Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Optimax","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/optimax\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/optimax\/"}
Share
Share
Kosso Eloul

Optimax

1964
Presentation of the artwork
Optimax, like all of the artworks produced during the International Sculpture Symposium that took place in Mount Royal Park in 1964, is installed in the clearing that the landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted called “the glades.” This abstract artwork is made of two elements. The trapezoid-shaped reinforced-concrete base, the façade of which slants backward, serves as a pedestal for a geometric limestone volume composed of two cubes resting on a triangular volume, which was originally red. The surface of each of these forms has been treated differently: whereas the cubes are textured, even rough, the triangle is smooth. The sculpture is in close relation to the topography: the base is perpendicular to the footpath on its edge and matches the slope of the terrain.
Associated events
Eloul’s artwork was executed for the International Sculpture Symposium in Montréal (1964), the first time a symposium was held in North America. The goals of this concept, created a few years earlier in Europe, were to have artists create monumental sculptures in a context of encounters with the public and to provide public spaces with international-calibre artworks. Instigated by sculptor Robert Roussil, this symposium gathered 11 sculptors from nine countries and attracted more than 40,000 visitors. It was seen as one of the events that brought Québec into artistic and cultural modernity.
Kosso Eloul
Kosso Eloul began his art education in Tel Aviv, Israel, in 1938, and then continued his studies in Chicago, from 1939 to 1943, with Frank Lloyd Wright and Laszlo Moholy-Nagy. He served in the army during the Second World War and the war of independence from Palestine, before returning to his art practice in 1948. He represented Israel at the Venice Biennale in 1958. In 1961, he created the eternal flame for the Hall of Remembrance at Israel’s Yad Vashem memorial to victims of the Holocaust. Eloul moved to Canada in 1964. He has produced a number of works of public art in Canadian cities as well as in Mexico City and at the Canadian embassy in China.
Detail
Variation of title
Le Sphinx, Optimax (SISM-64)
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1964
Mode of acquisition:
Purchase
Accession date
March 23 1966
Technique(s)
Direct carving
Materials
Limestone; concrete
General dimensions
292 x 246 x 1250 cm
Manufacturer
  • Eloul, Kosso
Optimax
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc du Mont-Royal

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Optimax","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/optimax\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/optimax\/"}
Partager
Partager
Kosso Eloul

Optimax

1964
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Optimax, comme toutes les œuvres du Symposium qui a lieu dans le parc du Mont-Royal de 1964, est installée dans le secteur des « glades » (la clairière), comme l’a désigné l’architecte paysager Frederick Law Olmsted. Cette œuvre abstraite est faite de deux éléments. Une base de béton armé de forme trapézoïdale, dont la façade comprend un retrait, sert de socle à un volume géométrique de calcaire composé de deux cubes reposant sur un volume triangulaire originalement rouge. La surface de ces formes dénote un contraste dans leur traitement : alors que les cubes sont texturés, voire rugueux, le triangle est lisse. La sculpture entretient un rapport étroit avec la topographie du lieu : le socle est perpendiculaire au sentier qui la borde et épouse la dénivellation du terrain.
Événements associés
L’œuvre Optimax a été réalisée pour le Symposium international de sculpture de Montréal (1964), le premier tenu en Amérique du Nord. Le concept, né quelques années plus tôt en Europe, a pour but de permettre aux artistes de créer des sculptures monumentales dans une perspective de rencontres avec le public, en plus de munir les espaces publics d’œuvres d’envergure internationale. Instauré par le sculpteur Robert Roussil, ce symposium a rassemblé 11 sculpteurs de 9 pays et plus de 40 000 visiteurs. Il est perçu comme l’un des événements ayant permis de faire entrer le Québec dans la modernité artistique et culturelle.
Kosso Eloul
Kosso Eloul amorce sa formation artistique à Tel-Aviv (Israël) en 1938, puis poursuit ses études à Chicago (États-Unis), de 1939 à 1943, avec Frank Lloyd Wright et Laszlo Moholy-Nagy. Il sert dans l’armée durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et la guerre d’Indépendance de la Palestine, avant de revenir à la pratique artistique en 1948. Il représente Israël à la Biennale de Venise, en 1958. En 1961, il réalise la flamme éternelle de la salle du souvenir du mémorial israélien de Yad Vashem, dédié à la commémoration des victimes de l’Holocauste. Il s’établit au Canada en 1964. Il réalise plusieurs œuvres d’art public dans des villes canadiennes, mais aussi à Mexico et à l’ambassade du Canada en Chine.
Détails
Variation du titre
Le Sphinx, Optimax (SISM-64)
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1964
Mode d'acquisition
Achat
Date d'accession
23 mars 1966
Technique(s)
Taille directe
Matériaux
Calcaire; béton
Dimensions générales
292 x 246 x 1250 cm
Fabricants
  • Eloul, Kosso
Optimax
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc du Mont-Royal