Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Puerta de la Amistad","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/puerta-de-la-amistad\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/puerta-de-la-amistad\/"}
Share
Share
Sebastian

Puerta de la Amistad

1993
Presentation of the artwork
The artwork is situated in Parc Jean-Drapeau, on St. Helen’s Island. The two openings that it creates enable viewers to contemplate downtown Montréal from one side and Parc Jean-Drapeau from the other.

The sculpture, made of red-painted steel, is composed of three columns linked by a diagonal element, offering a repetition of shapes from the principle of a deconstructed geometric form. The positioning of the columns follows a mathematical rhythm based on the number 7. The artwork presents elements of classical architecture and forms with a historical connotation (colonnade, coping). The vertical elements form two gateways that symbolize trade, universal access, circulation of ideas, and openness.
Associated events
The artwork was given to the Ville de Montréal by Mexico City on the occasion of the celebrations for the 350th anniversary of Montréal. The site chosen underlines the signature of the North America Free Trade Agreement: the artwork is within the axis of Man, Three Disks by the American sculptor Alexander Calder and Phare du Cosmos by Yves Trudeau, bringing together artists from the three signatory countries.
Sebastian
The Mexican artist Sebastian studied at the National School of Visual Arts in Mexico City. Today, he is a researcher at the National Autonomous University of Mexico and a member of the World Arts Forum Council based in Geneva. Since 1968, he has had more than 120 solo exhibitions in Mexico and elsewhere in the world. He has also produced numerous public art projects, including El Limonero, Árbol de la vida (2004) in the Tecoman Valley and Arcos del milenio (2001) in the Jardines del Bosque in Guadalajara, Mexico.
Awards and honours
  • Superior Prize du Hakone Open Air Museum (Japon),
  • Prix du bronze de la ABC Ashi Broadcasting Corporation (Osaka),
  • Prix du Jury de l'International Graphic Triennal (Norvège),
  • Coupe Phoenix (Sakai, Japon),
Presentation of the artwork
The artwork is situated in Parc Jean-Drapeau, on St. Helen’s Island. The two openings that it creates enable viewers to contemplate downtown Montréal from one side and Parc Jean-Drapeau from the other.

The sculpture, made of red-painted steel, is composed of three columns linked by a diagonal element, offering a repetition of shapes from the principle of a deconstructed geometric form. The positioning of the columns follows a mathematical rhythm based on the number 7. The artwork presents elements of classical architecture and forms with a historical connotation (colonnade, coping). The vertical elements form two gateways that symbolize trade, universal access, circulation of ideas, and openness.
Associated events
The artwork was given to the Ville de Montréal by Mexico City on the occasion of the celebrations for the 350th anniversary of Montréal. The site chosen underlines the signature of the North America Free Trade Agreement: the artwork is within the axis of Man, Three Disks by the American sculptor Alexander Calder and Phare du Cosmos by Yves Trudeau, bringing together artists from the three signatory countries.
Sebastian
The Mexican artist Sebastian studied at the National School of Visual Arts in Mexico City. Today, he is a researcher at the National Autonomous University of Mexico and a member of the World Arts Forum Council based in Geneva. Since 1968, he has had more than 120 solo exhibitions in Mexico and elsewhere in the world. He has also produced numerous public art projects, including El Limonero, Árbol de la vida (2004) in the Tecoman Valley and Arcos del milenio (2001) in the Jardines del Bosque in Guadalajara, Mexico.
Awards and honours
  • Superior Prize du Hakone Open Air Museum (Japon),
  • Prix du bronze de la ABC Ashi Broadcasting Corporation (Osaka),
  • Prix du Jury de l'International Graphic Triennal (Norvège),
  • Coupe Phoenix (Sakai, Japon),
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1993
Mode of acquisition:
Donation
Accession date
February 15 1995
Materials
Painted steel
General dimensions
750 x 120 x 570 cm
Manufacturer
  • Atelier de Sebastian (Enrique Carbajal)
Puerta de la Amistad
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Sainte-Hélène

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Puerta de la Amistad","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/puerta-de-la-amistad\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/puerta-de-la-amistad\/"}
Partager
Partager
Sebastian

Puerta de la Amistad

1993
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L'œuvre est située au parc Jean-Drapeau, sur l'île Sainte-Hélène. Son orientation et les deux portes qu'elle crée permettent au spectateur de contempler le centre-ville de Montréal d'un côté et le parc Jean-Drapeau de l'autre.

La sculpture est composée de trois colonnes reliées par une diagonale. Il s'agit d'une construction en acier peint qui propose une répétition de formes à partir du principe d'une forme géométrique décomposée. La disposition des colonnes obéit à un rythme mathématique basé sur le chiffre 7. L'œuvre propose des éléments d'architecture classique et des formes à connotation historique (colonnade, couronnement). Les éléments verticaux forment deux entrées symbolisant l'échange, l'accès universel, la circulation des idées et l'ouverture.
Événements associés
L’œuvre a été offerte à la Ville de Montréal par la Ville de Mexico à l’occasion des célébrations soulignant le 350e anniversaire de Montréal. L'emplacement retenu souligne la signature de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA); l'œuvre s'inscrit dans l'axe de Man, Three Disks d'Alexander Calder, sculpteur américain, et celui du Phare du Cosmos d'Yves Trudeau, réunissant ainsi des artistes des trois pays signataires.
Sebastian
L’artiste mexicain Sebastian a étudié à l’École nationale des arts plastiques, à Mexico. Il est aujourd’hui chercheur à l'Université nationale autonome du Mexique et membre du World Arts Forum Council basé à Genève. Depuis 1968, il a réalisé plus de 120 expositions individuelles au Mexique et ailleurs dans le monde. Il compte également de nombreux projets d'art public à son actif, entre autres, El Limonero, Árbol de la vida (2004) dans la vallée de Tecoman et Arcos del milenio (2001) aux Jardines del Bosque de Guadalajara, au Mexique.
Prix et distinctions
  • Superior Prize du Hakone Open Air Museum (Japon),
  • Prix du bronze de la ABC Ashi Broadcasting Corporation (Osaka),
  • Prix du Jury de l'International Graphic Triennal (Norvège),
  • Coupe Phoenix (Sakai, Japon),
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L'œuvre est située au parc Jean-Drapeau, sur l'île Sainte-Hélène. Son orientation et les deux portes qu'elle crée permettent au spectateur de contempler le centre-ville de Montréal d'un côté et le parc Jean-Drapeau de l'autre.

La sculpture est composée de trois colonnes reliées par une diagonale. Il s'agit d'une construction en acier peint qui propose une répétition de formes à partir du principe d'une forme géométrique décomposée. La disposition des colonnes obéit à un rythme mathématique basé sur le chiffre 7. L'œuvre propose des éléments d'architecture classique et des formes à connotation historique (colonnade, couronnement). Les éléments verticaux forment deux entrées symbolisant l'échange, l'accès universel, la circulation des idées et l'ouverture.
Événements associés
L’œuvre a été offerte à la Ville de Montréal par la Ville de Mexico à l’occasion des célébrations soulignant le 350e anniversaire de Montréal. L'emplacement retenu souligne la signature de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA); l'œuvre s'inscrit dans l'axe de Man, Three Disks d'Alexander Calder, sculpteur américain, et celui du Phare du Cosmos d'Yves Trudeau, réunissant ainsi des artistes des trois pays signataires.
Sebastian
L’artiste mexicain Sebastian a étudié à l’École nationale des arts plastiques, à Mexico. Il est aujourd’hui chercheur à l'Université nationale autonome du Mexique et membre du World Arts Forum Council basé à Genève. Depuis 1968, il a réalisé plus de 120 expositions individuelles au Mexique et ailleurs dans le monde. Il compte également de nombreux projets d'art public à son actif, entre autres, El Limonero, Árbol de la vida (2004) dans la vallée de Tecoman et Arcos del milenio (2001) aux Jardines del Bosque de Guadalajara, au Mexique.
Prix et distinctions
  • Superior Prize du Hakone Open Air Museum (Japon),
  • Prix du bronze de la ABC Ashi Broadcasting Corporation (Osaka),
  • Prix du Jury de l'International Graphic Triennal (Norvège),
  • Coupe Phoenix (Sakai, Japon),
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1993
Mode d'acquisition
Don
Date d'accession
15 February 1995
Matériaux
Acier peint
Dimensions générales
750 x 120 x 570 cm
Fabricants
  • Atelier de Sebastian (Enrique Carbajal)
Puerta de la Amistad
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Sainte-Hélène