Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Sans titre","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/sans-titre-1865\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/sans-titre-1865\/"}
Share
Share
Krishna Reddy

Sans titre

1964
Presentation of the artwork
Like the other sculptures made during the 1964 symposium, all erected near the Smith House on Mount Royal, Reddy’s artwork was erected into a large open space. The sculpture, in the form of two folded and joined faces rising from a monolithic raw limestone base, challenges the gaze with its slender, sinuous configuration.

The smooth texture and curved, rounded lines give this abstract sculpture a clearly anthropomorphic character. The artwork also exudes a sensuality that evokes, through its verticality, sculptures by Giacometti, one of Reddy’s dominant influences.

Dr. Otto Bengle, organizer of the exhibition, observed in his personal notes the spirituality that Reddy and his wife – also a participant – showed during the event: “One has to admire the courage and tenacity of these two sculptors, whose power resides ... in their spirituality.” The artwork’s grace, elegance, and serenity also function as a reminder of the particular context in which it was created.
Associated events
Reddy’s artwork was executed for the International Sculpture Symposium in Montréal (1964), the first time a symposium was held in North America. The goals of this concept, created a few years earlier in Europe, were to have artists create monumental sculptures in a context of encounters with the public and to provide public spaces with international-calibre artworks. Instigated by sculptor Robert Roussil, this symposium gathered 11 sculptors from nine countries and attracted more than 40,000 visitors. It was seen as one of the events that brought Québec into artistic and cultural modernity.
Krishna Reddy
Krishna Reddy is a printmaker and sculptor born in the Andhra Pradesh region of India. After earning an arts degree at Visva-Bharati University in West Bengal in 1946, he travelled to Europe to further his art education. At the time of his participation in the International Sculpture Symposium in Montréal, he was assistant director of the renowned Atelier 17 in Paris, where he developed the printing technique that enabled him to become one of the best intaglio printmakers in the world.

Reddy’s sculpture practice, less well known, retains the equivocal relationship between abstraction and reality that he expresses in his prints, as evidenced in the work produced at the International Sculpture Symposium in St. Margarethen, Austria (1962).
Awards and honours
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, The Society of American Graphic Artists (SAGA), 2005
  • Padma Shri (inde), 1972
Presentation of the artwork
Like the other sculptures made during the 1964 symposium, all erected near the Smith House on Mount Royal, Reddy’s artwork was erected into a large open space. The sculpture, in the form of two folded and joined faces rising from a monolithic raw limestone base, challenges the gaze with its slender, sinuous configuration.

The smooth texture and curved, rounded lines give this abstract sculpture a clearly anthropomorphic character. The artwork also exudes a sensuality that evokes, through its verticality, sculptures by Giacometti, one of Reddy’s dominant influences.

Dr. Otto Bengle, organizer of the exhibition, observed in his personal notes the spirituality that Reddy and his wife – also a participant – showed during the event: “One has to admire the courage and tenacity of these two sculptors, whose power resides ... in their spirituality.” The artwork’s grace, elegance, and serenity also function as a reminder of the particular context in which it was created.
Associated events
Reddy’s artwork was executed for the International Sculpture Symposium in Montréal (1964), the first time a symposium was held in North America. The goals of this concept, created a few years earlier in Europe, were to have artists create monumental sculptures in a context of encounters with the public and to provide public spaces with international-calibre artworks. Instigated by sculptor Robert Roussil, this symposium gathered 11 sculptors from nine countries and attracted more than 40,000 visitors. It was seen as one of the events that brought Québec into artistic and cultural modernity.
Krishna Reddy
Krishna Reddy is a printmaker and sculptor born in the Andhra Pradesh region of India. After earning an arts degree at Visva-Bharati University in West Bengal in 1946, he travelled to Europe to further his art education. At the time of his participation in the International Sculpture Symposium in Montréal, he was assistant director of the renowned Atelier 17 in Paris, where he developed the printing technique that enabled him to become one of the best intaglio printmakers in the world.

Reddy’s sculpture practice, less well known, retains the equivocal relationship between abstraction and reality that he expresses in his prints, as evidenced in the work produced at the International Sculpture Symposium in St. Margarethen, Austria (1962).
Awards and honours
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, The Society of American Graphic Artists (SAGA), 2005
  • Padma Shri (inde), 1972
Detail
Variation of title
Non titrée (SISM-64)
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1964
Mode of acquisition:
Purchase
Accession date
March 23 1966
Technique(s)
Sculpted
Materials
Limestone
General dimensions
336 x 117 x 178 cm
Sans titre
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc du Mont-Royal

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Sans titre","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/sans-titre-1865\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/sans-titre-1865\/"}
Partager
Partager
Krishna Reddy

Sans titre

1964
Présentation de l'oeuvre
À l’instar des autres sculptures du Symposium de 1964 rassemblées près de la Maison Smith sur le mont Royal, l’œuvre de Reddy est érigée dans un vaste espace. Se dressant sur un socle monolithique de calcaire brut à la manière de deux pans pliés et joints, elle interpelle le regard par sa configuration sinueuse et élancée.

La texture lisse de même que les lignes courbes et arrondies accordent à cette abstraction un caractère résolument anthropomorphique. Une certaine sensualité transparaît par ailleurs dans l’œuvre qui fait écho, par la verticalité, aux sculptures de Giacometti, l’une des influences dominantes de l’artiste.

Dr Otto Bengle, organisateur de l’exposition, relève dans ses notes personnelles la spiritualité dont l’artiste et sa femme – elle-même participante – font preuve durant l’évènement. « Il faut admirer le courage et la ténacité de ces deux sculpteurs dont la puissance réside […] dans leur spiritualité. » La grâce, l’élégance et la sérénité qui se dégagent de l’œuvre agissent ainsi à titre de rappel de son contexte particulier de création.
Événements associés
L’œuvre de Reddy a été réalisée pour le Symposium international de sculpture de Montréal (1964), le premier tenu en Amérique du Nord. Le concept, né quelques années plus tôt en Europe, a pour but de permettre aux artistes de créer des sculptures monumentales dans une perspective de rencontres avec le public, en plus de munir les espaces publics d’œuvres d’envergure internationale. Instauré par le sculpteur Robert Roussil, ce symposium a rassemblé 11 sculpteurs de 9 pays et plus de 40 000 visiteurs. Il est perçu comme l’un des événements ayant permis de faire entrer le Québec dans la modernité artistique et culturelle.
Krishna Reddy
Krishna Reddy est un graveur et un sculpteur indien né dans la région d’Andhra Pradesh. Après avoir terminé sa formation en arts à l’Université de Visva-Bharati au Bengale-Occidental, en 1946, il voyage en Europe pour parfaire ses connaissances artistiques. Au moment de sa participation au Symposium international de Montréal, il est le directeur adjoint du célèbre Atelier 17 de Paris où il met au point la technique d’impression qui lui permettra de devenir l’un des meilleurs imprimeurs Intaglio au monde.

Sa pratique sculpturale, moins connue, conserve l’équivoque relation entre l’abstraction et le réel de ces impressions, comme en témoigne l’œuvre réalisée au Symposium international de sculpture de St Margarethen en Autriche (1962).
Prix et distinctions
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, The Society of American Graphic Artists (SAGA), 2005
  • Padma Shri (inde), 1972
Présentation de l'oeuvre
À l’instar des autres sculptures du Symposium de 1964 rassemblées près de la Maison Smith sur le mont Royal, l’œuvre de Reddy est érigée dans un vaste espace. Se dressant sur un socle monolithique de calcaire brut à la manière de deux pans pliés et joints, elle interpelle le regard par sa configuration sinueuse et élancée.

La texture lisse de même que les lignes courbes et arrondies accordent à cette abstraction un caractère résolument anthropomorphique. Une certaine sensualité transparaît par ailleurs dans l’œuvre qui fait écho, par la verticalité, aux sculptures de Giacometti, l’une des influences dominantes de l’artiste.

Dr Otto Bengle, organisateur de l’exposition, relève dans ses notes personnelles la spiritualité dont l’artiste et sa femme – elle-même participante – font preuve durant l’évènement. « Il faut admirer le courage et la ténacité de ces deux sculpteurs dont la puissance réside […] dans leur spiritualité. » La grâce, l’élégance et la sérénité qui se dégagent de l’œuvre agissent ainsi à titre de rappel de son contexte particulier de création.
Événements associés
L’œuvre de Reddy a été réalisée pour le Symposium international de sculpture de Montréal (1964), le premier tenu en Amérique du Nord. Le concept, né quelques années plus tôt en Europe, a pour but de permettre aux artistes de créer des sculptures monumentales dans une perspective de rencontres avec le public, en plus de munir les espaces publics d’œuvres d’envergure internationale. Instauré par le sculpteur Robert Roussil, ce symposium a rassemblé 11 sculpteurs de 9 pays et plus de 40 000 visiteurs. Il est perçu comme l’un des événements ayant permis de faire entrer le Québec dans la modernité artistique et culturelle.
Krishna Reddy
Krishna Reddy est un graveur et un sculpteur indien né dans la région d’Andhra Pradesh. Après avoir terminé sa formation en arts à l’Université de Visva-Bharati au Bengale-Occidental, en 1946, il voyage en Europe pour parfaire ses connaissances artistiques. Au moment de sa participation au Symposium international de Montréal, il est le directeur adjoint du célèbre Atelier 17 de Paris où il met au point la technique d’impression qui lui permettra de devenir l’un des meilleurs imprimeurs Intaglio au monde.

Sa pratique sculpturale, moins connue, conserve l’équivoque relation entre l’abstraction et le réel de ces impressions, comme en témoigne l’œuvre réalisée au Symposium international de sculpture de St Margarethen en Autriche (1962).
Prix et distinctions
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, The Society of American Graphic Artists (SAGA), 2005
  • Padma Shri (inde), 1972
Détails
Variation du titre
Non titrée (SISM-64)
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1964
Mode d'acquisition
Achat
Date d'accession
23 mars 1966
Technique(s)
Sculpté
Matériaux
Calcaire
Dimensions générales
336 x 117 x 178 cm
Sans titre
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc du Mont-Royal