Fine Arts
Choose a subcategory

Select the beginning and end dates of the desired period

1809
2017

See the results

Art Public

Ville de Montréal

Sort
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument aux Patriotes","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-aux-patriotes\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-aux-patriotes\/"}
Share
Share
Alfred Laliberté

Monument aux Patriotes

1926
Presentation of the artwork
This monument is dedicated to the 12 Patriotes who died by hanging at the Pied-du-Courant prison in the winter of 1838–39, whose names are displayed on the faces of the pedestal: Joseph-Narcisse Cardinal, Amable Daunais, François-Marie-Thomas Chevalier de Lorimier, Pierre-Théophile Decoigne, Joseph Duquette, François-Xavier Hamelin, Charles Hindelang, Pierre-Rémi Narbonne, François Nicolas, Joseph-Jacques Robert, Ambroise Sanguinet, and Charles Sanguinet.

In the 1990s, the monument was moved to the corner of Rue Notre-Dame and Avenue De Lorimier, which corresponds approximately to the site where the Patriotes were hanged. The monument grouping is built in a pyramidal mode: a triangular pedestal terminates in the point formed by the extended hand of an allegorical kneeling figure. This is Liberty with Broken Wings, represented, as tradition dictates, by a female figure brandishing a broken chain. She is both an allegory for failure and a symbol of the glory and moral victory of the vanquished. Her tattered dress bespeaks the violence of combat; her kneeling position, defeat. The lifted right arm and the broken chain remind us that this combat was not in vain and that the Patriotes’ rebellion merits its place in history as it led to French Canadians’ gaining constitutional freedoms. On each face of the pedestal is a medallion-shaped bronze bas-relief bearing the likeness of three Patriotes: Chevalier de Lorimier, de Louis-Joseph Papineau, and Wolfred Nelson.
Associated events
The Patriotes were members of the Parti patriote who participated in the rebellion of 1837–38. This armed conflict was mainly between the French Canadians of Lower Canada, who were fighting for greater freedom and autonomy, and the British authorities. The Patriotes won their only victory against the Loyalists in Saint-Denis, on 22 November 1837. Twelve of them were hanged in front of the Pied-du-Courant prison after being found guilty of sedition and rebellion, and a number of others were sent into exile. Three personalities stood out particularly during these armed uprisings: the politician, lawyer, and leader of the Parti patriote, Louis-Joseph Papineau; Wolfred Nelson; and Chevalier de Lorimier.
Alfred Laliberté
Born in 1878 in Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick, in the Bois-Francs region, Alfred Laliberté received training at the Conseil des arts et manufactures in Montréal; when he was 23, he went to study at the prestigious École des beaux-arts de Paris. He returned to Canada in 1907 and became a professor at the École des beaux-arts de Montréal in 1922.

A prolific artist, Laliberté produced more than 920 sculptures. Some were portrayals of important historical figures, including statues of Father Brébeuf and Father Marquette in Québec City, whereas others evoked rural traditions and legends, such as the series of bronzes commissioned by the Québec government in 1928. Laliberté was long regarded as Québec’s “national sculptor”.
Awards and honours
  • doctorat Honoris Causa, Université de Montréal. , 1940
Presentation of the artwork
This monument is dedicated to the 12 Patriotes who died by hanging at the Pied-du-Courant prison in the winter of 1838–39, whose names are displayed on the faces of the pedestal: Joseph-Narcisse Cardinal, Amable Daunais, François-Marie-Thomas Chevalier de Lorimier, Pierre-Théophile Decoigne, Joseph Duquette, François-Xavier Hamelin, Charles Hindelang, Pierre-Rémi Narbonne, François Nicolas, Joseph-Jacques Robert, Ambroise Sanguinet, and Charles Sanguinet.

In the 1990s, the monument was moved to the corner of Rue Notre-Dame and Avenue De Lorimier, which corresponds approximately to the site where the Patriotes were hanged. The monument grouping is built in a pyramidal mode: a triangular pedestal terminates in the point formed by the extended hand of an allegorical kneeling figure. This is Liberty with Broken Wings, represented, as tradition dictates, by a female figure brandishing a broken chain. She is both an allegory for failure and a symbol of the glory and moral victory of the vanquished. Her tattered dress bespeaks the violence of combat; her kneeling position, defeat. The lifted right arm and the broken chain remind us that this combat was not in vain and that the Patriotes’ rebellion merits its place in history as it led to French Canadians’ gaining constitutional freedoms. On each face of the pedestal is a medallion-shaped bronze bas-relief bearing the likeness of three Patriotes: Chevalier de Lorimier, de Louis-Joseph Papineau, and Wolfred Nelson.
Associated events
The Patriotes were members of the Parti patriote who participated in the rebellion of 1837–38. This armed conflict was mainly between the French Canadians of Lower Canada, who were fighting for greater freedom and autonomy, and the British authorities. The Patriotes won their only victory against the Loyalists in Saint-Denis, on 22 November 1837. Twelve of them were hanged in front of the Pied-du-Courant prison after being found guilty of sedition and rebellion, and a number of others were sent into exile. Three personalities stood out particularly during these armed uprisings: the politician, lawyer, and leader of the Parti patriote, Louis-Joseph Papineau; Wolfred Nelson; and Chevalier de Lorimier.
Alfred Laliberté
Born in 1878 in Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick, in the Bois-Francs region, Alfred Laliberté received training at the Conseil des arts et manufactures in Montréal; when he was 23, he went to study at the prestigious École des beaux-arts de Paris. He returned to Canada in 1907 and became a professor at the École des beaux-arts de Montréal in 1922.

A prolific artist, Laliberté produced more than 920 sculptures. Some were portrayals of important historical figures, including statues of Father Brébeuf and Father Marquette in Québec City, whereas others evoked rural traditions and legends, such as the series of bronzes commissioned by the Québec government in 1928. Laliberté was long regarded as Québec’s “national sculptor”.
Awards and honours
  • doctorat Honoris Causa, Université de Montréal. , 1940
Detail
Category
Fine Arts
Subcategory
Sculpture
Collection name
Public art
Date completed
1926
Mode of acquisition:
Donation by public subscription
Technique(s)
Sand-cast iron
Materials
Bronze; granite
General dimensions
850 x 410 x 370 cm
Manufacturer
  • Andro Fondeur
  • Tremblay, Georges
Monument aux Patriotes
Borough
Ville-Marie
Park
Place des Patriotes

Beaux-arts
Choisir une sous-catégorie

Selectionnez la date de début et de fin de la période désirée

1809
2016

Voir les résultats
Trier
{"title":"Bureau d'Art Public - Ville de Montr\u00e9al | Monument aux Patriotes","thisUrl":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/oeuvre\/monument-aux-patriotes\/","body_class":"blog artpublic adapt jsonStored single-artwork query-off ap-no-toolbar","query_hud":null,"alternate_url":"https:\/\/artpublic.ville.montreal.qc.ca\/en\/oeuvre\/monument-aux-patriotes\/"}
Partager
Partager
Alfred Laliberté

Monument aux Patriotes

1926
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Ce monument est dédié aux douze patriotes morts sur l’échafaud de la prison du Pied-du-Courant, à l’hiver 1838-1839, dont les noms figurent sur chacune des faces du piédestal : Joseph-Narcisse Cardinal, Amable Daunais, François-Marie-Thomas Chevalier de Lorimier, Pierre-Théophile Decoigne, Joseph Duquette, François-Xavier Hamelin, Charles Hindelang, Pierre-Rémi Narbonne, François Nicolas, Joseph-Jacques Robert, Ambroise Sanguinet et Charles Sanguinet.

Dans les années 1990, le monument a été déplacé à l’angle de la rue Notre-Dame et de l’avenue De Lorimier, afin de correspondre à l'emplacement approximatif du lieu de pendaison des patriotes. L’ensemble du monument est construit selon un mode pyramidal : piédestal triangulaire se terminant par une pointe formée par la main tendue d’une figure allégorique agenouillée. Il s’agit de La Liberté aux ailes brisées, représentée, comme le veut la tradition, par un personnage féminin brandissant une chaîne brisée. Elle est à la fois allégorie de l'échec et symbole de la gloire et de la victoire morale des vaincus. Sa robe en lambeaux rappelle la violence du combat et sa position à genoux, la défaite; le bras droit levé et la chaîne brisée rappellent que ce combat n'a pas été vain et que le geste des patriotes leur vaut de passer honorablement à la postérité pour la conquête des libertés constitutionnelles des Canadiens français. Sur chacune de ses faces, le piédestal est rehaussé d'un bas-relief en bronze, en forme de médaillon, portant les effigies de trois des patriotes, soit celles de Chevalier de Lorimier, de Louis-Joseph Papineau et de Wolfred Nelson.
Événements associés
Les patriotes sont des membres du Parti patriote ayant participé à la rébellion de 1837-1838. Ce conflit armé oppose principalement les Canadiens français du Bas-Canada, qui luttent alors pour une plus grande liberté et autonomie, aux autorités britanniques. Les patriotes remportent leur seule victoire contre les loyalistes à Saint-Denis, le 22 novembre 1837. Douze d’entre eux ont été pendus devant la prison du Pied-du-Courant, après condamnation pour sédition et rébellion, tandis que plusieurs autres ont subi l’exil. Trois personnalités se sont démarquées particulièrement au cours de ces soulèvements armés, soit l’homme politique, avocat et chef du Parti patriote, Louis-Joseph Papineau, de même que Wolfred Nelson et Chevalier de Lorimier.
Alfred Laliberté
Né en 1878 à Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick, dans la région des Bois-Francs, Alfred Laliberté reçoit une formation au Conseil des arts et manufactures à Montréal et, à 23 ans, part étudier à la prestigieuse École des beaux-arts de Paris. Il rentre au Canada en 1907 et devient professeur à l’École des beaux-arts de Montréal en 1922.

Créateur prolifique, il réalise plus de 920 sculptures. Certaines représentent des personnages importants de l’histoire, dont les statues des pères Brébeuf et Marquette à Québec, alors que d’autres évoquent plutôt des traditions rurales et des légendes, comme la série de bronzes commandée par le gouvernement québécois en 1928. Il a longtemps été considéré comme « le sculpteur national ».
Prix et distinctions
  • doctorat Honoris Causa, Université de Montréal. , 1940
Présentation de l'oeuvre
Ce monument est dédié aux douze patriotes morts sur l’échafaud de la prison du Pied-du-Courant, à l’hiver 1838-1839, dont les noms figurent sur chacune des faces du piédestal : Joseph-Narcisse Cardinal, Amable Daunais, François-Marie-Thomas Chevalier de Lorimier, Pierre-Théophile Decoigne, Joseph Duquette, François-Xavier Hamelin, Charles Hindelang, Pierre-Rémi Narbonne, François Nicolas, Joseph-Jacques Robert, Ambroise Sanguinet et Charles Sanguinet.

Dans les années 1990, le monument a été déplacé à l’angle de la rue Notre-Dame et de l’avenue De Lorimier, afin de correspondre à l'emplacement approximatif du lieu de pendaison des patriotes. L’ensemble du monument est construit selon un mode pyramidal : piédestal triangulaire se terminant par une pointe formée par la main tendue d’une figure allégorique agenouillée. Il s’agit de La Liberté aux ailes brisées, représentée, comme le veut la tradition, par un personnage féminin brandissant une chaîne brisée. Elle est à la fois allégorie de l'échec et symbole de la gloire et de la victoire morale des vaincus. Sa robe en lambeaux rappelle la violence du combat et sa position à genoux, la défaite; le bras droit levé et la chaîne brisée rappellent que ce combat n'a pas été vain et que le geste des patriotes leur vaut de passer honorablement à la postérité pour la conquête des libertés constitutionnelles des Canadiens français. Sur chacune de ses faces, le piédestal est rehaussé d'un bas-relief en bronze, en forme de médaillon, portant les effigies de trois des patriotes, soit celles de Chevalier de Lorimier, de Louis-Joseph Papineau et de Wolfred Nelson.
Événements associés
Les patriotes sont des membres du Parti patriote ayant participé à la rébellion de 1837-1838. Ce conflit armé oppose principalement les Canadiens français du Bas-Canada, qui luttent alors pour une plus grande liberté et autonomie, aux autorités britanniques. Les patriotes remportent leur seule victoire contre les loyalistes à Saint-Denis, le 22 novembre 1837. Douze d’entre eux ont été pendus devant la prison du Pied-du-Courant, après condamnation pour sédition et rébellion, tandis que plusieurs autres ont subi l’exil. Trois personnalités se sont démarquées particulièrement au cours de ces soulèvements armés, soit l’homme politique, avocat et chef du Parti patriote, Louis-Joseph Papineau, de même que Wolfred Nelson et Chevalier de Lorimier.
Alfred Laliberté
Né en 1878 à Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick, dans la région des Bois-Francs, Alfred Laliberté reçoit une formation au Conseil des arts et manufactures à Montréal et, à 23 ans, part étudier à la prestigieuse École des beaux-arts de Paris. Il rentre au Canada en 1907 et devient professeur à l’École des beaux-arts de Montréal en 1922.

Créateur prolifique, il réalise plus de 920 sculptures. Certaines représentent des personnages importants de l’histoire, dont les statues des pères Brébeuf et Marquette à Québec, alors que d’autres évoquent plutôt des traditions rurales et des légendes, comme la série de bronzes commandée par le gouvernement québécois en 1928. Il a longtemps été considéré comme « le sculpteur national ».
Prix et distinctions
  • doctorat Honoris Causa, Université de Montréal. , 1940
Détails
Catégorie
Beaux-arts
Sous-catégorie
Sculpture
Nom de la collection
Art public
Date de fin de production
1926
Mode d'acquisition
Don par souscription publique
Technique(s)
Fonte au sable
Matériaux
Bronze; granit
Dimensions générales
850 x 410 x 370 cm
Fabricants
  • Andro Fondeur
  • Tremblay, Georges
Monument aux Patriotes
Arrondissement
Ville-Marie
Parc
Place des Patriotes