Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Sans titre","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/sans-titre-1851\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/sans-titre-1851\/"}
Share
Share
Josef Pillhofer

Sans titre

1964
Presentation of the artwork
The artwork is situated in Mount Royal Park, near Smith House. It is composed of a reinforced-concrete base upon which sits a monolithic sculpted limestone form combining curved and angular geometric shapes.

Pillhofer’s artwork, influenced by cubism, is a geometric abstraction with furrowed surfaces. It gives a sense of both humility and freedom, gathering and strength. Pillhofer challenges the plan confronting figuration, but without opposing it.
Associated events
Pillhofer’s artwork was executed for the International Sculpture Symposium in Montréal (1964), the first time a symposium was held in North America. The goals of this concept, created a few years earlier in Europe, were to have artists create monumental sculptures in a context of encounters with the public and to provide public spaces with international-calibre artworks. Instigated by sculptor Robert Roussil, this symposium gathered 11 sculptors from nine countries and attracted more than 40,000 visitors. It was seen as one of the events that brought Québec into artistic and cultural modernity.
Josef Pillhofer
Born in 1921, in Vienna, Austria, Josef Pillhofer attended the school of arts and crafts in Graz, and then studied sculpture with Wotruba, in Vienna. In 1950, he obtained a scholarship that enabled him to pursue his studies at the Académie des beaux-arts in Paris. There, he met the sculptors Zadkine, Brancusi, Laurens, and Marini. During his career, he had exhibitions in Paris, Vienna, Amsterdam, and Venice. He died in 2010.
Detail
Variation of title
Non titrée (SISM-64)
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1964
Mode of acquisition:
Purchase
Accession date
March 7 1966
Technique(s)
Sculpted
Materials
Limestone; concrete
General dimensions
348 x 335 x 267 cm
Manufacturer
  • Pillhofer, Josef
Sans titre
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc du Mont-Royal

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Sans titre","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/sans-titre-1851\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/sans-titre-1851\/"}
Partager
Partager
Josef Pillhofer

Sans titre

1964
Présentation de l'oeuvre
L’œuvre est située dans le parc du Mont-Royal, près de la Maison Smith. Elle se compose d'un socle en béton armé sur lequel repose une forme sculptée monolithique en calcaire épousant des formes géométriques courbes et angulaires.

L'œuvre de Pillhofer, issue du cubisme, est une abstraction géométrique aux surfaces texturées de sillons. Il en émane tant humilité que franchise, recueillement et force. Pillhofer remet en question le plan confrontant la figuration sans, toutefois, y être opposé.
Événements associés
L’œuvre a été réalisée pour le Symposium international de sculpture de Montréal (1964), le premier tenu en Amérique du Nord. Le concept, né quelques années plus tôt en Europe, a pour but de permettre aux artistes de créer des sculptures monumentales dans une perspective de rencontres avec le public, en plus de munir les espaces publics d’œuvres d’envergure internationale. Instauré par le sculpteur Robert Roussil, ce symposium a rassemblé 11 sculpteurs de 9 pays et plus de 40 000 visiteurs. Il est perçu comme l’un des événements ayant permis de faire entrer le Québec dans la modernité artistique et culturelle.
Josef Pillhofer
Né en 1921, à Vienne en Autriche, Josef Pillhofer fréquente d’abord l'École des arts et métiers de Graz, puis étudie la sculpture auprès de Wotruba, à Vienne. En 1950, une bourse lui permet d’aller étudier à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Paris. Là-bas, il rencontre les sculpteurs Zadkine, Brancusi, Laurens et Marini. Au cours de sa carrière, il expose à Paris, Vienne, Amsterdam et Venise. Il meurt en 1995.
Détails
Variation du titre
Non titrée (SISM-64)
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1964
Mode d'acquisition
Achat
Date d'accession
7 mars 1966
Technique(s)
Sculpté
Matériaux
Calcaire; béton
Dimensions générales
348 x 335 x 267 cm
Fabricants
  • Pillhofer, Josef
Sans titre
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc du Mont-Royal