Fontaine que le sculpteur Henri Hébert réalise en 1921 pour la façade du parlement de Québec.

Le piédestal se caractérise par une grande sobriété : son jeu de lignes et de volumes ainsi que ses éléments décoratifs stylisés sont d’inspiration Art déco. Les bas-reliefs, La Liberté, Le Courage et La Législation, sur le piédestal illustrent, de manière symbolique, des aspects de la personnalité et de l’œuvre de La Fontaine.
Événements associés
Juriste et homme politique, Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine naît à Boucherville en 1807. Il commence sa carrière politique comme député de Terrebonne à la chambre d’Assemblée du Bas-Canada et, de 1934 à 1936, il représente le quartier de Saint-Joseph au conseil municipal de Montréal. Son nom est associé à la rébellion de 1837, et il sera d’ailleurs emprisonné en 1838. Premier ministre du Bas-Canada de 1842 à 1843, et à nouveau de 1848 à 1851, il est considéré comme le père de la démocratie parlementaire (gouvernement responsable). En 1851, La Fontaine reprend la pratique du droit et est nommé juge en chef de la cour du Banc de la reine. Il meurt à Montréal à l’âge de 57 ans.
Henri Hébert
Fils du sculpteur Louis-Philippe Hébert, Henri Hébert naît à Montréal en 1884. Il reçoit sa formation à l'École des beaux-arts et à l'École des arts décoratifs de Paris, puis revient à Montréal en 1909. Sa carrière sera partagée entre la réalisation de commandes diverses et l’enseignement. Dès 1910, il joint le corps professoral de l’École d’architecture de l’Université McGill, puis en 1923, il enseigne le modelage au Conseil des arts et manufactures, au Monument national. En 1940, Hébert se voit décerner un doctorat honorifique par l’Université de Montréal. Membre associé de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada, il décède à Montréal, à l’âge de 66 ans.
Prix et distinctions
  • doctorat honorifique par l’Université de Montréal, 1940
  • Membre associé de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada,
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1930
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
1 janvier 1930
Technique(s)
Fonte au sable
Matériaux
Bronze; granit; grès; marbre
Dimensions générales
700 x 570 x 370cm
Fabricants
  • Fonderie Hohwiller
Monument à sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine
Arrondissement
Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Parc
Parc La Fontaine