Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Jackie Robinson","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-jackie-robinson\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-jackie-robinson\/"}
Share
Share
Jules Lasalle

Monument à Jackie Robinson

1987
Presentation of the artwork
This artwork commemorates the 40th anniversary of the arrival of the first black player in professional baseball. It is composed of three bronze statues – of a man and two small boys – installed on a concrete base. It portrays Robinson giving a ball to one of the boys. The composition of the statuary group plays on two registers: that of the admiration for Robinson and that of his human qualities.

Robinson was always a great civil rights activist, and this theme is highlighted by the presence of two children, one white and the other black, who are both admiringly trying to catch the attention of their hero. The three figures in the group are placed on a basis of equality. Furthermore, the scale and the familiar scene make the figures easily accessible to viewers.
Associated events
Jack Roosevelt Robinson was born in 1919, in Cairo, Georgia, United States, into a family of few means. His physical talents and academic successes enabled him to obtain a scholarship to the University of California, where he quickly became a star athlete. On 24 October 1945, he signed a contract with the Montréal Royals baseball team, thus becoming the first African American to play in the major leagues. It took only a few weeks for Robinson to stand out as the club’s best player, and Montréalers quickly made him into a star. When the Royal won the championship and the Little World Series, in September 1946 at the De Lorimier Stadium, his fans triumphantly carried him on their shoulders through the streets of Montréal. Robinson’s courage and determination inspired other African Americans to follow his example. Throughout this life, he was a civil rights activist. He died in 1972 in Stamford, Connecticut.
Jules Lasalle
Sculptor and modeller Jules Lasalle lives and works in Montréal, where he directs the studio Attitude enr. In 1979, he completed a bachelor’s degree in visual arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal. From 1981 to 1983, he undertook a number of sculpture internships in Paris at establishments such as the École nationale supérieure des arts appliqués, Les Ateliers Hervé Cappelli, and the Ministère de la Culture. He has produced a number of other works of public art in Montréal, including Hommage à Marguerite Bourgeoys (1988), on Rue Notre-Dame East, and Monument à Maurice Richard (1997), at the entrance to the eponymous arena.
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1987
Mode of acquisition:
Donation by public subscription
Accession date
January 27 1987
Technique(s)
Cast bronze
Materials
Bronze; concrete
General dimensions
254 x 203 x 194 cm
Manufacturer
  • Artcast Foundry
Monument à Jackie Robinson
Borough
Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve
Building
Stade olympique
Civic address
4545 Pierre-de-Coubertin Montréal, Québec

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument \u00e0 Jackie Robinson","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-a-jackie-robinson\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-a-jackie-robinson\/"}
Partager
Partager
Jules Lasalle

Monument à Jackie Robinson

1987
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Cette œuvre commémore le 40e anniversaire de l’arrivée du premier joueur noir dans le baseball professionnel. Elle est composée de trois statues en bronze, un homme et deux garçonnets, déposées sur un socle de béton. Elle représente Robinson donnant une balle à l’un des deux garçonnets. La composition du groupe statuaire joue sur deux registres : celui de l’admiration que l’on voue à Robinson et celui des qualités humaines qu’on lui prête.

Robinson a toujours été un grand militant pour les droits de ses pairs, et cette thématique est mise en lumière par la présence des deux enfants, l’un blanc et l’autre noir, qui sollicitent, dans une même attitude admirative, l’attention de leur héros. Les trois figures du groupe sont placées sur un pied d’égalité. D’ailleurs, l’échelle rend les personnages facilement accessibles aux spectateurs, les campant dans une scène familière.
Événements associés
Né en 1919 à Cairo en Géorgie, États-Unis, Jack Roosevelt Robinson est issu d’une famille très modeste. Ses nombreux talents sportifs et ses succès scolaires lui permettent d’obtenir une bourse de l’Université de Californie, où il devient rapidement l’athlète étoile. Le 24 octobre 1945, il signe un contrat avec les Royaux de Montréal. Il devient ainsi le premier Noir à jouer dans la Ligue majeure. En quelques semaines, Robinson s’impose comme le meilleur joueur du club, et les Montréalais en font rapidement leur idole. Lorsque les Royaux remportent le championnat et la Petite Série mondiale, en septembre 1946 au stade De Lorimier, ses admirateurs le portent triomphalement sur leurs épaules dans les rues de Montréal. Son courage et sa grande détermination permettront à d’autres gens de couleur de suivre son exemple. Toute sa vie, il militera pour les droits des siens. Il meurt en 1972 à Stamford, au Connecticut.
Jules Lasalle
Sculpteur et modeleur, Jules Lasalle vit et travaille à Montréal, où il dirige l’atelier Attitude enr. En 1979, il complète un baccalauréat en arts plastiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. De 1981 à 1983, Lasalle réalise plusieurs stages en sculpture à Paris, dans des établissements comme l’École nationale supérieure des arts appliqués et les Ateliers Hervé Cappelli ainsi qu’au ministère de la Culture. Il compte à son actif plusieurs autres œuvres d’art public à Montréal dont Hommage à Marguerite Bourgeoys (1988), sur la rue Notre-Dame Est, et le Monument à Maurice Richard (1997), à l’entrée de l’aréna du même nom.
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1987
Mode d'acquisition
Don par souscription publique
Date d'accession
27 January 1987
Technique(s)
Bronze coulé
Matériaux
Bronze; béton
Dimensions générales
254 x 203 x 194 cm
Fabricants
  • Artcast Foundry
Monument à Jackie Robinson
Arrondissement
Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve
Bâtiment
Stade olympique
Adresse civique
4545 Pierre-de-Coubertin Montréal, Québec