Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Le carrousel de l'\u00eele","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/le-carrousel-de-lile\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/le-carrousel-de-lile\/"}
Share
Share
Michel Goulet

Le carrousel de l'île

2005
Presentation of the artwork
Le carrousel de l’île is formed of 12 sculptures made of galvanized steel and brass portraying human behaviours around two themes: “island” and “archipelago.”

In this project, as in his other projects presented in Montréal, Goulet transposes into the public space objects drawn from everyday life. Viewers may recognize, among other things, chairs, a Morris column, a cover of the Beatles album Abbey Road, and a ladder. The context imposes a fleeting contact, in rotation around the work; the “12 scenes” are experienced as a “sequence shot” repeated each time one passes in a car.

The installation thus transforms the island in the centre of the traffic circle into an “elsewhere” that encourages introspection. By merging nature and culture, sculpture and landscaping, it creates a fiction, that of Goulet’s “island,” in the midst of the asphalt.

“This artwork marks the passage from the turbulence of life
to a haven of peace, and vice versa.”
– Michel Goulet, 2004
Associated events
This artwork was produced for integration with a new traffic circle on Boulevard René-Lévesque in L'Île-des-Sœurs. The goal was to provide the island with an urban image that matches the quality of its development.
Michel Goulet
Born in Asbestos in 1944, Michel Goulet studied art at the Université du Québec à Montréal. A number of his large-scale projects are in the form of poem-chairs anchored to the ground in public areas, such as the ones temporarily installed at the southwest entrance to Central Park in New York (1990) and those in Place de la Gare in Québec City (2008). Goulet explored this concept when he represented Canada at the Venice Biennale in 1988. His works of public art are also on display in Toronto, Lyon, and Paris.

He had a retrospective exhibition at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal in 2004.
Awards and honours
  • Ordre national du Canada, 2012
  • Docteur d'honneur, Université de Sherbrooke, 2010
  • Membre de l'Académie royale des arts du Canada, 2009
  • Prix du Gouverneur général en arts visuels et en arts médiatiques , Conseil des Arts du Canada, 2008
  • Prix Paul-Émile Borduas, 1990
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Installation
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
2005
Mode of acquisition:
Public commission from the Ville de Montréal
Accession date
December 23 2004
Materials
Galvanized steel; brass
General dimensions
470 x 1500 cm
Manufacturer
  • Goulet, Michel
  • Ladouceur, Jacques / Conception & réalisation JL Enr.
Le carrousel de l'île
Borough
Verdun
Park
Carrefour giratoire des boulevards, René-Lévesque et Ïle-des-Sœurs

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Le carrousel de l'\u00eele","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/le-carrousel-de-lile\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/le-carrousel-de-lile\/"}
Partager
Partager
Michel Goulet

Le carrousel de l'île

2005
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Le carrousel de l’île est formé de 12 sculptures d’acier galvanisé et de laiton représentant les comportements humains autour de deux thèmes : l’île et l’archipel.

À l’instar des autres projets présentés par Goulet à Montréal, l’artiste transpose dans cet espace public des objets tirés du quotidien. On y reconnaît, entre autres, des chaises, une colonne Morris, la pochette de l’album Abbey Road des Beatles et un escabeau. Le contexte impose un contact furtif, en rotation autour de l’œuvre; ces « 12 scènes » s’expérimentent à la manière d’un « plan-séquence » répété à chacun des passages en voiture.

L’installation transforme ainsi l’îlot en un ailleurs qui favorise l’introspection. En fusionnant nature et culture, sculptures et aménagement paysager, elle instaure une fiction, celle de « l’île » de Goulet, au milieu du bitume.

« Cette œuvre marque le passage du tourbillon de la vie
au havre de paix et vice-versa. »
– Goulet, 2004
Événements associés
Cette œuvre s'inscrit dans le projet d'aménagement d'un nouveau carrefour giratoire sur le boulevard René-Lévesque à L'Île-des-Sœurs. Elle a pour but de donner à l'île une image urbaine en accord avec la qualité de son développement.
Michel Goulet
Né à Asbestos en 1944, Michel Goulet a reçu sa formation d’artiste à l’Université du
Québec à Montréal. Plusieurs de ses projets d’envergure prennent la forme de chaises-poèmes ancrées dans le sol de places publiques, comme celles installées temporairement à New York, à l’entrée sud-est de Central Park (1990), ou celles qui ornent la place de la Gare à Québec (2008). Cet objet a également été exploré par l’artiste lorsqu’il a représenté le Canada à la Biennale de Venise en 1988. On peut aussi voir ses œuvres d’art public à Toronto, à Lyon et à Paris.

Son travail a fait l’objet d’une rétrospective au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal en 2004.
Prix et distinctions
  • Ordre national du Canada, 2012
  • Docteur d'honneur, Université de Sherbrooke, 2010
  • Membre de l'Académie royale des arts du Canada, 2009
  • Prix du Gouverneur général en arts visuels et en arts médiatiques , Conseil des Arts du Canada, 2008
  • Prix Paul-Émile Borduas, 1990
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Installation
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
2005
Mode d'acquisition
Commande publique de la Ville de Montréal
Date d'accession
23 décembre 2004
Matériaux
Acier galvanisé; laiton
Dimensions générales
470 x 1500 cm
Fabricants
  • Goulet, Michel
  • Ladouceur, Jacques / Conception & réalisation JL Enr.
Le carrousel de l'île
Arrondissement
Verdun
Parc
Carrefour giratoire des boulevards, René-Lévesque et Ïle-des-Sœurs