Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Totem Kwakiutl","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/totem-kwakiutl\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/totem-kwakiutl\/"}
Share
Share
Henry Hunt, Tony Hunt

Totem Kwakiutl

1967
Presentation of the artwork
Since 1967, the 21.3-metre-high Kwakiutl totem pole has acted as a reference point on Île Notre-Dame. Sculpted from a red-cedar trunk, it comprises six mythological figures placed vertically: Gwa’wis (Sea Crow), Gila (Grizzly Bear and Salmon), Sisiutl (Two-headed Snake), Makhinukhw (Killer Whale with Seal in Its Mouth), Tsawi (Beaver), and Numas (Old Man). Some sections of the pole are painted red, green, or black, whereas other sections have been left unpainted.

The Kwakiutl totem pole differs from poles traditionally erected on reserves in that it was a commission from outside of Aboriginal culture for the 1967 World Fair. It was produced in relation to the aesthetic code in force on the Pacific Northwest coast. The six mythological figures portrayed are emblems of a number of KwaKwaka'wakw clans and do not draw on a particular family line, in order to illustrate that all of these clans are acting together.
Associated events
The artwork was an integral part of the concept for the Canadian Indians pavilion at the 1967 World Fair. Today, it is the only remaining vestige of the pavilion, which recognized the contribution of Indigenous nations to Canadian society and the unique nature of their cultures. At the inauguration of the artwork, on 10 February 1967, a ceremony in the Kwakiutl tradition complemented the official speeches.
Henry Hunt
Born in Fort Rupert, British Columbia, Henry Hunt (1923–85) was known for his carved sculptures and research on all forms of art of Pacific coast Indigenous cultures. Between 1962 and 1974, he was chief sculptor at the Royal British Columbia Museum, where his son, Tony, served as his assistant. During their careers, the two men created, together or individually, numerous totem poles that are on display all over the world. For example, in 1970 they jointly produced a totem pole for the Osaka World Fair.

The Hunts were trained through the passing of knowledge from generation to generation, reaching back to Charlie James, a renowned late-nineteenth-century artist known for having created a style specific to the Kwakiutl of Fort Rupert. His son-in-law, Mungo Martin, was exceptionally talented and one of the great master sculptors of the Pacific coast. He transmitted his knowledge, technique, and art to his son-in-law, Henry Hunt, and his grandson, Tony. Tony Hunt was also the founder of Arts of the Raven Gallery, an organization devoted to teaching young Aboriginal sculptors.
Tony Hunt
Born in Fort Rupert, British Columbia, Henry Hunt (1923–85) was known for his carved sculptures and research on all forms of art of Pacific coast Indigenous cultures. Between 1962 and 1974, he was chief sculptor at the Royal British Columbia Museum, where his son, Tony, served as his assistant. During their careers, the two men created, together or individually, numerous totem poles that are on display all over the world. For example, in 1970 they jointly produced a totem pole for the Osaka World Fair.

The Hunts were trained through the passing of knowledge from generation to generation, reaching back to Charlie James, a renowned late-nineteenth-century artist known for having created a style specific to the Kwakiutl of Fort Rupert. His son-in-law, Mungo Martin, was exceptionally talented and one of the great master sculptors of the Pacific coast. He transmitted his knowledge, technique, and art to his son-in-law, Henry Hunt, and his grandson, Tony. Tony Hunt was also the founder of Arts of the Raven Gallery, an organization devoted to teaching young Aboriginal sculptors.
Presentation of the artwork
Since 1967, the 21.3-metre-high Kwakiutl totem pole has acted as a reference point on Île Notre-Dame. Sculpted from a red-cedar trunk, it comprises six mythological figures placed vertically: Gwa’wis (Sea Crow), Gila (Grizzly Bear and Salmon), Sisiutl (Two-headed Snake), Makhinukhw (Killer Whale with Seal in Its Mouth), Tsawi (Beaver), and Numas (Old Man). Some sections of the pole are painted red, green, or black, whereas other sections have been left unpainted.

The Kwakiutl totem pole differs from poles traditionally erected on reserves in that it was a commission from outside of Aboriginal culture for the 1967 World Fair. It was produced in relation to the aesthetic code in force on the Pacific Northwest coast. The six mythological figures portrayed are emblems of a number of KwaKwaka'wakw clans and do not draw on a particular family line, in order to illustrate that all of these clans are acting together.
Associated events
The artwork was an integral part of the concept for the Canadian Indians pavilion at the 1967 World Fair. Today, it is the only remaining vestige of the pavilion, which recognized the contribution of Indigenous nations to Canadian society and the unique nature of their cultures. At the inauguration of the artwork, on 10 February 1967, a ceremony in the Kwakiutl tradition complemented the official speeches.
Henry Hunt
Born in Fort Rupert, British Columbia, Henry Hunt (1923–85) was known for his carved sculptures and research on all forms of art of Pacific coast Indigenous cultures. Between 1962 and 1974, he was chief sculptor at the Royal British Columbia Museum, where his son, Tony, served as his assistant. During their careers, the two men created, together or individually, numerous totem poles that are on display all over the world. For example, in 1970 they jointly produced a totem pole for the Osaka World Fair.

The Hunts were trained through the passing of knowledge from generation to generation, reaching back to Charlie James, a renowned late-nineteenth-century artist known for having created a style specific to the Kwakiutl of Fort Rupert. His son-in-law, Mungo Martin, was exceptionally talented and one of the great master sculptors of the Pacific coast. He transmitted his knowledge, technique, and art to his son-in-law, Henry Hunt, and his grandson, Tony. Tony Hunt was also the founder of Arts of the Raven Gallery, an organization devoted to teaching young Aboriginal sculptors.
Tony Hunt
Born in Fort Rupert, British Columbia, Henry Hunt (1923–85) was known for his carved sculptures and research on all forms of art of Pacific coast Indigenous cultures. Between 1962 and 1974, he was chief sculptor at the Royal British Columbia Museum, where his son, Tony, served as his assistant. During their careers, the two men created, together or individually, numerous totem poles that are on display all over the world. For example, in 1970 they jointly produced a totem pole for the Osaka World Fair.

The Hunts were trained through the passing of knowledge from generation to generation, reaching back to Charlie James, a renowned late-nineteenth-century artist known for having created a style specific to the Kwakiutl of Fort Rupert. His son-in-law, Mungo Martin, was exceptionally talented and one of the great master sculptors of the Pacific coast. He transmitted his knowledge, technique, and art to his son-in-law, Henry Hunt, and his grandson, Tony. Tony Hunt was also the founder of Arts of the Raven Gallery, an organization devoted to teaching young Aboriginal sculptors.
Detail
Variation of title
Mât totémique Kwakwaka'wakw (Kwakiutl)
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1967
Mode of acquisition:
Transfer
Accession date
January 1 1968
Technique(s)
Sculpted
Materials
Wood
General dimensions
2130 x 95 cm
Manufacturer
  • Hunt, Henry
  • Hunt, Tony
Totem Kwakiutl
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Notre-Dame

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Totem Kwakiutl","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/totem-kwakiutl\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/totem-kwakiutl\/"}
Partager
Partager
Henry Hunt, Tony Hunt

Totem Kwakiutl

1967
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Depuis 1967, du haut de ses 21,3 m, le mât totémique Kwakiutl agit comme un repère sur l’île Notre-Dame. Sculpté dans un mât de cèdre rouge, il comporte six figures mythologiques placées les unes au-dessus des autres : Gwa’wis (Corbeau de la mer), Gila (Ours grizzly et Saumon), Sisiutl (Serpent à deux têtes), Makhinukhw (Épaulard avec un phoque dans la gueule), Tsawi (Castor) et Numas (Vieil Homme). Certaines sections du mât sont peintes en rouge, vert ou noir, tandis qu’on aperçoit le bois nu à d’autres endroits.

Le mât totémique Kwakiutl diffère des mâts traditionnellement érigés sur les réserves en ce qu'il résulte d'une commande provenant de l'extérieur de la culture autochtone pour l'événement de l'Exposition universelle de 1967. Sa réalisation observe le code esthétique en vigueur sur la côte nord-ouest du Pacifique. Les six figures mythologiques représentées sont les emblèmes de plusieurs tribus KwaKwaka'wakw et ne font appel à aucun lignage particulier, de façon à illustrer que toutes ces tribus agissent à l'unisson.
Événements associés
L’œuvre faisait partie intégrante du concept du pavillon des Indiens du Canada à l’Exposition universelle de 1967. Elle demeure aujourd’hui le seul témoignage de ce pavillon qui reconnaissait l’apport des nations autochtones à la société canadienne, ainsi que le caractère unique de leurs cultures. À l’inauguration de l’œuvre, le 10 février 1967, une cérémonie fidèle aux traditions Kwakiutl a complété les allocutions officielles.
Henry Hunt
Originaire de Fort Rupert en Colombie-Britannique, Henry Hunt (1923-1985) est reconnu pour sa sculpture en creux et son travail de recherche sur toutes les formes d’art des cultures autochtones de la côte du Pacifique. Entre 1962 et 1974, il occupe le poste de chef sculpteur au musée provincial de la Colombie-Britannique, où son fils, Tony, lui sert d’assistant. Au cours de leur carrière, les deux hommes ont créé, ensemble ou séparément, de nombreux mâts totémiques répartis aux quatre coins du monde. Par exemple, en 1970, ils ont réalisé conjointement un mât totémique pour l’exposition universelle d’Osaka, au Japon.

La formation des Hunt, père et fils, résulte de la transmission d’un savoir-faire, d’une génération à l’autre. Elle remonte à Charlie James, artiste de grande réputation de la fin du XIXe siècle, reconnu pour avoir créé un style propre aux Kwakiutl de Fort Rupert. Son beau-fils, Mungo Martin, assure la relève et son talent exceptionnel en fera un des grands maîtres sculpteurs de la côte du Pacifique. Il transmet ses connaissances et son art à son beau-fils, Henry Hunt, ainsi qu’à son petit-fils, Tony. Ce dernier est d’ailleurs le fondateur de l’organisme Arts of the Raven Gallery, dévoué à l’apprentissage des jeunes sculpteurs autochtones.
Tony Hunt
Originaire de Fort Rupert en Colombie-Britannique, Henry Hunt (1923-1985) est reconnu pour sa sculpture en creux et son travail de recherche sur toutes les formes d’art des cultures autochtones de la côte du Pacifique. Entre 1962 et 1974, il occupe le poste de chef sculpteur au musée provincial de la Colombie-Britannique, où son fils, Tony, lui sert d’assistant. Au cours de leur carrière, les deux hommes ont créé, ensemble ou séparément, de nombreux mâts totémiques répartis aux quatre coins du monde. Par exemple, en 1970, ils ont réalisé conjointement un mât totémique pour l’exposition universelle d’Osaka, au Japon.

La formation des Hunt, père et fils, résulte de la transmission d’un savoir-faire, d’une génération à l’autre. Elle remonte à Charlie James, artiste de grande réputation de la fin du XIXe siècle, reconnu pour avoir créé un style propre aux Kwakiutl de Fort Rupert. Son beau-fils, Mungo Martin, assure la relève et son talent exceptionnel en fera un des grands maîtres sculpteurs de la côte du Pacifique. Il transmet ses connaissances et son art à son beau-fils, Henry Hunt, ainsi qu’à son petit-fils, Tony. Ce dernier est d’ailleurs le fondateur de l’organisme Arts of the Raven Gallery, dévoué à l’apprentissage des jeunes sculpteurs autochtones.
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Depuis 1967, du haut de ses 21,3 m, le mât totémique Kwakiutl agit comme un repère sur l’île Notre-Dame. Sculpté dans un mât de cèdre rouge, il comporte six figures mythologiques placées les unes au-dessus des autres : Gwa’wis (Corbeau de la mer), Gila (Ours grizzly et Saumon), Sisiutl (Serpent à deux têtes), Makhinukhw (Épaulard avec un phoque dans la gueule), Tsawi (Castor) et Numas (Vieil Homme). Certaines sections du mât sont peintes en rouge, vert ou noir, tandis qu’on aperçoit le bois nu à d’autres endroits.

Le mât totémique Kwakiutl diffère des mâts traditionnellement érigés sur les réserves en ce qu'il résulte d'une commande provenant de l'extérieur de la culture autochtone pour l'événement de l'Exposition universelle de 1967. Sa réalisation observe le code esthétique en vigueur sur la côte nord-ouest du Pacifique. Les six figures mythologiques représentées sont les emblèmes de plusieurs tribus KwaKwaka'wakw et ne font appel à aucun lignage particulier, de façon à illustrer que toutes ces tribus agissent à l'unisson.
Événements associés
L’œuvre faisait partie intégrante du concept du pavillon des Indiens du Canada à l’Exposition universelle de 1967. Elle demeure aujourd’hui le seul témoignage de ce pavillon qui reconnaissait l’apport des nations autochtones à la société canadienne, ainsi que le caractère unique de leurs cultures. À l’inauguration de l’œuvre, le 10 février 1967, une cérémonie fidèle aux traditions Kwakiutl a complété les allocutions officielles.
Henry Hunt
Originaire de Fort Rupert en Colombie-Britannique, Henry Hunt (1923-1985) est reconnu pour sa sculpture en creux et son travail de recherche sur toutes les formes d’art des cultures autochtones de la côte du Pacifique. Entre 1962 et 1974, il occupe le poste de chef sculpteur au musée provincial de la Colombie-Britannique, où son fils, Tony, lui sert d’assistant. Au cours de leur carrière, les deux hommes ont créé, ensemble ou séparément, de nombreux mâts totémiques répartis aux quatre coins du monde. Par exemple, en 1970, ils ont réalisé conjointement un mât totémique pour l’exposition universelle d’Osaka, au Japon.

La formation des Hunt, père et fils, résulte de la transmission d’un savoir-faire, d’une génération à l’autre. Elle remonte à Charlie James, artiste de grande réputation de la fin du XIXe siècle, reconnu pour avoir créé un style propre aux Kwakiutl de Fort Rupert. Son beau-fils, Mungo Martin, assure la relève et son talent exceptionnel en fera un des grands maîtres sculpteurs de la côte du Pacifique. Il transmet ses connaissances et son art à son beau-fils, Henry Hunt, ainsi qu’à son petit-fils, Tony. Ce dernier est d’ailleurs le fondateur de l’organisme Arts of the Raven Gallery, dévoué à l’apprentissage des jeunes sculpteurs autochtones.
Tony Hunt
Originaire de Fort Rupert en Colombie-Britannique, Henry Hunt (1923-1985) est reconnu pour sa sculpture en creux et son travail de recherche sur toutes les formes d’art des cultures autochtones de la côte du Pacifique. Entre 1962 et 1974, il occupe le poste de chef sculpteur au musée provincial de la Colombie-Britannique, où son fils, Tony, lui sert d’assistant. Au cours de leur carrière, les deux hommes ont créé, ensemble ou séparément, de nombreux mâts totémiques répartis aux quatre coins du monde. Par exemple, en 1970, ils ont réalisé conjointement un mât totémique pour l’exposition universelle d’Osaka, au Japon.

La formation des Hunt, père et fils, résulte de la transmission d’un savoir-faire, d’une génération à l’autre. Elle remonte à Charlie James, artiste de grande réputation de la fin du XIXe siècle, reconnu pour avoir créé un style propre aux Kwakiutl de Fort Rupert. Son beau-fils, Mungo Martin, assure la relève et son talent exceptionnel en fera un des grands maîtres sculpteurs de la côte du Pacifique. Il transmet ses connaissances et son art à son beau-fils, Henry Hunt, ainsi qu’à son petit-fils, Tony. Ce dernier est d’ailleurs le fondateur de l’organisme Arts of the Raven Gallery, dévoué à l’apprentissage des jeunes sculpteurs autochtones.
Détails
Variation du titre
Mât totémique Kwakwaka'wakw (Kwakiutl)
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1967
Mode d'acquisition
Transfert
Date d'accession
1 janvier 1968
Technique(s)
Sculpté
Matériaux
Bois
Dimensions générales
2130 x 95 cm
Fabricants
  • Hunt, Henry
  • Hunt, Tony
Totem Kwakiutl
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Parc Jean-Drapeau, Île Notre-Dame